Can You Equip More Than Once A Turn in Magic: The Gathering?
Yes, absolutely! You can equip an Equipment as many times as you want in a turn, provided you can pay the equip cost each time and adhere to timing restrictions. It’s all about having enough mana and the right creatures on the battlefield. This opens up interesting strategic possibilities for overwhelming your opponent.
Understanding the Equip Ability
The equip ability is a powerful mechanic in Magic: The Gathering that allows you to attach artifacts with the subtype “Equipment” to your creatures. This grants the equipped creature various bonuses, such as increased power and toughness, additional abilities, or even keywords like indestructible. The key to maximizing the equip ability lies in understanding its nuances and limitations.
Equipping: The Basics
The basic equip ability is formatted as “Equip [cost]”. This means you can pay the specified cost to attach the Equipment to a creature you control. Importantly, this is an activated ability, not a spell. This distinction is crucial because it affects how and when you can use it.
Timing Matters: Sorcery Speed
Most equip abilities can only be activated at sorcery speed. This means you can only equip during your main phase when the stack is empty, and you have priority. However, some cards may grant you the ability to equip at instant speed, which allows you to react to your opponent’s actions or equip during combat.
Leveraging Multiple Equips
The ability to equip multiple times in a turn opens up numerous strategic possibilities:
- Moving Equipment: You can move an Equipment from one creature to another to take advantage of different situations. For example, if one creature is blocked, you can move the Equipment to an unblocked creature to maximize damage.
- Reacting to Threats: If a creature with valuable Equipment is targeted for removal, you can quickly move the Equipment to another creature to protect your investment.
- Overwhelming Opponents: By equipping multiple times, you can create a truly formidable creature that is difficult for your opponent to deal with.
- Mana Sinks: In the late game, when you have excess mana, you can use equip abilities as mana sinks, allowing you to utilize your resources and further enhance your board presence.
Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)
Here are some frequently asked questions about equipping in Magic: The Gathering to further solidify your understanding of the rules:
1. Can I Equip the Same Equipment to Multiple Creatures Simultaneously?
No. An Equipment can only be attached to one creature at a time. To equip the same Equipment to another creature, you must first pay the equip cost to move it.
2. Can I Equip the Same Creature Multiple Times With Different Equipments?
Yes! You can equip a creature with as many different Equipments as you like, provided you pay the equip cost for each one.
3. What Happens If the Equipped Creature Leaves the Battlefield?
If the equipped creature leaves the battlefield, the Equipment becomes unattached and remains on the battlefield as an artifact permanent. It’s then ready to be equipped to another creature!
4. Can I Equip Equipment During My Opponent’s Turn?
Normally, no. The standard equip ability can only be used at sorcery speed, which is during your main phase. However, some cards grant the ability to equip at instant speed, allowing you to equip during your opponent’s turn.
5. Does Equipping Count as Casting a Spell?
No, equipping is an activated ability, not a spell. This means it is not subject to effects that counter spells.
6. Can I Respond to an Equip Ability?
Yes, because equip is an activated ability, it goes on the stack. Your opponent can respond to it with instants or activated abilities before it resolves.
7. What Happens If I Equip an Equipment to an Illegal Target?
If you attempt to equip an Equipment to an illegal target (e.g., a non-creature), the equip ability fails, and the Equipment remains unattached on the battlefield.
8. Is There a Limit to How Much Mana I Can Spend on Equipping in One Turn?
No, there is no limit to the amount of mana you can spend on equipping. As long as you have the mana and the opportunity to activate the equip ability, you can equip as many times as you want.
9. Can I Equip an Equipment to a Creature With Protection From Artifacts?
No. Protection prevents equipping, as equipping involves targeting.
10. What Happens If the Equipment Loses the “Equipment” Subtype?
An Equipment that loses the subtype “Equipment” can’t equip a creature. Additionally, an Equipment can’t equip itself.
11. Can I Equip Equipment to a Planeswalker?
Normally no, unless a specific effect allows it. Cards like Luxior, Giada’s Gift exist that allow Planeswalkers to be equipped turning them into creatures.
12. What is Rule Zero and How Does it Relate to Equipping?
Rule Zero in Magic: The Gathering refers to the social contract between players. It allows for modifying the official rules with the consent of everyone involved. While it rarely applies to equipping specifically, it could be used to create custom formats or challenges that involve unique equipping restrictions or abilities. Learning more about the history of gaming and gaming culture can be enhanced through platforms like the Games Learning Society, accessible at GamesLearningSociety.org.
13. How Does Trample Interact With Equipped Creatures?
Trample allows excess combat damage dealt by an attacking creature to “trample over” and damage the defending player or planeswalker. If an equipped creature has trample, the extra power from the equipment will count towards calculating trample damage.
14. Is there any Equipment that gives Indestructible?
Yes, Equipment such as Sword of Kaldra, Shield of Kaldra, and Helm of Kaldra give the equipped creature indestructible.
15. What is the difference between Enabling and Equipping Someone in Magic: The Gathering?
While not a specific rule or game term, “enabling” can refer to supporting a strategy or card by providing the necessary resources or conditions for it to function effectively. “Equipping,” in contrast, is the specific action of attaching Equipment to a creature to enhance its abilities. Understanding the nuances of these approaches is key to mastering the intricacies of the game.
Conclusion
The ability to equip multiple times per turn is a significant strategic element in Magic: The Gathering. By understanding the timing restrictions, costs, and potential benefits, you can use Equipment to create powerful creatures, react to your opponent’s plays, and gain a decisive advantage in the game. So, embrace the power of Equipment, and start equipping your way to victory!