Can You Counter a Creature Card?
Yes, you absolutely can counter a creature card, but with a crucial caveat: you can only counter it while it’s a spell on the stack, not after it has resolved and entered the battlefield. This is a fundamental rule in games like Magic: The Gathering (MTG), where the concept of the “stack” dictates the order in which spells and abilities resolve. A creature card, when initially played, is considered a creature spell before it becomes a creature permanent on the battlefield. This distinction is vital for understanding how counterspells work.
Understanding the Stack
The stack is an invisible zone where spells and abilities are placed before they take effect. When a player casts a creature spell, that spell goes onto the stack. At this point, it’s still vulnerable to being countered. Think of it like a queue – the last spell to enter the stack is the first one to resolve unless something interrupts it. Counterspells, like Counterspell itself, target a spell on the stack and, if successful, move that spell directly to its owner’s graveyard without the spell ever taking effect. This effectively negates the spell, preventing the creature from entering the battlefield.
The Counterspell Interaction
Counterspells are primarily blue in color within MTG and are designed to disrupt opponent’s plans. They can have varying costs and conditions, but their primary function is consistent: to negate a spell. The important thing to understand is that counterspells only work on spells. Once a creature spell resolves and becomes a creature on the battlefield, it is no longer a spell. At this point, counterspells become useless against it. Think of it as the creature being “born” and becoming a permanent object in the game.
What Happens When You Counter a Creature Spell?
When a counterspell successfully counters a creature spell, the creature card goes directly to its owner’s graveyard. It does not enter the battlefield, and its effects are negated. It’s important to note that this is not considered destroying the creature; it never made it to the battlefield to begin with. It’s a crucial distinction, as destroy effects specifically target permanents on the battlefield.
FAQs: Diving Deeper into Countering Creature Spells
Understanding the basics is just the start. Let’s explore some common questions to gain a more complete picture.
1. Can you counter a creature’s ability?
No, you cannot counter a creature’s ability. Abilities, unlike spells, do not go on the stack. They trigger and resolve, or are activated, directly. Effects that only trigger on a cast spell are ineffective against abilities.
2. Can you counter a creature summon?
The term “summon” is often used colloquially, but in terms of MTG mechanics, yes, you can counter a “summon,” provided it refers to the casting of a creature spell. A card with the ability “Counter-Summon” in other card games, like a card with the (Su) ability can counter a conjuration spell. A counter-summoner can counter the spell as a swift or immediate action.
3. Can you counter a creature from attacking?
No, you cannot directly counter a creature from attacking. Once a creature is on the battlefield, it’s no longer a spell. Counterspells cannot target it anymore. There are other methods to prevent creatures from attacking, like tapping them or using spells that specifically prevent them from declaring attacks.
4. Can you counter a creature with indestructible?
Yes, you can counter a creature with indestructible while it is still a spell on the stack. Indestructible only applies to permanents on the battlefield. So while a creature on the battlefield with indestructible cannot be destroyed by effects that destroy, a counterspell will still stop it before it ever enters play.
5. Does countering a creature spell destroy it?
No, countering a creature spell does not destroy it. “Destroy” is a specific term for removing a permanent from the battlefield to the graveyard. A countered spell never reaches the battlefield, so it cannot be destroyed.
6. When can you counter a creature?
You can counter a creature only when it is a spell on the stack and before it resolves and enters the battlefield. The timing is everything. Once a spell resolves, it is no longer a spell.
7. Can you counter a creature with Hexproof?
Yes, you can counter a creature with hexproof. Hexproof only protects a permanent on the battlefield from being targeted by spells or abilities an opponent controls. However, hexproof is not effective when the creature is still a spell on the stack.
8. How do you beat Counterspell?
There are multiple ways to play around counterspells, including forcing your opponent to discard them or backing up your own spells with counterspells. Other solutions include using spells that can’t be countered, or cards that remove counterspells from your opponents hand before they are able to play them.
9. Can I counterspell someone counterspelling me?
Yes, you absolutely can counter a counterspell. This is often referred to as “countering the counter” and it is a crucial part of a games like MTG.
10. What happens to counters when a creature is exiled?
When a creature is exiled, it becomes a new game object. It detaches from any counters, equipment or enchantments that it had and these are usually placed in the graveyard.
11. Can you sacrifice a creature with a shield counter?
Yes, shield counters do not prevent sacrificing a creature. They only prevent damage or destruction effects. If a creature has more than one shield counter and will be dealt damage, the damage is prevented and a single shield counter is removed.
12. Can you counter a copy of a spell?
Yes, you can counter a copy of a spell while it’s on the stack. These spell copies are treated as any other spell until they leave the stack.
13. Does Counterspell work on creatures in other games?
In games like Dungeons & Dragons 5th Edition (5e), Counterspell has specific rules and can be used to interrupt a spell cast by another creature. You can cast it as a reaction, and it will automatically succeed on spells that are 3rd level or lower.
14. Can you counter a commander?
Yes, you can counter a commander while it is a spell. If countered, the commander will be sent to the graveyard or back to the command zone depending on its owners wishes.
15. Can you counter a creature spell with Ward?
Yes, if a creature has Ward, it has a triggered ability that attempts to counter spells or abilities that target it. If the cost is paid, that spell or ability is not countered. Ward works against spells and abilities on the stack that target the permanent but not the spell itself.
Conclusion
Countering a creature card is a key element in many strategy games and is usually done when the creature is a spell on the stack. Understanding how the stack works and the distinction between spells and permanents is essential. Counterspells are powerful tools, but they have specific limitations. Mastering these nuances is a crucial step in becoming a proficient player in MTG and other strategy games.