Can You Flicker a Creature Token? The Ins and Outs of Token Flicker in Magic: The Gathering
Yes, you absolutely can flicker a creature token in Magic: The Gathering. However, the result might not be what you expect. While you can target a creature token with a “flicker” effect (which, in Magic terms, means exiling it and then returning it to the battlefield), the token will not return.
The Ephemeral Nature of Tokens
This is due to the fundamental nature of tokens in Magic. Tokens are only designed to exist on the battlefield. When a token is moved to any zone other than the battlefield – whether it’s the graveyard, exile, your hand, or the command zone – it ceases to exist. This is a core rule of the game that governs how tokens behave.
So, while you can cast a “flicker” spell targeting a creature token, the sequence of events unfolds like this:
- The flicker spell or ability targets the creature token.
- The creature token is exiled.
- Upon entering the exile zone, the game checks state-based actions.
- The game notices that the token is in a zone other than the battlefield.
- The token immediately ceases to exist.
- The “return it to the battlefield” part of the flicker effect has nothing to return, as the token is already gone.
Therefore, flickering a token essentially amounts to removing it from the battlefield permanently. It can be a strategic play in some situations, especially if you need to get rid of a problematic token or if there’s a triggered ability that activates when a creature leaves the battlefield.
Strategic Implications of Flickering Tokens
While it might seem like a useless action at first glance, flickering a token can have strategic applications:
- Triggering “Leaves the Battlefield” Abilities: If you have a card that triggers when a creature leaves the battlefield, flickering a token will activate that ability.
- Disrupting Opponents: Sometimes, simply removing a token from the board can disrupt your opponent’s plans, even if it’s just a temporary stall.
- Combos: There are niche combos involving tokens and “leaves the battlefield” effects that can be exploited.
- Dodging Negative Auras: If your token creature is enchanted with a detrimental Aura, flickering it will remove the Aura as the token ceases to exist when exiled, thus avoiding negative repercussions.
- Preventing Regeneration: Since tokens can’t go to the graveyard from the exile zone, it can be used to permanently remove a token creature that has regeneration abilities.
Now, let’s dive into some frequently asked questions to further clarify the intricacies of flickering creature tokens.
Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs) about Flickering Tokens
Q1: What happens if I flicker a token that’s equipped?
When a token is flickered and then ceases to exist, any equipment attached to it are unequipped. The equipment will remain on the battlefield, but will no longer be attached to anything. This is because the equipped creature no longer exists.
Q2: Does flickering a token trigger both “enter the battlefield” (ETB) and “leave the battlefield” (LTB) triggers?
No. Since the token ceases to exist when it enters the exile zone, it does not return to the battlefield. Therefore, the flicker only triggers effects that look for when a permanent leaves the battlefield, not when it enters. This interaction can create unique strategies using leave-the-battlefield triggers and token generation. You can find more information about strategic game play at the Games Learning Society website or GamesLearningSociety.org.
Q3: Can I flicker a token to get rid of an Aura attached to it?
Yes, this is a valid strategy. As mentioned earlier, if a token is enchanted by an Aura and then flickered, the token will cease to exist in the exile zone, effectively detaching and eliminating the Aura. The Aura will then go to its owner’s graveyard.
Q4: If I flicker a token copy of a creature, what happens?
The token still ceases to exist in exile, just like any other token. Whether it’s a copy of a legendary creature or a simple 1/1, the rule applies universally to all tokens.
Q5: Can I use a “flicker” effect to prevent a token creature from being destroyed by a spell or ability?
Yes, you can. If a token is targeted by a removal spell, you can respond by flickering the token. When the flicker effect resolves, the token goes to exile and ceases to exist. Then the removal spell fizzles, as its target is no longer legal. This is because the token creature targeted by the removal spell is no longer on the battlefield.
Q6: What happens if I flicker a token that is also a planeswalker?
If a token is created that is also a planeswalker, the same rules apply. It will be exiled, cease to exist, and not return to the battlefield.
Q7: Can I flicker a token commander?
If your commander is a token, flickering it will remove it from the game entirely, as tokens cease to exist when they leave the battlefield. Token Commanders will then go to the exile zone, and cease to exist. They cannot be returned to the command zone.
Q8: Does “flickering” a token cause summoning sickness?
Since the token does not return to the battlefield, summoning sickness is not relevant. Summoning sickness only applies to creatures that enter the battlefield and attempt to attack or use abilities with the tap symbol on the turn they entered the battlefield.
Q9: If I flicker a mutated token creature, what happens?
If a token creature has been mutated, flickering it will cause it to be exiled and cease to exist. Because the token is no longer on the battlefield, the mutation unattaches. If the non-token part of the mutated creature is still on the battlefield, it will still be there, but will no longer be mutated.
Q10: Can I use a flicker effect to protect a token creature from an effect that says “sacrifice a creature”?
No, you cannot protect a token creature from a sacrifice effect by flickering it. Sacrifice effects require a player to choose a creature they control and put it into the graveyard. Flickering in response to a sacrifice effect will not stop the effect, as the player is simply choosing to send the token to the graveyard. The token will still be sacrificed.
Q11: If I flicker a creature token, does it trigger effects that count creatures entering the graveyard?
No, it does not. Because the creature token ceases to exist, it does not enter the graveyard at any time. It is sent to the exile zone, and then ceases to exist. Therefore, effects that trigger when creatures enter the graveyard will not trigger.
Q12: Can I flicker a token with indestructible?
Yes, you can flicker a token with indestructible. Although indestructible means a permanent can’t be destroyed by damage or “destroy” effects, flickering it will still send it to the exile zone, where it will cease to exist, despite its indestructible status.
Q13: Does flickering a token creature remove counters?
Yes, flickering a token creature will remove all counters from it. When a permanent is exiled and ceases to exist, all counters on it are removed.
Q14: If I flicker a token creature, can I play it again from exile?
No, you cannot play it again from exile. Once a token ceases to exist after being exiled, it is gone permanently. There is no way to bring it back into play unless a new token is created.
Q15: Does flickering a token interrupt an infinite combo?
It depends on the combo. In some cases, flickering a token can disrupt a combo by removing a crucial piece. However, if the combo relies on tokens being created and destroyed repeatedly, flickering an existing token may not stop the combo entirely, but rather simply delay it. The effectiveness of flickering a token to interrupt a combo depends on the specifics of the combo itself.
In conclusion, while you can target a creature token with a flicker effect, the token will not return to the battlefield. This is because tokens cease to exist when they leave the battlefield. However, flickering a token can still be a useful strategy in certain situations. It can trigger “leaves the battlefield” abilities, remove auras, and protect the token from certain removal effects.