Can You Change the Target of a Counterspell with Spellskite?
The short answer is: no, you cannot directly change the target of a counterspell to Spellskite. While Spellskite’s ability allows you to redirect the target of a spell or ability, it cannot bypass the fundamental rules of Magic: The Gathering, specifically regarding legal targets. A counterspell must target a spell on the stack, and Spellskite is a permanent on the battlefield. This mismatch in targeting criteria renders Spellskite an illegal target for a counterspell.
While this might seem straightforward, the intricacies of Spellskite, counterspells, and targeting rules often lead to confusion. This article will delve into the nuances of these interactions, clarifying the limitations and possibilities. We’ll explore the rules, explain why you can’t simply redirect a counterspell to Spellskite, and then expand with frequently asked questions to ensure a comprehensive understanding of the topic.
Understanding the Interaction
Spellskite’s Ability
Spellskite has a unique activated ability that costs {2} life: “You may change a target of target spell or ability to Spellskite.” This wording is crucial. It allows you to change the target of a spell or ability already on the stack. However, this change is only possible if Spellskite is a legal target for the spell or ability in question.
Counterspells and Targeting
A counterspell, like Counterspell or Negate, is designed to target a spell that is currently on the stack (i.e., a spell that has been cast but not resolved). Importantly, the target must be a spell, not a permanent.
Why the Redirection Fails
This is where the fundamental rule of targeting comes into play. Because Spellskite is a permanent on the battlefield, it cannot be targeted by a counterspell, which is specifically looking for a spell on the stack. Activating Spellskite’s ability targeting a counterspell is entirely possible – you can do that. However, when the redirection attempt resolves, it does not actually change the target of the counterspell because Spellskite is not a legal target. This is a critical distinction – you can activate the ability, but the target won’t change if it is not legal.
Resolving Misconceptions
Many players often think that Spellskite’s redirection ability acts as a universal “take the heat” ability. However, it’s important to remember that it is bound by the fundamental targeting rules of the game. Just because you can activate Spellskite’s ability targeting a spell does not automatically guarantee a successful redirection. If Spellskite is an illegal target for the targeted spell or ability, the target simply remains unchanged.
Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)
1. Can Spellskite Redirect a Counterspell to a Different Spell?
Yes, you can use Spellskite to redirect a counterspell to target another spell on the stack, as long as that other spell is a legal target for the counterspell. For example, if your opponent targets your creature spell with a counterspell, and you have another spell on the stack, you can redirect the counterspell to that second spell (assuming it meets the counterspell’s legal targeting conditions).
2. Can a Counterspell Target Itself Through Redirection?
No. A spell on the stack is never a legal target for itself, according to rule 114.5. Thus, abilities like Spellskite’s and spells like Deflecting Swat cannot redirect a counterspell to target itself.
3. Can You Use Spellskite’s Ability if Spellskite Isn’t a Legal Target?
Yes, absolutely. You can activate Spellskite’s ability even if it wouldn’t be a legal target for the targeted spell or ability. In such cases, no targets are changed, but the ability activation itself is legal.
4. Does Spellskite Need to be on the Battlefield to Redirect?
Yes, Spellskite must be on the battlefield when you activate its ability to redirect a spell. This means you can’t use Spellskite’s ability to redirect a counterspell while the Spellskite is still in your hand.
5. Can Two Counterspells Target the Same Spell?
Yes. It’s perfectly legal to target a single spell on the stack with more than one counterspell. If the first counterspell resolves successfully, it removes the targeted spell from the stack, causing any subsequent counterspells targeting that same spell to “fizzle” because their target is now gone.
6. Does Spellskite Steal Equipment?
No, Spellskite cannot steal equipment. Both ways of equipping (paying mana, or Cranial Plating’s equip ability) target a creature you control, so you cannot redirect to an opponent’s Spellskite.
7. What Happens if Spellskite Has Shroud?
If Spellskite has shroud, you can still activate its ability. However, because shroud prevents Spellskite from being targeted by spells or abilities (with exceptions), the target won’t change. You can still activate the ability, but it will have no effect on the targeted spell or ability.
8. What is the Best Use of Spellskite?
Spellskite is exceptionally versatile. It excels in protecting creature-based combos, redirecting targeted removal, and forcing opponents to rethink their strategies. It’s less effective against non-targeted effects, like board wipes or burn spells that don’t specifically target.
9. How Does Spellskite Work With Multiple Targets?
If a spell or ability has multiple targets, you choose which target you’re changing to Spellskite when its ability resolves. By activating Spellskite’s ability multiple times, you can change multiple instances of the word “target” in a spell or ability to target it.
10. What Happens if Spellskite Has Hexproof?
If Spellskite has hexproof and you try to change the target of a spell your opponent controls, Spellskite’s ability will not do anything. It does not fizzle; it simply fails to change the target.
11. Can You Counter a Spell that Cannot be Countered?
Yes. While a spell that “can’t be countered” can’t be stopped by a counterspell, that doesn’t make it an illegal target for a counterspell. The counterspell simply won’t have its effect on a spell that can’t be countered.
12. Can You Counter a Counterspell?
Yes, you can counter a counterspell. Counterspells, like all spells, are valid targets for other counterspells. This creates the possibility of “counter wars” where players attempt to out-counter one another.
13. Does Shroud and Hexproof Impact Mutate and Cipher?
A creature with shroud cannot be the target of a mutate ability. Mutate requires a target. However, cipher does not target when encoding, so you can encode onto a creature with shroud.
14. Can You Sacrifice a Creature to Get Around Totem Armor?
Yes. Totem armor prevents destruction effects. It will not prevent sacrifice, exile, bounce, or other removal techniques.
15. Does Hexproof Stop Counterspells?
No, hexproof only applies to permanents on the battlefield and counterspells only affect spells on the stack. Therefore, a spell cannot target a permanent with hexproof, but hexproof has no impact on spells targeting other spells on the stack.
Conclusion
While Spellskite is a powerful tool for manipulating spell targets, it’s crucial to understand the limitations set by fundamental targeting rules. You cannot use Spellskite to change the target of a counterspell to itself because it’s simply an illegal target. You can, however, use it to redirect counterspells to other spells on the stack, provided they are a legal target. The combination of rules and interactions can seem overwhelming, but understanding these nuances will make you a stronger and more versatile player.