Embarking and Disembarking in the Same Turn: A Tactical Deep Dive
No, you cannot embark and disembark in the same turn. The core mechanic prevents a unit from both entering and exiting a transport in a single activation. You must choose one or the other.
Understanding Embarkation and Disembarkation
Let’s break down why this rule exists and how it impacts your battlefield strategy. Embarkation refers to the act of a unit entering a Transport vehicle. Disembarkation is the opposite, when a unit exits the Transport. These actions are tightly controlled within the rules of the game to maintain balance and prevent unrealistic maneuvers. Understanding these rules is crucial for effective army deployment and tactical maneuvering.
The Core Mechanics of Transport Units
The key to understanding this limitation lies in the timing of these actions within the Movement phase. A unit must start its Movement phase either on the battlefield or already embarked within a Transport. If it starts embarked, it has the option to disembark. However, after it disembarks, that unit’s “embarkation opportunity” for that turn is lost.
Conversely, a unit that starts on the battlefield can move towards a Transport and embark, ending its movement. But, once embarked, it cannot then immediately disembark. This restriction forces players to plan their movements and consider the strategic implications of using Transport units.
Strategic Implications of the Rule
This “one or the other” rule significantly shapes battlefield tactics. It prevents you from using a Transport as a revolving door, constantly shuttling units in and out to react to immediate threats. It promotes careful planning and positioning of your Transports and the units within them. Consider these implications:
- Deployment: Plan your initial deployment carefully, considering which units will need early access to the battlefield and which can benefit from the protection and mobility of a Transport.
- Movement Planning: Anticipate enemy movements and position your Transports accordingly. A turn spent repositioning a Transport to allow disembarkation might be a turn well spent, but remember it costs an entire turn’s opportunity to embark another unit.
- Target Priority: Decide whether the priority is to deliver a powerful unit to a critical location (disembarkation) or to protect a vulnerable unit by extracting it from danger (embarkation).
Ultimately, the restriction on embarking and disembarking in the same turn adds a layer of strategic depth to the game, encouraging careful decision-making and skillful maneuvering. Remember to consult the official rulebook and any relevant FAQs for the most up-to-date information and rulings.
Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)
Here are 15 frequently asked questions about embarkation and disembarkation, providing further clarity on these crucial game mechanics:
-
Can you move a Transport, and then disembark?
Yes, you can move a Transport during the Movement phase, and then disembark units from it, provided the Transport didn’t Advance or Fall Back. The disembarking unit can then act normally, including shooting (but not charging, unless specific conditions are met as described later in the FAQs).
-
Can you Fall Back and disembark?
No, you cannot disembark if the Transport has Fallen Back during the Movement phase. This is because disembarkation must occur before the Transport makes a Normal Move, an Advance, or Falls Back.
-
Can you charge the same turn you disembark?
Generally, yes, a unit can charge in the same turn it disembarks. The main restriction, stemming from a previous update, is that a unit cannot charge in the same turn its Transport was destroyed. Also, a unit cannot charge if their transport Advanced.
-
What is the difference between embark and disembark?
Embark means entering a Transport vehicle, while disembark means exiting a Transport vehicle.
-
If a transport has moved, can I still disembark?
Yes, provided the transport has not Advanced or Fallen Back. A normal move is fine.
-
Does disembarking count as moving?
Yes, units that have disembarked count as having moved this turn, but they can still act normally, including moving further in the Movement phase (after disembarking) and shooting in the Shooting phase.
-
When can units disembark?
Units can disembark during the Movement phase, provided they started the turn embarked within the Transport and the Transport has not yet made a Normal Move, Advanced, or Fallen Back.
-
Can you Fall Back into a Transport?
Yes, it’s possible for a unit to embark in a Transport even if it made a Fall Back move, as long as it finishes its move within 3″ of the Transport.
-
Are embarked units on the battlefield?
No, embarked units are not considered to be on the battlefield for any rules purposes. They cannot shoot, fight, use abilities, or interact with the game in any way unless specifically allowed by a rule.
-
Can vehicles shoot after Falling Back?
In 9th edition (and continuing into later editions with some variations), vehicles generally cannot Fall Back and shoot unless they have a special rule on their datasheet that allows them to do so. Check the specific vehicle’s rules.
-
If a transport is destroyed, what happens to the embarked unit?
Usually, the embarked unit must immediately disembark as a result of the transport’s destruction. Often, there are rules for how this disembarkation occurs, including potential dangers and restrictions on subsequent actions. Typically, units will disembark as close as possible to the destroyed transport.
-
Can I embark more units than the Transport’s capacity allows?
No, you cannot exceed the Transport’s stated carrying capacity. Each Transport has a specific number of models it can carry.
-
If I fail a charge after disembarking, can I consolidate?
If your charge fails and no models make a charge move, they do not count as having charged. As such, they cannot be chosen to fight in the Fight phase (and so cannot pile in or consolidate) unless an enemy unit moves within 1″ of them.
-
If I have multiple transports, can I disembark from one and embark into another in the same turn? No. You cannot embark and disembark in the same turn.
-
Where can I find more information and clarification on these rules?
The best source of information is always the official rulebook, any relevant FAQs released by the game developers, and discussions within the community on forums and other platforms. Additionally, the Games Learning Society is a great resource. Check out GamesLearningSociety.org for resources on how games improve learning.