Can you extra attack with a spell?

Can you extra attack with a spell?

The answer to the question Can you extra attack with a spell? is no, as Extra Attack features, such as those given by the Fighter and Paladin classes, specifically rely on the Attack action, not the Cast a Spell action or any other action. The Extra Attack feature allows a character to make multiple attacks when taking the Attack action, but it does not apply to spells, which are cast using the Cast a Spell action.

Understanding Extra Attack and Spellcasting

To understand why Extra Attack does not apply to spells, it’s essential to understand the difference between the Attack action and the Cast a Spell action. The Attack action is used to make melee or ranged attacks, while the Cast a Spell action is used to cast spells.

Extra Attack Feature

The Extra Attack feature allows a character to make multiple attacks when taking the Attack action. For example, a Fighter gains the Extra Attack feature at 5th level, which allows them to make two attacks when taking the Attack action. This feature increases to three attacks at 11th level and four attacks at 20th level.

Frequently Asked Questions

Here are 15 FAQs to provide additional information on Extra Attack and spellcasting:

  1. What is the Extra Attack feature?: The Extra Attack feature allows a character to make multiple attacks when taking the Attack action.
  2. Can you use a spell as an extra attack?: No, spells are cast using the Cast a Spell action, which is different from the Attack action.
  3. How do you increase spell attack in 5E?: Your spell attack bonus is calculated by adding your spellcasting ability modifier and your proficiency bonus.
  4. Can you extra attack with a cantrip?: Yes, but only if you have a feature that allows you to cast a cantrip as an extra attack, such as the New Bladesinger class feature.
  5. What is the spell attack rule in D&D?: Your spell attack is calculated by adding your spellcasting ability modifier and your proficiency bonus.
  6. Can you use Eldritch Blast twice with extra attack?: No, Eldritch Blast is a spell that is cast using the Cast a Spell action, which is different from the Attack action.
  7. Can you use 2 cantrips in one turn?: Yes, but only if you have a feature that allows you to cast multiple cantrips in one turn.
  8. Does spell attack bonus apply to cantrips?: Yes, but only to cantrips that require an attack roll.
  9. Can you hold an extra attack in 5e?: No, Extra Attack is not an action that can be readied.
  10. How do you use spell attack modifier 5e?: You add your spell attack modifier to your attack roll when casting a spell that requires an attack roll.
  11. Can you use extra attack and a bonus action?: Yes, Extra Attack does not prevent you from taking a bonus action.
  12. Do spells count as an attack?: No, spells are not considered attacks unless they require an attack roll.
  13. Do you add spell attack to hit?: Yes, you add your spell attack modifier to your attack roll when casting a spell that requires an attack roll.
  14. What is the spell attack modifier in D&D?: Your spell attack modifier is calculated by adding your spellcasting ability modifier and your proficiency bonus.
  15. Can you infinitely use cantrips?: Yes, cantrips can be cast an unlimited number of times, unless a feature specifically limits their use.

Conclusion

In conclusion, Extra Attack features do not apply to spells, as they require the Attack action, which is different from the Cast a Spell action. Understanding the difference between these two actions is essential for playing D&D effectively. By following the rules and guidelines outlined in this article, players can make the most of their characters’ abilities and have a more enjoyable gaming experience.

Leave a Comment