Can You Cast Two Cantrips in One Turn 5e?
The short answer is yes, you can often cast two cantrips in one turn in D&D 5th Edition, but it’s not as simple as just deciding to do it. The rules around spellcasting, particularly with bonus actions, reactions, and the nature of cantrips themselves, create a few key considerations. Let’s delve into the specifics.
The Core Rule: Action Economy and Spellcasting
At its heart, the issue revolves around D&D 5e’s action economy. Each turn, a character typically has one action, one bonus action, and one reaction. The “Cast a Spell” action is generally required for all spells, including cantrips. Here’s where the limitations become apparent:
- Standard Action Casting: Most cantrips require an action to cast. If you use your action to cast a cantrip, your turn is effectively done for spellcasting, unless specific circumstances are met.
- Bonus Action Spells: If you cast any spell (including a cantrip) as a bonus action, you’re then limited to casting only a cantrip with a casting time of one action as your action.
- No Double-Action Casting: You cannot use two actions to cast two spells, even two cantrips, unless you have special abilities, like the Fighter’s Action Surge.
Why Cantrips Aren’t Just “Free” Spells
While cantrips are indeed “free” in the sense that they do not consume spell slots, they still utilize the fundamental action economy, similar to higher-level spells. The rule is there to prevent characters from overwhelming opponents with a volley of spells each round.
How to Cast Two Cantrips in One Turn
So, if the basic rules restrict you, how can you cast two cantrips in the same turn? Here are the common methods:
1. Bonus Action Cantrip, Action Cantrip
The most common way to cast two cantrips is by using a bonus action to cast one, and then your action to cast another. But remember, this only works if your bonus action is used for any spell, not just a cantrip. You’ll need a specific class feature, feat, or item that allows you to cast a spell as a bonus action. Examples include:
* **Sorcerer’s Quickened Spell Metamagic**: A Sorcerer can use Sorcery Points to cast a spell with a casting time of one action as a bonus action.
* **Magic Items**: Some magic items allow you to cast certain spells as a bonus action.
* **Specific Class Abilities**: Certain subclasses may grant abilities to cast spells as a bonus action.
Once you have cast a spell (cantrip or otherwise) as a bonus action, your action is then limited, only allowing you to cast a cantrip with a casting time of one action. Therefore, you can cast a cantrip as a bonus action and a different cantrip with your action.
2. Action Surge (Fighter)
The Fighter’s Action Surge ability at 2nd level is a unique exception. This ability allows you to take an additional action on your turn. If you haven’t cast a spell as a bonus action, you can use both of your actions to cast two cantrips. This is a powerful move for a Fighter who has taken the Magic Initiate feat or has another way of gaining access to cantrips, but it can only be used once per short or long rest at low levels.
3. Special Feats and Features
Certain feats or class features might alter the rules. While less common, these can also open up paths to casting two cantrips.
* **War Caster feat** You can cast a single spell as a reaction, and if the spell is not a bonus action spell, you can still cast a spell using your action for the turn. This includes cantrips.
Why Not More Than Two Cantrips?
Even with these options, the rules are quite strict. Why can’t you generally cast three or more cantrips? The primary reason is game balance. Allowing unlimited spellcasting, even with cantrips, would significantly undermine the resource management aspect of the game, making spellcasters far more powerful than intended.
Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)
1. Can you cast two cantrips with your action if one is modified with Metamagic?
Yes, Metamagic does not change the **casting time**, so if you use your action to cast a cantrip modified with metamagic, you still only used your action for a single spell.
2. If I cast a 1st-level spell as a bonus action, can I still cast two cantrips?
No. If you cast **any spell** as a bonus action, including a 1st-level spell, you are still restricted to casting a cantrip with an action as your only other spell for the turn. You cannot cast two cantrips.
3. Can you cast two of the same cantrip in a turn?
Yes, if you have a way to cast a spell as a bonus action and then your action to cast the same cantrip again, or if you use the fighter's action surge feature, you could cast two of the same cantrip in the same turn.
4. Does Haste allow me to cast a second cantrip?
No, the extra action granted by the **Haste** spell can only be used to take the attack, dash, disengage, hide or use object action, not another **cast a spell** action, it does not let you cast another spell.
5. Can you use a Reaction to cast a cantrip and still cast one with your action?
Yes, if your reaction is used to cast a spell (such as with the War Caster feat) and that is not a bonus action spell, you may still cast a single cantrip as an action on your turn.
6. Can a Warlock cast two cantrips in one turn?
Yes, a Warlock can cast two cantrips in a single turn if they cast a spell as a bonus action, or if they have a class/feat option that allows for another cast of a spell.
7. Can a raging Barbarian cast two cantrips in one turn?
No. A raging Barbarian cannot cast any spells while raging. This means they can't cast even one cantrip.
8. If I have two attacks, can I use one to cast a cantrip?
No. When a spell has a casting time of 1 action, it uses a “cast a spell” action. This action cannot be substituted for an attack action. Certain cantrips, such as Green-Flame Blade, involve an attack but they are still a spell, and not an attack action in itself.
9. Does casting a cantrip as a bonus action prevent me from taking the attack action?
No, Casting a spell as a bonus action only limits what kind of spell can be cast as your main action; it doesn’t restrict your other actions or movement.
10. Can I use Action Surge to cast two levelled spells in a turn?
No, Action Surge allows you to take an additional action. The same rule of no two levelled spells in a turn still applies, unless the rules allow such.
11. Can I cast a cantrip with my action, and then a different spell with my reaction?
Yes, if you have an ability that allows you to cast a spell as a reaction, you can cast a cantrip with your action and then a spell with a casting time of one reaction, such as with **War Caster**.
12. Can I Counterspell a cantrip?
Yes, even though cantrips are level 0 spells, they are still spells and therefore are a valid target for the **Counterspell** spell.
13. If I cast a bonus action spell and attack, can I still cast a cantrip?
No. If you cast any spell as a bonus action you are restricted to only being able to cast a cantrip with a casting time of one action as your action during the turn, you cannot use your action to take any other actions.
14. Can I cast two cantrips as part of an Opportunity Attack?
Normally, no. Opportunity Attacks are taken as reactions. Only the **War Caster** feat would allow you to substitute your reaction attack with a spell. You could then cast one spell as a reaction, and a single cantrip as your action.
15. Does Quickened Spell work with other bonus actions?
Yes, the quickened spell metamagic works with any spell that has a cast time of 1 action, it does not interact or conflict with other bonus actions.
Conclusion
While the specific rules can feel restrictive, they are in place to ensure balanced gameplay. The possibility to cast two cantrips in a turn exists but requires careful planning and specific character builds. Understanding the intricacies of bonus actions and the general limitations on spellcasting actions is key to using your spellcasting effectively. With the right knowledge, you can successfully navigate the rules and unleash the full potential of your cantrips in the game.