Can you Multi-Attack with a prepared action?

Can You Multi-Attack with a Prepared Action? A Deep Dive into D&D Combat Rules

The short answer is no, you cannot use the Multiattack action as part of a prepared action in Dungeons and Dragons 5th Edition (D&D 5e). The rules are quite specific: when you use your action to Ready, you can only take one action. Multiattack, by definition, is a single action that allows for multiple attacks. Preparing it would violate the fundamental principle of the Ready action.

However, the specifics of action economy and timing in D&D can sometimes be confusing. Let’s delve deeper into the reasoning behind this restriction and explore related scenarios that often arise in gameplay. Understanding the nuances of the Ready action and its limitations is crucial for both players and Dungeon Masters (DMs).

Why Multiattack Can’t Be Readied

The Ready action allows you to choose a trigger and an action you will take in response to that trigger. Crucially, the rule states that the action must be something you are normally capable of doing on your turn. While creatures with the Multiattack feature can use that action on their turn, readying it introduces a problem.

The core issue lies in the inherent nature of Multiattack. It’s a single action that bundles multiple attacks. When you Ready an action, you are essentially holding back that action until the specified trigger occurs. D&D 5e is designed to limit what you can do with a single, readied action. Allowing Multiattack to be readied would grant a significant advantage, potentially upsetting the balance of combat. It would allow a creature to effectively double its attack output in a round, as it could still potentially attack on its own turn as well. This would undermine the action economy, which is a cornerstone of D&D’s combat system.

Furthermore, allowing Multiattack to be readied could lead to complex and potentially exploitable scenarios. Imagine a creature with the Multiattack action preparing to attack whenever an enemy comes within reach. This could effectively lock down an area, forcing players to waste resources or risk being repeatedly attacked, disrupting the flow and fairness of the game.

The rules are specifically designed to prevent this kind of action stacking and maintain a balanced and predictable combat environment. The focus remains on each character using their limited actions effectively and strategically.

What Can Be Readied Instead

While Multiattack is off the table, you can still ready individual attack actions. This means a Fighter, for instance, could Ready the Attack action and make a single weapon attack when their trigger occurs. This is a legal and effective way to respond to a situation that might unfold during combat.

Spells are another common choice for the Ready action. A Wizard could ready a Fireball spell, setting the trigger as “when three or more enemies are grouped together.” This allows them to unleash a powerful area-of-effect attack at the most opportune moment, maximizing its impact.

Other options include readying movement, casting a buff spell on an ally when they’re targeted by an attack, or using an item when a specific condition is met. The possibilities are vast, but the key limitation is always: one action.

The Importance of Understanding Action Economy

The core reasoning behind the limitation on the Ready action, and the inability to Multiattack with it, ultimately stems from the importance of maintaining a balanced action economy. Every character has a limited number of actions, bonus actions, and reactions per turn. This system ensures that no single character can dominate the battlefield.

Allowing Multiattack as a readied action would effectively circumvent this limitation, giving a character an unfair advantage. It would create scenarios where one creature can unleash a disproportionate amount of damage in a single round, potentially wiping out opponents before they even have a chance to react. The rules, therefore, are specifically designed to prevent these kinds of imbalances.

By adhering to the rules and understanding the limitations of the Ready action, players and DMs can ensure a fair and engaging combat experience for everyone involved.

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)

Here are some common questions about the Ready action and Multiattack:

1. Can a creature with the Extra Attack feature make multiple attacks with a readied Attack action?

No. The Extra Attack feature allows you to make multiple attacks when you take the Attack action on your turn. When you Ready the Attack action, you are only making a single attack, not taking the full Attack action.

2. Can I ready a spell that allows me to make multiple attacks, like Scorching Ray?

Yes. Spells that involve multiple attacks, like Scorching Ray, are still valid options for the Ready action. The key is that you are readying the spell action, and the spell itself dictates the number of attacks.

3. What happens if my trigger doesn’t occur after I ready an action?

If your specified trigger doesn’t occur before the start of your next turn, the readied action is lost. You essentially wasted your action by waiting for something that never happened.

4. Can I change my readied action or trigger during combat?

No. Once you have declared your action and trigger, you cannot change them until your next turn. This prevents players from constantly changing their plans to react to every minor development.

5. Can I use my reaction to take another action on the same turn I used the Ready action?

Yes. The Ready action doesn’t use your reaction; it uses your action. You can still use your reaction for other things, such as opportunity attacks or certain spells.

6. Does readying an action delay my turn in the initiative order?

No. Readying an action doesn’t change your position in the initiative order. You simply interrupt the flow of combat when your trigger occurs.

7. Can I ready a bonus action?

No. You can only ready an action. Bonus actions are distinct from actions and cannot be readied.

8. Can a Rogue ready their Sneak Attack?

Yes, but only if the requirements for Sneak Attack are met when the readied attack is made. This usually involves having an ally adjacent to the target or having advantage on the attack roll.

9. Can I use the Help action as a readied action?

Yes. The Help action is a valid choice for the Ready action. You can ready to help an ally with a task or attack when a specific condition is met.

10. If I ready an attack and my target moves out of range before my trigger occurs, what happens?

If your target is no longer within range when your trigger occurs, your readied action is wasted. You cannot make the attack if the target is unreachable.

11. Can I ready an action to disengage?

Yes. You can ready the Disengage action to move away from an enemy when a specific trigger occurs, such as being attacked.

12. Can a Paladin ready a Divine Smite to add to their readied attack?

Yes, a Paladin can ready an attack and choose to add Divine Smite when the readied attack connects, provided they have spell slots available.

13. If a creature has a special action, like a dragon’s breath weapon, can that be readied?

Yes, as long as the special action is classified as an “Action” and not a bonus action or something else. A dragon could ready its breath weapon based on a trigger.

14. How does the Ready action interact with cover?

If your target has cover when you ready an attack, you still make the attack roll when the trigger occurs, and the cover provides its normal bonus to the target’s AC.

15. Can I ready an action to cast Counterspell?

Yes. Counterspell is often readied to react to an enemy spellcaster beginning to cast a spell. However, be aware that you’ll need to be able to see the spell being cast.

By understanding these rules and FAQs, players and DMs can navigate the complexities of the Ready action and make informed decisions during combat, ensuring a balanced and enjoyable gaming experience. Remember, the limitations are in place to maintain the integrity of the action economy and prevent unfair advantages.

Leave a Comment