Can You Have Multiple Legendary Creatures with the Same Name? Exploring the Legend Rule in Magic: The Gathering
The short and direct answer is: No, you cannot control multiple legendary creatures with the exact same name on the battlefield at the same time. This rule, known as the Legend Rule, is a fundamental aspect of Magic: The Gathering (MTG) gameplay and significantly impacts deck building and strategic decisions. When you break this rule, you will immediately be forced to choose which copy to keep and which copy(s) you must send to their owner’s graveyard. It’s a state-based action, meaning it happens automatically, without allowing any player to respond with spells or abilities. Let’s dive deeper into how this rule works and other similar restrictions.
The Core of the Legend Rule
The Legend Rule is defined in the comprehensive rules of Magic: The Gathering as follows: “If a player controls two or more legendary permanents with the same name, that player chooses one of them, and the rest are put into their owners’ graveyards.” This rule applies to all legendary permanents, not just creatures. This means it covers legendary lands, artifacts, enchantments, and planeswalkers as well. The key here is the phrase “with the same name.”
What Defines “Same Name”?
The rule is explicit about what constitutes having the “same name.” According to the rules: “Two or more objects have the same name if they have at least one name in common, even if one or more of those objects have additional names.” This clarifies that if two cards share any part of their name, for example “Jace, the Mind Sculptor” and “Jace, Unraveler of Secrets,” it does not trigger the Legend Rule, because those cards are not exactly the same name. However, two “Jace, the Mind Sculptor” will trigger the Legend Rule. An object with no name doesn’t have the same name as any other object, including another object with no name.
When the Legend Rule Triggers
The Legend Rule is a state-based action. This means it is automatically checked whenever a player would receive priority. For those new to Magic, priority is the point in the game when players can cast spells and activate abilities. However, state-based actions are checked before the active player receives priority. This means that if a player ends up controlling multiple legendary permanents with the same name, they won’t get a chance to do anything else before having to choose which permanent to keep and send the rest to their respective graveyards. There’s no opportunity to use activated abilities or instant spells in response. This means the rule happens almost instantaneously.
The Impact of Copy Effects
Cards like Sakashima the Impostor, Olag, Ludevic’s Hubris, and the Lazav cards (Lazav, Dimir Mastermind and Lazav, the Multifarious) and even Sarkhan, Soul Aflame can copy other creatures but maintain their own names. This means, technically, you could have two copies of the same legendary creature with the same functionality on the battlefield, but the copy effect will not circumvent the Legend Rule. Once the copy enters the battlefield, the game checks for state-based actions and automatically forces the player to choose one copy to keep, and to put the other copy into its owner’s graveyard. This highlights that the rule is not about having the same creature on the battlefield, it is about having the same name.
Legendary Supertype vs. Creature Subtype
It is also important to note that Legendary is a supertype, not a subtype. This distinction matters because supertypes and subtypes have different functionalities. A creature can have a subtype like “Goblin,” “Elf,” or “Human,” but they can also have a supertype like “Legendary.” You cannot choose “Legendary” as a creature subtype. This supertype dictates the Legend Rule.
The Legend Rule and Planeswalkers
Planeswalkers once had their own separate “Planeswalker Uniqueness Rule,” but it was integrated into the Legend Rule. Thus, there are now very similar rules for both Legendary Creatures and Planeswalkers. You can not control multiple planeswalkers with the same name at the same time. For example, you cannot control two copies of “Jace, the Mind Sculptor.” However, you can have a “Jace, the Mind Sculptor,” and a “Jace, Unraveler of Secrets” out simultaneously because they have different names, despite being both the same Planeswalker in lore.
Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)
1. Can I have two legendary lands with the same name?
No, the Legend Rule applies to all legendary permanents, including lands. You cannot control multiple legendary lands with the same name simultaneously.
2. Does the Legend Rule force a player to sacrifice?
No, the Legend Rule doesn’t use the term “sacrifice.” It forces you to put the other copies of the legendary permanent directly into your owner’s graveyard.
3. Does the Legend Rule affect only my cards?
Yes, the Legend Rule only applies to permanents controlled by the same player. If two different players each control a legendary permanent with the same name, the Legend Rule won’t trigger.
4. Can I have multiple legendary creatures in a Commander deck?
Yes, you can have multiple legendary creatures in a Commander deck; in fact, you generally need quite a few. You can even have your commander plus as many legendary creatures as you can fit in your deck, all the way up to 100. But the Legend Rule is still in effect on the battlefield, and you must adhere to it.
5. Is “legendary” a card type?
No, “legendary” is a supertype, which is distinct from a card type (e.g., creature, artifact, land). Supertypes are printed directly before card types.
6. Can I have two of the same legendary artifacts on the field?
No. The Legend Rule affects all legendary permanents, including artifacts. You cannot control two legendary artifacts with the same name at the same time.
7. Can I play multiple planeswalkers on the field?
Yes, you can have many different planeswalkers on the battlefield. The only rule you have to remember is that you can’t control multiple copies of the same name of a planeswalker, even if they are different cards with different abilities.
8. Does Deathtouch work on planeswalkers?
No, Deathtouch only affects creatures, not planeswalkers. You need a specific ability to damage planeswalkers directly, like a planeswalker with direct damage or an ability that targets either a creature or a planeswalker.
9. What happens if a planeswalker has 0 loyalty?
If a planeswalker’s loyalty reaches 0, it is immediately put into its owner’s graveyard as a state-based action.
10. Is there a limit to how many planeswalkers I can have in my deck?
You can have up to four copies of any card in your deck, therefore you can have four copies of any planeswalker card. The only limit is the number of cards in your deck.
11. Can you use the Legend Rule on a planeswalker?
The Planeswalker Rule has been integrated into the Legend Rule. Both have the same effects and restrictions.
12. What happens to unused mana at the end of a turn?
Any unused mana in a player’s mana pool empties at the end of each step or phase. This is a turn-based action and does not use the stack.
13. What is a “Text-Changing Effect”?
Some cards have effects that change another card’s text box and/or type line. This is what is referred to as a “Text-Changing Effect”.
14. What is an “Instant Card”?
An instant card is a card that can be played at any time a player has priority.
15. Who were the first planeswalkers?
The first five planeswalkers that were printed were Ajani, Jace, Liliana, Chandra, and Garruk, collectively known as the Lorwyn Five.
Conclusion
The Legend Rule is a crucial aspect of Magic: The Gathering that prevents players from stacking multiple identical legendary permanents on the battlefield. It ensures that legendary cards retain a sense of uniqueness and strategic significance. Understanding the rule is essential for effective deck building, strategic gameplay, and navigating the intricacies of Magic: The Gathering. By keeping the Legend Rule in mind, players can craft unique and powerful decks that comply with the core rules of the game.