Can You Equip a Creature to Itself in Magic: The Gathering? A Comprehensive Guide
No, you cannot equip an Equipment to itself in Magic: The Gathering (MTG). The rules explicitly prohibit this. Rule 301.5c states, “An Equipment can’t equip itself.” This is a fundamental rule governing how Equipments function, preventing infinite loops and maintaining game balance. Let’s delve into the intricacies of equipment in MTG and explore some related questions to further clarify this concept.
Understanding Equip in MTG
Equipping is an activated ability that allows you to attach an Equipment artifact to a creature you control. This can be a powerful way to enhance your creatures with added stats, abilities, or protection. However, the rules surrounding Equipments are quite specific, and understanding them is crucial for playing the game effectively. Let’s jump into some of the most common questions.
Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs) About Equipment
1. What happens if an Equipment is also a creature?
An Equipment that’s also a creature (such as a Living Weapon or one transformed by an effect like Luxior, Giada’s Gift) can’t equip a creature unless that Equipment has reconfigure. Reconfigure is a keyword ability that allows the equipment to unattach and become a creature or attach to a creature and stop being a creature. Additionally, if an Equipment loses the subtype “Equipment,” it can’t equip a creature.
2. Can you equip a creature you own but don’t control?
No, the equip ability only allows you to attach the Equipment to creatures you control. However, once the Equipment is attached to a creature you control, it remains attached even if you lose control of the creature. Importantly, if your opponent gains control of the creature, they don’t gain control of the Equipment itself, and they can’t use the equip ability of that Equipment.
3. Can you equip an Equipment to a creature that is already equipped?
Yes! You can absolutely move an Equipment from one creature to another. Simply pay the equip cost of the Equipment, and it transfers from the old creature to the new one. Similarly, if an equipped creature dies and you still control the Equipment, you can pay its equip cost to attach it to another creature you control. This strategic flexibility is part of what makes Equipments so versatile.
4. When can you equip a creature?
Equipping is an activated ability that can only be activated at sorcery speed. This means you can only activate the ability during your main phase, when the stack is empty, and you have priority. This restriction prevents players from equipping creatures in response to actions during combat, adding a layer of strategic planning to the game.
5. How does equip work in MTG?
By paying the equip cost, you attach the Equipment to a creature you control. If that creature leaves play, the Equipment becomes unattached and remains on the battlefield. Paying the equip cost also allows you to move the Equipment from one creature to another, as mentioned earlier. Equipments offer persistent advantages because they remain on the battlefield even when the creature they were attached to is no longer present.
6. Can you equip a Living Weapon?
Yes, you can equip a Living Weapon to other creatures. The entire point of Living Weapon is that it enters the battlefield attached to a 0/0 black Germ creature token. However, it also has a normal Equip cost, so you can move it onto your other creatures. Be careful, though: if the Germ creature’s toughness isn’t buffed by other effects, it will immediately die and the Equipment will become unattached.
7. Is equipping an activated ability?
Yes, equip is an activated ability of Equipment cards that allows a player to attach the Equipment to a creature they control. It can only be activated at sorcery speed. Activated abilities are easily identifiable by their “[Cost]: Effect” format.
8. Can you equip Skullclamp to opponents’ creatures?
You cannot equip Skullclamp to your opponent’s creatures. The Equip ability explicitly states that you can only attach the Equipment to a “target creature you control.” However, if your Skullclamp is equipped to your opponent’s creature and it dies, you, as the controller of the Skullclamp, control the triggered ability that draws you cards.
9. What does “self equip” mean?
In a general context, “self-equip” means to provide yourself with the necessary equipment or resources for a particular task or activity. However, in Magic: The Gathering, this term isn’t officially used, as an Equipment can’t equip itself per the game’s rules.
10. Do you gain control of Equipment attached to a creature you control?
No, gaining control of an equipped creature doesn’t automatically give you control of the Equipment attached to it. The Equipment remains attached to the creature, but only the Equipment’s controller can use its equip ability. This is an important distinction in control-heavy decks.
11. Can a creature with protection be equipped?
A creature with protection from a specific quality (e.g., protection from red) cannot be equipped by Equipments with that quality. For example, a creature with protection from artifacts cannot be equipped by an Equipment. Protection prevents being targeted, equipped, enchanted, blocked, and damaged by sources of the specified quality.
12. How does Hammer of Nazahn work?
Hammer of Nazahn has two key abilities. First, whenever Hammer of Nazahn or another Equipment enters the battlefield under your control, you may attach that Equipment to target creature you control. Second, the equipped creature gets +2/+0 and has indestructible. This card is a powerful way to quickly equip a creature with protection and a stat boost.
13. Can you equip during combat?
You cannot activate the Equip ability during the combat phase. The Equip ability is restricted to your main phase when the stack is empty, and you have priority. This limitation emphasizes the importance of pre-combat planning and resource management.
14. Can you equip Planeswalkers?
Normally, you cannot equip Equipment to Planeswalkers. However, there is an exception: Luxior, Giada’s Gift. This unique Equipment allows you to attach it to a Planeswalker, transforming it into a creature. This opens up new strategies for attacking with your Planeswalkers or protecting them with Equipment buffs.
15. Do artifacts have summoning sickness?
While all permanents technically experience “summoning sickness,” only creatures are affected by it. Artifact creatures (or artifacts that have become creatures) cannot attack or activate abilities with the tap or untap symbol unless they have been under your control continuously since the beginning of your most recent turn.
Understanding the nuances of Equipments and their interactions with other game mechanics is crucial for success in Magic: The Gathering. While you can’t equip a creature to itself, the vast array of Equipments and strategic possibilities they offer make them a valuable tool in any player’s arsenal.
Looking to improve your skills further and engage with a community of learners? Visit the Games Learning Society website at https://www.gameslearningsociety.org/ to discover resources and opportunities for educational growth through games and interactive experiences. The GamesLearningSociety.org offers a diverse range of insights into the intersection of education and gaming.