Can you move after bonus action?

Can You Move After a Bonus Action in D&D 5e? A Comprehensive Guide

Yes, you can generally move after taking a bonus action in D&D 5e. Your turn consists of movement, an action, and a bonus action (if you have one available), and you can usually perform these in any order you choose. This flexibility allows for dynamic combat scenarios and strategic decision-making. Let’s delve deeper into the intricacies of movement and bonus actions, exploring the rules and common scenarios where this comes into play.

Understanding the Core Mechanics

To fully grasp the relationship between movement and bonus actions, it’s crucial to understand the fundamental structure of a character’s turn in combat. A typical turn is comprised of the following components:

  • Movement: You can move up to your speed, which is determined by your race and any modifiers. This movement can be broken up before, after, or even between your action and bonus action.
  • Action: You can take one action on your turn. This is typically used for attacking, casting spells, dashing, or performing other significant tasks.
  • Bonus Action: A bonus action is an additional action that you can take if a specific ability, spell, or feature grants you one. Not every character has a bonus action available every turn.
  • Reaction: This is a special action that can be taken in response to a trigger, even outside of your turn.

The key takeaway is that you have considerable freedom in how you arrange these elements. There’s no mandatory sequence, allowing you to adapt to the evolving battlefield situation.

The Flexibility of Movement

The rules explicitly allow you to break up your movement. You don’t have to move your entire speed at once. This is incredibly useful for maneuvering around enemies, positioning yourself for advantageous attacks, or retreating to safety after taking an action or bonus action.

For example, if you have a speed of 30 feet, you could:

  1. Move 10 feet.
  2. Use your bonus action to cast healing word on an ally.
  3. Move the remaining 20 feet to take cover.

This is perfectly legal within the rules of D&D 5e.

Bonus Actions: A Closer Look

Bonus actions are granted by specific class features, spells, or feats. Some common examples include:

  • Two-Weapon Fighting: Allows you to make an additional attack with a light weapon in your off-hand.
  • Cunning Action (Rogue): Grants the ability to Dash, Disengage, or Hide as a bonus action.
  • Spells: Some spells, like healing word or spiritual weapon, are cast as bonus actions.

It’s important to remember that you can only take a bonus action if you have a feature that allows you to do so. You can’t simply decide to take a bonus action without a valid reason. You can only have one bonus action per turn.

Scenarios and Examples

Let’s look at some specific scenarios where moving after a bonus action is beneficial:

  • The Mobile Healer: A cleric can use their action to attack an enemy and then use healing word as a bonus action to heal an ally, moving into a safer position afterward.
  • The Cunning Rogue: A rogue can use their bonus action to Hide, then move to a new location to set up for a sneak attack on the next turn.
  • The Agile Fighter: A fighter with the Polearm Master feat can make an attack with a glaive, then use their bonus action to make an additional attack with the butt of the weapon, and then move away to maintain distance from the enemy.

Limitations and Considerations

While the flexibility of movement and bonus actions is a strength of the 5e system, there are some limitations:

  • Speed Reduction: Some bonus actions might impact your speed. For example, a feat might grant advantage on an attack roll as a bonus action, but reduce your speed to 0 for the rest of the turn if you haven’t moved already.
  • Specific Wording: Always pay close attention to the wording of the specific ability or spell that grants the bonus action. Some may have specific timing requirements or restrictions.
  • No “Interrupting” Actions: You generally can’t interrupt a single action with a bonus action. For example, you can’t swing a sword, use a bonus action, and then finish the sword attack. However, if an action grants multiple attacks, you can often insert movement or a bonus action between those attacks.

D&D Beyond and Other Resources

For clarification on specific rules and abilities, resources like D&D Beyond and the official Player’s Handbook are invaluable. They provide detailed explanations and examples to help you navigate the complexities of the game. Also remember resources like the Games Learning Society provide valuable community knowledge as well – check out GamesLearningSociety.org.

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)

1. Can I use my movement before my bonus action?

Yes, you can use your movement before taking a bonus action. You have the freedom to allocate your movement as you see fit throughout your turn.

2. Does a bonus action have to be at the end of my turn?

No, a bonus action does not have to be at the end of your turn. You can take it at any point during your turn, as long as you have an ability, spell, or feature that allows you to do so.

3. Can I move between multiple attacks granted by the Extra Attack feature, and then use a bonus action?

Yes, you can move between the attacks granted by the Extra Attack feature and then use a bonus action. The Extra Attack feature is part of your action. Since you can break up your movement between attacks within the Action, and you can separate your action and bonus action, it works perfectly.

4. If I use a bonus action spell, can I still move afterward?

Yes, you can still move after casting a spell as a bonus action, as long as you have movement remaining.

5. Can I Dash as a bonus action (e.g., as a Rogue) and then move even further with my regular movement?

Yes, if you Dash as a bonus action (like a Rogue with Cunning Action), you can use your regular movement to move even further. The Dash action doubles your speed for that turn.

6. Can I hide as a bonus action and then move to a new location?

Yes, if you have a feature that allows you to Hide as a bonus action (like a Rogue with Cunning Action), you can hide and then move to a new location.

7. Can I cast a cantrip as an action and then use a bonus action to move?

Yes, you can cast a cantrip as your action and then use a bonus action to move if you have an ability, spell, or feature that allows you to move as a bonus action (such as the Mobile feat).

8. If I have multiple bonus actions available, can I use them all on my turn?

No, you can only use one bonus action per turn, regardless of how many features or abilities grant you a bonus action.

9. Can I use a bonus action to attack and then move?

Yes, if you have a feature or ability that allows you to attack as a bonus action (like Two-Weapon Fighting), you can attack and then move, or move and then attack.

10. If a bonus action requires me to not move before using it, can I still move after?

Yes, if a bonus action has a condition that you can’t move before using it, you can still move after taking the bonus action, provided you have movement remaining.

11. Can I use a bonus action in the middle of an action?

Generally, you cannot interrupt a single action with a bonus action. You can typically only insert a bonus action between attacks within an action.

12. Can I ready an action and still move on my turn?

Yes, you can ready an action on your turn and still move, as long as you only take your normal move and don’t use your action to Dash.

13. If I have a feature that grants me an extra bonus action, can I use it to move?

No, bonus actions can only be used to take actions that are specifically designated as bonus actions. Extra bonus actions don’t grant additional movement.

14. Does the order of movement, action, and bonus action matter strategically?

Yes, the order of your movement, action, and bonus action can significantly impact your strategy. Positioning, threat assessment, and enemy actions all influence the optimal sequence.

15. Can I cast two cantrips in one turn if one is a bonus action?

Yes, you can cast two cantrips in one turn if one is cast as a bonus action, and the other is cast as an action. The cantrip cast as an action must have a casting time of one action.

Conclusion

The interaction between movement and bonus actions in D&D 5e provides a dynamic and strategic layer to combat. Mastering these rules allows you to optimize your character’s actions and adapt to the ever-changing circumstances of the game. Remember to consult the rules, resources like Games Learning Society, and the DM when in doubt, and always prioritize clear communication with your fellow players to ensure a smooth and enjoyable gaming experience.

Leave a Comment