Can you enchant an artifact creature?

Enchanting Artifact Creatures: A Comprehensive Guide

Yes, you absolutely can enchant an artifact creature in Magic: The Gathering! Artifact creatures are, by definition, both artifacts and creatures. This dual nature opens them up to anything that can affect either of those card types. Think of them as the ultimate recipients of buffs and modifications. They’re the chameleons of the Magic world, adapting to whatever enhancements you throw their way.

Understanding the Dual Nature

Artifact and Creature: The Best of Both Worlds

The key to understanding why artifact creatures can be enchanted lies in recognizing their dual nature. They are, simultaneously, artifacts and creatures. This means they’re susceptible to any card or effect that targets either of these card types. An aura that says “Enchant Artifact” can target an artifact creature. Similarly, an aura that says “Enchant Creature” can also target an artifact creature.

What Happens When An Artifact Creature is Enchanted?

When you enchant an artifact creature, it gains the benefits (or detriments) of the aura. If you enchant it with an aura that grants +2/+2, the artifact creature now has +2/+2. If you enchant it with an aura that gives it flying, it gains flying. Remember, the aura remains attached to the creature as long as the aura is on the battlefield, and the artifact creature remains a legal target for the aura.

Enchantments and Targeting

Auras, unlike other enchantments, target a specific object or player when they are cast as spells. However, once an aura is on the battlefield, it no longer targets the enchanted permanent or player. This is crucial to remember when dealing with abilities like shroud or hexproof. Auras already attached remain, even if the enchanted permanent gains shroud or hexproof.

FAQs: Everything You Need to Know About Enchanting Artifact Creatures

Here are 15 frequently asked questions to further clarify the nuances of enchanting artifact creatures:

1. Can I enchant my opponent’s artifact creature?

Yes, as long as the aura doesn’t specify “enchant creature you control” or something similar, you can enchant your opponent’s artifact creature. This can be a powerful strategy to weaken their board state or even take control of their creature.

2. What happens if my artifact creature with an aura attached becomes no longer an artifact creature?

This is a tricky situation! Generally, if the creature loses one of the qualities that allowed it to be enchanted (say, it ceases to be an artifact), the aura will go to the graveyard. The game checks for legal targets when the aura is attempting to stay on the battlefield. If the creature isn’t a legal target for the aura, the aura detaches.

3. Can I enchant an artifact creature with shroud or hexproof?

If the artifact creature already has shroud or hexproof when you try to cast the aura, you can’t. Shroud prevents the artifact creature from being the target of any spell or ability. Hexproof prevents the artifact creature from being the target of spells or abilities your opponents control. However, if the aura is already attached, and the artifact creature gains shroud or hexproof, the aura remains attached.

4. Do auras count as artifacts when enchanting an artifact creature?

No, auras are enchantments, not artifacts. An aura enchanting an artifact creature doesn’t suddenly make the aura an artifact. Only permanents with the “Artifact” type are artifacts.

5. If I control an artifact creature with an aura, and my opponent destroys the artifact creature, what happens to the aura?

The aura goes to the graveyard. Auras are dependent on the existence of the permanent they enchant. If the permanent leaves the battlefield, the aura follows suit.

6. Can I counterspell an aura that is trying to enchant my artifact creature?

Yes, you can counterspell an aura spell. Auras are spells when they are cast. Anything that counters a “spell” can counter an aura spell.

7. Does deathtouch affect artifact creatures with shroud?

Yes. Deathtouch doesn’t target, it simply changes the rules for how damage is considered lethal. Shroud only prevents targeting. If an artifact creature with shroud is dealt damage by a creature with deathtouch, the artifact creature will be destroyed.

8. Can I equip an equipment to an artifact creature that’s already enchanted?

Absolutely! Equipping and enchanting are two different mechanics. There’s no limit (other than card text restrictions) to how many auras and equipment an artifact creature can have attached to it.

9. If I blink an artifact creature that is enchanted, what happens to the enchantment?

If you blink the creature, the aura will become unattached and go to your graveyard. Blinking causes the creature to leave the battlefield and return immediately. Upon returning, it’s considered a new game object, so the aura that enchanted the previous object no longer has a legal target.

10. Can I move an aura from one artifact creature to another?

Not unless you have a card that specifically allows you to do so. Auras are typically “locked” onto the permanent they were initially attached to.

11. If I have an aura that gives +X/+X to an artifact creature where X is the number of artifacts I control, does it count itself?

Yes. Once the aura is on the battlefield, it is a permanent. If it’s also an artifact, it counts toward the total.

12. Are there any enchantments that cannot enchant artifact creatures?

Yes, any aura that specifies a subtype that artifact creatures cannot have (like “Enchant Human” when the artifact creature isn’t a human) cannot enchant that artifact creature. This is because it is an invalid target.

13. Does hexproof protect my artifact creature from a board wipe effect like Wrath of God?

No. Hexproof only protects from spells or abilities that target that specific permanent. Wrath of God destroys all creatures regardless of targeting. Therefore, hexproof has no effect.

14. What is rule 303.4f in relation to enchanting artifact creatures?

Rule 303.4f covers situations where an Aura enters the battlefield without being cast as a spell. In this case, you choose what it will enchant as it enters. If you have an effect that puts an aura directly onto the battlefield, and an artifact creature is a legal target, you can choose to enchant it.

15. Why are artifact creatures important in Magic: The Gathering?

Artifact creatures add a unique dimension to deckbuilding and gameplay. They can be included in any deck due to their often-colorless nature. They can be boosted by both artifact synergies and creature-based strategies. For example, Ensoul Artifact is a popular card. It turns any one of your artifacts into a 5/5 creature until the end of the turn. Artifact creatures are very powerful and highly sought after. This makes them versatile and powerful additions to any deck. If you’re interested in learning more about the intersection of games and education, consider exploring the resources available at the Games Learning Society. For more information, visit GamesLearningSociety.org.

In conclusion, enchanting artifact creatures is a fundamental aspect of Magic: The Gathering, allowing for powerful synergies and strategic plays. Understanding the rules and nuances surrounding this interaction is key to mastering the game.

Leave a Comment