Can you deal negative damage in MTG?

Can you deal negative damage in MTG?

The answer to the question Can you deal negative damage in MTG? is no, as the Magic: The Gathering (MTG) game uses only positive numbers and zero for most game values, and it’s not possible to deal negative damage or gain negative life. In MTG, a creature with negative power deals no combat damage, and its power is treated as if it had 0 power.

Understanding Negative Damage in MTG

What happens if a creature has negative attack?

If a creature has negative power, it deals damage as though it had 0 power, which means it deals no combat damage. This is an important rule to understand, as it can affect the outcome of battles and the overall game.

Frequently Asked Questions

  1. Can you have negative power in MTG? Yes, it’s possible for a game value, such as a creature’s power, to be less than zero.
  2. What happens if a creature goes negative in MTG? When a creature’s toughness is less than 1, it will be sent to the graveyard the next time state-based actions are checked.
  3. Can you attack with a 0 power creature? Yes, you can attack with a 0 power creature, as long as it doesn’t have the Defender keyword.
  4. Can you deal Negative Damage in League of Legends? This question is not relevant to MTG, but in general, negative damage is not a common concept in most games.
  5. Can combat damage be 0? Yes, combat damage can be 0, and in such cases, the creature deals no damage during the damage step.
  6. Does 0 Count as Combat Damage? No, 0 does not count as combat damage, and a creature with 0 power or negative power deals no damage.
  7. Can a creature have 0 toughness? Yes, a creature can have 0 toughness, and in such cases, it is considered dead and is put into its owner’s graveyard.
  8. Can you block with a 0 0 creature? No, you cannot block with a 0/0 creature, as it is considered dead and is already in its owner’s graveyard.
  9. What is the dying rule in MTG? Creatures die if they take lethal damage or have their toughness reduced to 0 or less, as a State-based action.
  10. Can MTG end in a draw? Yes, MTG can end in a draw if all the players remaining in a game lose simultaneously.
  11. Can you tap a creature and not attack? No, once a creature is declared as an attacker, you cannot tap it to prevent it from attacking.
  12. Does a creature with infect still deal damage? Yes, a creature with infect still deals damage, and the -1/-1 counters remain on the creature indefinitely.
  13. Can a creature be dealt more damage than toughness? Yes, a creature can be dealt more damage than its toughness, and in such cases, it is destroyed.
  14. What is the rule for negative powers? A number raised to a negative power is equal to one over the number raised to the positive opposite power.
  15. Can you destroy a creature with indestructible? No, a creature with indestructible cannot be destroyed, but it can still be sacrificed or exiled.

Leave a Comment