Can you counter spell creature abilities?

Can You Counter Creature Abilities in Magic? A Comprehensive Guide

The question of whether you can counter creature abilities in Magic: The Gathering is a common one, and the answer, while seemingly simple, requires understanding the nuances of the game’s rules. The short answer is: yes, you can counter certain creature abilities, but not all of them, and understanding the specific terminology is crucial.

Understanding the Stack and Abilities

In Magic: The Gathering, actions don’t happen immediately. Most spells and abilities, including many creature abilities, go onto a virtual space called the stack. This allows players to react to these actions before they resolve. When something is on the stack, it can be targeted by effects that counter spells or abilities. This is where the possibility of countering creature abilities comes into play.

Activated vs. Triggered Abilities

The key to understanding what can be countered lies in recognizing the difference between activated abilities and triggered abilities.

  • Activated Abilities: These abilities are always written in the format of “[Cost]: [Effect]”. A player must pay the cost to activate the ability. These are the abilities that can be countered.
  • Triggered Abilities: These abilities automatically trigger when a specific event occurs. They are identifiable by the words “when,” “whenever,” or “at.” These are also abilities that can be countered.

So to specifically answer the question, activated abilities of a creature can be countered.

Countering Creature Abilities

The ability to counter is tied to specific card text. Counterspells and abilities that can counter targeted activated or triggered abilities are crucial to stop creature abilities from resolving.

Remember, an ability is on the stack once it’s activated or has triggered, and it remains there until it resolves or is countered. So, if an opponent activates a creature ability with a cost, it goes on the stack and can become a target. The same goes for a triggered ability from a creature that is in response to an event.

Countering “Cast” Abilities

It’s important to differentiate between an activated ability that allows you to “cast” a creature, which is a spell, and activated abilities that the creature itself uses, which are not spells. For example, some abilities will state something like “you may cast this creature.” When you cast the creature, this is not an ability but a spell that can be countered.

If the activated ability does not “cast” a spell, but simply has an activated ability with a cost and an effect, then this ability can be countered.

What Happens When an Ability is Countered?

When an ability is countered, it is removed from the stack and has no effect. Any costs paid to activate that ability are not refunded. According to rule 701.5a: “To counter a spell or ability means to cancel it, removing it from the stack. It doesn’t resolve and none of its effects occur. A countered spell is put into its owner’s graveyard.” And also according to rule 701.5b: “The player who cast a countered spell or activated a countered ability doesn’t get a “refund” of any costs that were paid.”

Important Considerations

  • Mana Abilities Cannot Be Targeted: Mana abilities, used to generate mana, cannot be targeted by counter effects. This is a specific exception in the rules.
  • “Spell” vs. “Ability”: When discussing the stack, it’s vital to understand that a “spell” is a card cast from a hand and put onto the stack. Most creature cards are considered spells while on the stack. But, activated abilities of creatures are not “spells,” but abilities, and a counterspell won’t affect them.

Frequently Asked Questions

Here are 15 FAQs to further clarify the nuances of countering creature abilities in Magic: The Gathering:

1. Can you counter a creature spell?

Yes, a creature card while being cast from your hand is a spell and can be countered. Once resolved, it becomes a permanent on the battlefield.

2. Does countering a creature spell destroy it?

No. A countered spell never reaches the battlefield. Therefore, it is not “destroyed,” as the term destroy applies only to permanents on the battlefield.

3. Can you counter a spell-like ability?

In D&D, spell-like abilities do not require spellcasting components, whereas a Counterspell is a reaction in response to someone casting a spell. In Magic: The Gathering, there are abilities of cards that act as spells, and can be countered like normal spells. However the activated abilities of creatures are not spells and need abilities that target activated abilities.

4. Does summoning sickness prevent creature abilities?

Summoning sickness only prevents a creature from attacking or using tap abilities. It does not stop all other types of activated abilities.

5. Can you counter a triggered ability?

Yes, you can counter triggered abilities. Effects like Stifle or Disallow can target triggered abilities and prevent them from resolving.

6. Can you counter a ninjutsu ability?

No, you cannot counter the ninjutsu ability with a counterspell because it’s an activated ability, not a spell. However, it can be countered by abilities that target activated abilities, such as Stifle.

7. Can you counter a copy of a spell?

Yes, copies of spells are treated as spells and can be countered. However, countering the copy won’t counter the original spell, which is still on the stack.

8. Does “counter target spell” work on abilities?

No, cards that say “counter target spell” will not work against creature abilities, because they aren’t “spells.” You need specific cards that say “counter target activated or triggered ability.”

9. What happens if you counter a counter spell?

You can counter a counterspell with another counterspell. If the first counterspell is countered, it will not resolve, and the original spell it was targeting will be allowed to resolve.

10. Can you counterspell your own spell?

Yes. This can be done if there is a card that allows this. This has strategic uses, such as ending negative effects on your creatures.

11. Can you double counter a spell?

Yes, you can cast multiple counterspells against a single spell. If one resolves, however, all other counterspells targeting the now countered spell will be countered upon resolution, since their target is no longer on the stack.

12. Can you counter an evoked creature?

Yes, you can counter an evoked creature either as a creature spell, or as a triggered ability of “when it enters the battlefield sacrifice it”, such as with Trickbind or Stifle.

13. Can you counter a land?

No, playing a land is a special action, not a spell or ability, therefore it cannot be countered. Lands are not placed on the stack.

14. Does killing a creature stop a triggered ability?

No. Once a triggered ability is on the stack, it will resolve even if the creature it came from is killed or removed. Abilities exist independently of their source.

15. Can you counter a creature with protection from everything?

You can’t target a creature with protection from everything with a counter spell or an ability. However, board wipe spells that do not directly target a creature can remove a creature with protection from everything.

Conclusion

Countering creature abilities in Magic: The Gathering requires a deep understanding of how the stack works, the difference between activated and triggered abilities, and carefully reading the text of your cards. While you can’t counter every action, you have tools at your disposal to interrupt many activated or triggered abilities, adding another layer of strategy to the game. Always be sure to pay close attention to the specific wording of the cards to understand what you can counter.

Leave a Comment