Can You Cast Two Spells in One Turn in D&D 5e? A Comprehensive Guide
The short answer is yes, but with strict limitations. Dungeons and Dragons 5th Edition (D&D 5e) has a specific rule governing the casting of multiple spells in a single turn. It’s often referred to as the “bonus action spell rule.” You can cast two spells in a turn, but only if one of them is a bonus action spell and the other is a cantrip with a casting time of one action. Let’s dive deep into the specifics of this rule, explore its nuances, and answer common questions surrounding multiple spellcasting.
Understanding the Bonus Action Spell Rule
The core of the rule is as follows:
- If you cast a spell using your bonus action, the only other spell you can cast on that same turn is a cantrip with a casting time of one action.
This restriction is designed to prevent characters from unleashing devastating combinations of high-level spells in a single round. It forces players to make strategic choices about which spells to prioritize and how to effectively utilize their actions and bonus actions.
Key Components Explained
- Bonus Action Spell: This refers to any spell that has a casting time of “1 bonus action.” Many support and utility spells fall into this category.
- Cantrip: These are simple spells that can be cast at will without expending spell slots. They represent basic magical abilities.
- Casting Time: The amount of time it takes to cast a spell, typically expressed in actions, bonus actions, reactions, or minutes.
- One Action Spell: Refers to a spell that uses the “action” to cast it.
- Spell Slot: Limited resource that is used up when you cast a spell.
Examples of Legal and Illegal Spell Combinations
- Legal: A character casts Healing Word (bonus action) and then casts Fire Bolt (cantrip, one action).
- Illegal: A character casts Misty Step (bonus action) and then casts Fireball (spell slot, one action).
- Legal: A character casts Fireball (spell slot, one action) and then casts Fire Bolt (cantrip, one action)
- Legal: A character casts Fire Bolt (cantrip, one action) and then casts Fireball (spell slot, one action).
- Illegal: A character casts Shield of Faith (bonus action) and then casts Hold Person (spell slot, one action). Both are spell slots.
Important Considerations and Exceptions
While the bonus action spell rule seems straightforward, there are a few nuances to keep in mind:
- Action Surge: The Fighter’s Action Surge feature grants an additional action on their turn. This does not circumvent the bonus action spell rule. If you cast a bonus action spell, the only spells you can cast with either action are cantrips. However, you can use both actions to cast leveled spells, as long as a bonus action spell wasn’t cast on that turn.
- Reactions: Spells cast as reactions, such as Counterspell or Shield, are not subject to the bonus action spell rule. You can cast a reaction spell on the same turn you cast a bonus action spell or an action spell.
- Spellcasting Services: Using a spellcasting service that another NPC provides does not require the use of your bonus action or action.
- Items and Class Features: Class features or magic items that allow you to cast a spell using something other than your action or bonus action may seem like exceptions, but they aren’t. You are still bound by the rules of what triggers the bonus action spell.
- Haste: The Haste spell grants an additional action that can be used for attacking, dashing, disengaging, hiding, or using an object. It cannot be used to cast another spell.
- Metamagic: The Sorcerer’s Quickened Spell metamagic option allows you to cast a spell with a casting time of one action as a bonus action. However, this still triggers the bonus action spell rule, restricting your other spell to a cantrip.
Strategic Implications
Mastering the bonus action spell rule is crucial for effective spellcasting in D&D 5e. Here are some strategic considerations:
- Action Economy: The rule emphasizes the importance of action economy. You must carefully weigh the benefits of casting a bonus action spell against the limitation it places on your action.
- Cantrip Selection: Choose cantrips that provide versatility and utility, as they may be your only spell option on turns when you use a bonus action spell.
- Class Synergies: Some classes, like the Sorcerer with Quickened Spell, can effectively utilize bonus action spells. However, you must plan your actions carefully.
- Teamwork: Coordinate with your party members to maximize spellcasting efficiency. For example, a support character could cast a bonus action buff while another character unleashes a powerful action spell.
Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)
1. Can I cast two leveled spells if one is from a magic item?
No. The bonus action spell rule applies regardless of the source of the spell. If you cast a bonus action spell from a magic item, the only other spell you can cast that turn is a cantrip with a casting time of one action.
2. Does “otherwise treated as if you cast the spell” change anything?
No, “otherwise treated as if you cast the spell” merely means that any side effects, durations, and targeting rules all must still be followed. You cannot cast two leveled spells per turn that way. Therefore, “otherwise treated as if you cast the spell” suggests that you need to use an action, bonus action or reaction as appropriate, to cast the spell.
3. Can I cast two spells in one turn with Haste?
No, you can’t cast a spell with your extra action from Haste. Despite including an attack as part of the cantrip, all cantrips use the Cast a Spell action, like any other spell.
4. Can I cast two concentration spells at once?
No, you cannot cast two concentration spells at the same time and concentrate on both of them at the same time. A character can only concentrate on one spell at a time. However, some abilities allow you to transfer concentration to another creature.
5. Can I cast the same spell twice in D&D 5e?
Yes, you can cast the same spell multiple times, provided you have the required spell slots available.
6. Can I twin spell a cantrip?
Yes, the Twinned Spell Metamagic option for Sorcerers allows you to target a second creature with a cantrip that targets only one creature and doesn’t have a range of self, by spending 1 sorcery point.
7. If I copy a spell, is it also cast?
No. To copy a spell, activated ability, or triggered ability means to put a copy of it onto the stack; a copy of a spell isn’t cast and a copy of an activated ability isn’t activated.
8. Do Cantrips break invisibility?
No, casting a cantrip does not automatically break invisibility. However, if the cantrip involves an attack roll or forces a saving throw, it may end the Invisibility spell, depending on the specific wording of the spell or effect causing the invisibility.
9. What feat lets you cast 2 spells in one turn?
Action Surge (Fighter Feature) lets you cast 2 action spells (not required to be cantrips unless a spell is cast as bonus action, then both must be cantrips). War Caster feat let’s you cast action spells as attack of opportunity (follows reaction spell rules).
10. Can I cast the same cantrip twice with Quickened Spell?
No. The rules state that if you cast a spell with your bonus action, the only other spells you can cast that turn must be cantrips. This applies to any way you can cast with your bonus action, including the Sorcerer’s Quickened Spell Metamagic.
11. Is Invisibility a concentration spell?
Yes, the Invisibility spell requires concentration. This means you can’t cast another spell that requires concentration while maintaining Invisibility.
12. Can you use a cantrip as a bonus action?
Normally, no. The use of a cantrip costs an action; specifically, the “Cast a Spell” action. They can be cast as bonus actions through the Sorcerer’s Metamagic (Quickened Spell), and as reactions through the War Caster Feat, but beyond those bounds cantrips always cost an action to cast.
13. Can you counterspell a counterspell?
Yes, you can counterspell a counterspell cast against you. Wizards of the Coast has addressed this in their “Sage Advice Compendium”.
14. Are cantrips infinite?
Yes, cantrips can be cast an unlimited number of times per day without expending spell slots.
15. Can I cast two spells in one turn if one is a reaction spell?
Yes, you can cast two spells in one turn if one of them is a reaction spell. The bonus action spell rule only applies to spells cast as an action or bonus action. You are able to cast reaction spells along side action or bonus action spells.
Conclusion
While the bonus action spell rule might seem restrictive, it’s a vital component of D&D 5e’s balanced spellcasting system. By understanding the rule’s nuances and strategic implications, you can become a more effective and versatile spellcaster. Remember to think creatively, coordinate with your party, and leverage the power of cantrips to overcome any challenge.
For more resources and discussions about games and learning, check out the GamesLearningSociety.org website at: https://www.gameslearningsociety.org/.