Can you do multiple bonus actions in D&D?

Can You Do Multiple Bonus Actions in D&D?

The short and definitive answer is no, you generally cannot perform multiple bonus actions in a single turn in Dungeons & Dragons (D&D) 5th Edition. The rules are clear: you only get one bonus action per turn, regardless of how many abilities or spells you have that are designated as bonus actions.

Understanding Actions, Bonus Actions, and Reactions

To understand why you can’t take multiple bonus actions, it’s crucial to differentiate between the three main types of actions you can take during your turn in combat:

  • Action: This is your primary activity during your turn. Attacking, casting a spell, dashing, dodging, or using an object are all examples of actions.

  • Bonus Action: These are smaller, quicker actions that are often tied to specific class features, feats, or spells. Examples include casting healing word, making an off-hand attack with two-weapon fighting, or using the Cunning Action feature of a Rogue.

  • Reaction: Reactions are responses to triggers that occur outside of your turn. Opportunity attacks, casting shield, or using the Sentinel feat are all examples of reactions. You only get one reaction per round (between your turns).

The One Bonus Action Rule

The Player’s Handbook clearly states that you have one action and one bonus action per turn. If you don’t have anything to use a bonus action on, then you simply don’t use it. However, even if you have multiple abilities that trigger or could be used with a bonus action, you can still only choose one to perform. This is a key part of the game’s balance, preventing certain character builds from becoming overpowered by stacking multiple bonus action abilities.

Conditions for Using a Bonus Action

Remember that the following condition must be met to use a bonus action:

  • A feature, spell, or other ability must specifically state that it takes a bonus action. You can’t just decide to do something as a bonus action if it isn’t explicitly designated as such.

What if I Don’t Use My Action?

It’s important to understand that you do not get a bonus action if you do not use an action. The rule says that you can only take a bonus action when you take the action defined, not that you can always take one in your turn.

Exceptions and Special Cases

While the one bonus action rule is strict, there are a few rare exceptions or specific interpretations to keep in mind:

  • Extra Actions: Features that grant extra actions, like the Action Surge feature of the Fighter, do not grant extra bonus actions. They only grant extra actions.

  • Specific Feats/Class Features: Always read the description of a feature carefully. Some features may seem like they provide a bonus action, but they might actually modify an existing action or provide a different type of benefit.

  • Magic Items: Similarly, magic items might grant abilities that appear to be bonus actions, but their specific wording might allow for something slightly different within the rules. Pay close attention to the item description.

  • DM Discretion: Ultimately, the Dungeon Master has the final say on how the rules are interpreted and applied. In rare cases, a DM might allow a player to bend the rules slightly for narrative purposes or to reward creative gameplay. However, this should be the exception, not the rule.

Why the Limitation?

Limiting bonus actions to one per turn helps maintain game balance. Without this restriction, certain classes or character builds could potentially dominate combat by stacking multiple powerful abilities that are intended to be used sparingly. This limitation forces players to make strategic decisions about which actions are most important in a given situation, adding depth and complexity to the game.

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)

Here are 15 frequently asked questions about bonus actions in D&D 5e, designed to provide even more clarity on this important rule:

H3 FAQ 1: Can I use my bonus action before my action?

Yes, you can generally use your bonus action before your action, after your action, or even between attacks if you have the Extra Attack feature. The order doesn’t matter, as long as you meet any specific requirements for using the bonus action (such as having taken a specific action first).

H3 FAQ 2: If I have two-weapon fighting, do I get two bonus actions?

No. The two-weapon fighting rules state that you can make an attack with a light melee weapon held in your other hand as a bonus action. This uses your single bonus action for the turn. You don’t get a second one just because you are wielding two weapons.

H3 FAQ 3: Does casting a spell as a bonus action prevent me from casting another spell?

Yes, with a caveat. The rule is: if you cast a spell with a casting time of a bonus action, the only other spell you can cast on that turn must have a casting time of 1 action, not a bonus action, and that 1 action spell must be a cantrip. You cannot cast another spell if it requires a bonus action or anything other than an action.

H3 FAQ 4: What happens if I have two different ways to use a bonus action?

You must choose one. For example, if you are a Rogue with the Cunning Action feature and also have a magic item that allows you to cast misty step as a bonus action, you must choose whether to Dash, Disengage, or Hide (using Cunning Action) or cast misty step. You cannot do both in the same turn.

H3 FAQ 5: Can I hold my bonus action to use it later?

No, you cannot hold a bonus action. Bonus actions must be used during your turn, or they are lost. You can however hold an action until the start of your next turn (as long as you take an action on this turn).

H3 FAQ 6: Does the Fighter’s Action Surge grant me another bonus action?

No, Action Surge grants you an additional action, not a bonus action or a reaction. You still only get one bonus action per turn.

H3 FAQ 7: Can I use my reaction and my bonus action in the same turn?

Yes, reactions and bonus actions are separate. You get one of each per round. A reaction can occur on your turn or on another creature’s turn.

H3 FAQ 8: If I miss my attack, can I still use my bonus action to attack again (if I have a feature that allows it)?

Yes, if you have a feature or ability that allows you to make an additional attack as a bonus action (even if the initial attack missed), you can still use your bonus action.

H3 FAQ 9: What if a spell or ability says I can “take an extra action”? Does that mean I can use another bonus action?

No. “Extra action” refers to an additional action, not a bonus action. You still only get one bonus action per turn. You can use an extra action to take other actions like Dash, Dodge, Attack, Help, etc.

H3 FAQ 10: Are there any feats that grant an additional bonus action?

There are no official feats in 5e D&D that explicitly grant you an additional bonus action. Always check the specific wording of any feat to ensure it does not grant a bonus action.

H3 FAQ 11: Can I use a bonus action to cast a spell and then use my action to cast another spell?

Yes, you can cast a spell using your bonus action and a cantrip using your action. You can not however cast a spell using your bonus action, and then another spell with your action that isn’t a cantrip.

H3 FAQ 12: If I’m stunned, can I still use a bonus action?

No. When you are stunned, you are incapacitated and can’t take actions, bonus actions, or reactions.

H3 FAQ 13: Does the Haste spell grant me an extra bonus action?

No, the haste spell grants you an additional action that can only be used for certain actions like attacking (one weapon attack only), dashing, disengaging, hiding, or using an object. It does not grant an extra bonus action.

H3 FAQ 14: If I’m a Monk and use Flurry of Blows, am I using multiple bonus actions?

No. Flurry of Blows specifically states that immediately after you take the Attack action on your turn, you can spend 1 ki point to make two unarmed strikes as a bonus action. This is still only one bonus action. You are using a single bonus action to perform multiple actions (the two unarmed strikes).

H3 FAQ 15: What happens if I try to take two bonus actions accidentally?

The DM would likely correct you. If you realized it immediately, you could simply choose which bonus action you wanted to perform and retract the other. However, you cannot “undo” actions taken earlier in your turn to accommodate the mistake. Pay close attention to the actions available to you and ensure you’re following the one bonus action rule.

Leave a Comment