Can You Cast Spells During a Short Rest in D&D 5e?
The short answer is: it depends. While you technically can cast spells during a short rest, the crucial point is that you generally cannot use any actions that are considered strenuous. This distinction is vital in understanding spellcasting during these periods of downtime in Dungeons & Dragons 5th Edition. A short rest, by definition, is meant to allow characters to recover slightly, not to engage in vigorous activities. Let’s dive into the specifics.
The Nature of a Short Rest
What Constitutes a Short Rest?
A short rest is a period of downtime, lasting at least one hour, where characters engage in minimal activity. The rules explicitly state that during this time, a character can perform no actions more strenuous than eating, drinking, reading, and tending to wounds. This carefully defined list is where most of the limitations on spellcasting during a short rest stem from.
Why This Definition Matters for Spellcasting
The fundamental reason that spellcasting is often restricted during a short rest is because, according to the rules, casting spells is considered a strenuous activity. This is clearly stated in the long rest description, which specifically defines casting spells as such. Consequently, the act of casting a spell is, in most circumstances, generally prohibited during a short rest, unless a specific class feature or spell effect explicitly allows it. This restriction is not arbitrary; it’s designed to maintain a balance of resource management and ensure that short rests do not negate the need for longer periods of rest.
Specific Class Exceptions and Rules
While the general rule is that spellcasting is limited during short rests, some classes and abilities offer exceptions. Let’s examine those that allow some degree of spell use.
Warlocks and Short Rest Spell Recovery
The most notable exception to the rule is the Warlock class. Warlocks uniquely regain all of their spell slots upon completing a short rest. This feature distinguishes them from most other spellcasting classes who require a long rest to replenish their magical resources. The Warlock is designed around this core mechanic, making them more reliant on short rests than other spellcasters.
Arcane Recovery (Wizards)
Wizards possess the ability Arcane Recovery. This feature allows them to regain a number of expended spell slots once per day upon completion of a short rest. This isn’t a full replenishment, but a partial boost that can significantly benefit a Wizard after a tough encounter. The wizard does not cast spells to regain slots.
Natural Recovery (Druids)
Druids of the Circle of the Land gain access to Natural Recovery. Similar to Arcane Recovery, this ability allows a Druid to regain expended spell slots with a combined level equal to half of their Druid level (rounded up), after completing a short rest. This is also limited to once per long rest. The druid does not cast spells to regain slots.
Other Class Features
Other classes, such as the Sorcerer with Font of Magic, can use resources like Sorcery Points to create spell slots during a short rest, effectively allowing access to more spells. Also, some classes, like the Bard, regain class-specific resources like Bardic Inspiration on a short or long rest.
Ritual Casting
A common point of confusion is about ritual spells. While ritual casting is generally allowed, it is often implied that the time required to cast a ritual is far longer than the 1 hour of a short rest. Most rituals require 10+ minutes on their own, so it is not practical to assume multiple rituals can be cast. Rituals still require the time to cast, and this time needs to be included in the total duration. Given the nature of short rests, which specifically restrict strenuous activities, it is commonly ruled that casting spells, even rituals, is generally not permitted within the duration of a short rest (unless specifically allowed by a class feature, or if the ritual is a very quick one). However, if the party is taking an hour-long rest and a player wishes to start a ritual prior to starting the rest, then that would be acceptable.
FAQ: Frequently Asked Questions about Spellcasting and Short Rests
Here are 15 frequently asked questions to further clarify the nuances of spellcasting and short rests:
1. Do you get spells back from a short rest?
Generally, no. Only Warlocks fully replenish their spell slots after a short rest. Other spellcasters, like Wizards and Druids (with certain subclasses), can recover some spell slots via class features.
2. Can a Wizard recover spells during a short rest?
Yes, using the Arcane Recovery feature, Wizards can regain some expended spell slots once per day after a short rest.
3. Can you change spells on a short rest 5e?
No. Typically, spellcasters prepare their spells after a long rest. Wizards are a special case; they can prepare new spells on a short rest, unlike other casters. The actual preparation is not casting a spell, but instead, studying your book and preparing new spells from it.
4. Do Druids get spells back after a short rest?
Druids of the Circle of the Land gain the Natural Recovery feature, allowing them to recover a number of spell slots once per day after a short rest.
5. Can you prepare new spells during a short rest?
Generally, no. Most spellcasters, such as clerics, need a long rest to prepare new spells. Wizards are an exception; they can prepare spells during a short rest.
6. Can you attune to magic items during a short rest?
Yes, but it requires a full hour during a short rest specifically dedicated to attuning. This means it cannot be the same short rest you use to identify an item, and there are no other activities during that period.
7. Can you identify items during a short rest?
Yes. A character can focus on a magic item during a short rest and, at the end, learn its properties and how to use them.
8. Can you cast ritual spells during a short rest?
Potentially, but often not practically. Technically, yes, if the time of the ritual is included in the rest (like starting a long ritual at the beginning of an hour), and if it does not violate the “no strenuous activity” rule of the short rest. However, most rituals are not short enough to complete inside of an hour. Also, keep in mind that the rules technically state that casting spells is strenuous, so the act of ritual casting could potentially be problematic.
9. What can you do during a short rest?
You can do nothing more strenuous than eating, drinking, reading, and tending to wounds.
10. Do short rests cure exhaustion?
Yes. Finishing a short or long rest can remove levels of exhaustion.
11. Do Cantrips count as prepared spells?
No. Cantrips are not prepared spells, and you can cast them at will without using spell slots.
12. Can Clerics change spells during a short rest?
No. Clerics prepare their spells after a long rest.
13. Do Bards get spells back on short rests?
While Bards don’t get spell slots back, they regain their Bardic Inspiration uses on a short or long rest.
14. Do Sorcerers get anything on a short rest?
Sorcerers can use their Font of Magic to create spell slots using sorcery points during a short rest. At 20th level, they regain 4 sorcery points whenever they complete a short rest.
15. Do you regain spell slots on a short rest?
Only Warlocks regain all their spell slots on a short rest. Some other classes, like Wizards and Druids, recover a limited number of spell slots through class features, while Sorcerers can regain and create spell slots through their sorcery points.
Conclusion
While spellcasting during a short rest is often limited due to the “no strenuous activity” rule, understanding the specific class exceptions is critical for optimal gameplay. Warlocks, Wizards, and Druids have unique abilities that allow them to recover some spell resources during a short rest, while other classes can use certain features. Remember that proper resource management and rest are key elements of successful D&D campaigns. Being clear on what can and cannot be done during a short rest will help you to properly manage your characters’ abilities. Always consult the specific rules and your Dungeon Master for any clarifications.