Can You Play a Card with No Target in Magic: The Gathering?
The short answer is: it depends on the card. In Magic: The Gathering (MTG), whether you can play a card without a target hinges entirely on the card itself and its rules text. You cannot cast a spell that requires a target without a legal target present. However, many spells do not require targets, and you can certainly play them without choosing any. It’s a key distinction that impacts how you strategize and interact with the game. Let’s delve deeper into the specifics of targeting and card play.
Understanding Targeting in MTG
What Does “Target” Mean?
The word “target” is a crucial term in Magic: The Gathering. It’s not just about what you want to affect; it’s a game mechanic with specific rules attached. When a spell or ability uses the word “target [something],” it requires you to choose a specific object or player that it will affect. The rules dictate that you choose the target(s) as part of the process of putting the spell or ability on the stack.
When Do You Choose a Target?
Target choices are made during the casting of a spell or the activation of an ability. This happens immediately before the spell or ability goes onto the stack. Once on the stack, these targeted objects are locked in unless something specifically alters those targets.
Why Is Targeting Important?
Targeting is important because it interacts with other game mechanics like protection, shroud, and hexproof. If a creature has protection from red, for example, it cannot be targeted by a red spell. Similarly, a permanent with shroud cannot be targeted by any spells or abilities. Understanding the nuances of targeting is essential for advanced Magic play.
Cards with and Without Targets
Spells Requiring Targets
Many spells, particularly instants and sorceries, use the word “target.” These spells require you to choose the specific object or player to affect. For example, a spell like Lightning Bolt will require a target creature or player. If there are no legal targets available, you cannot cast the spell.
Spells Without Targets
Conversely, many spells do not use the word “target.” These spells affect game elements based on their effects, not chosen targets. For instance, a card like Day of Judgment, which destroys all creatures, doesn’t target. Instead, it affects everything on the battlefield that meets its criteria.
Activated and Triggered Abilities
It is crucial to note that the rules for targeting differ slightly for activated and triggered abilities. While you must choose a target when activating an ability if one is required, many activated and triggered abilities do not use the word “target.” For example, you can activate the ability of a creature to add mana without targeting anything.
Examples of Play
- Scenario 1: You have no creatures on the battlefield, and you want to cast Lightning Bolt. You must choose a legal target (a player or another creature) to cast the spell. If there is no legal target, you cannot cast the spell.
- Scenario 2: You have no creatures on the battlefield, and you want to cast Day of Judgment. You can cast this spell even though no creatures are present because it does not use the word “target.” It will still resolve and wipe the board.
- Scenario 3: You have a creature with an activated ability that says “Tap: Draw a card.” You can activate this ability even if you do not control any other cards because the ability does not use the word “target.”
FAQs: Diving Deeper into Targeting
1. What happens if a targeted spell’s target becomes illegal?
If a target becomes illegal before the spell resolves (e.g., the targeted creature is sacrificed or leaves the battlefield), the spell is countered upon resolution. The spell will go to the graveyard without taking effect.
2. Can I target my own spells?
Yes, generally you can target your own spells. There are some exceptions, such as cards that specifically say “target spell an opponent controls,” which limits the target options. But unless explicitly restricted, you can target your own spells with your own effects.
3. Do Equip abilities target?
Yes, the Equip ability of an Equipment card targets a creature. The rules text of the Equip ability directly includes the word “target”, confirming this. If the targeted creature becomes an illegal target, the equip ability will not resolve.
4. Does casting a spell count as playing a card?
Casting a spell is one form of playing a card. However, “playing a card” also includes putting a land card onto the battlefield during your turn. Therefore, not all played cards are spells but all cast spells are played cards.
5. Do counterspells target?
Yes, most counterspells, such as Counterspell itself, target the spell they are intended to counter. You cannot counter a spell that is not targeted by your counterspell.
6. Do I need to target to sacrifice a creature?
This depends on the card. If a spell or ability uses the word ‘target’ to denote which creature gets sacrificed, the answer is yes. Conversely, if the effect says ‘sacrifice a creature,’ it does not require you to target.
7. Can I activate an ability with no targets?
Yes, you can activate an ability without a target if the ability doesn’t require a target. Many abilities, especially activated abilities like tapping a permanent for mana, do not use the word “target” and do not require one.
8. What is the difference between “choose” and “target”?
In Magic, “choose” and “target” are different. When you “target” something, that object is specifically affected by the ability or spell. When you “choose” something, the object is usually selected as the effect resolves, and often doesn’t include any of the limitations that targeting has.
9. Can I cast a spell that copies a targeted spell without a target?
The answer is generally no. If the original spell requires a target, then the copy also needs a target. Spells like Fork will copy the original spell and its target, or let you pick new targets if applicable.
10. Do Planeswalkers have “summoning sickness”?
No. Only creatures have summoning sickness. A planeswalker can use its abilities immediately after entering the battlefield (so long as it’s your turn and the planeswalker has enough loyalty to activate an ability.)
11. What does the term “owner” of a card mean?
The owner of a card in the game is the player who started the game with it in their deck. If a card was brought into the game from outside the game, its owner is the player who brought it in.
12. Do effects that do not target resolve if there is no legal effect?
Yes. For instance, if you cast Day of Judgment with no creatures on the battlefield it will still resolve, and it just does nothing. It doesn’t require a target in order to resolve, unlike many targeted removal cards that would not resolve if they had no target.
13. What does MTG Rule 114.5 mean?
Rule 114.5 states that spells and abilities which can have zero or more targets are still treated as targeted spells or abilities, even if they have no target.
14. Is voting targeting in MTG?
No, voting in MTG is not targeting. Players may vote for anything, regardless of protection or shroud status. The voting process is separate from the usual targeting rules.
15. Do Field Spells need to be face up to resolve?
Yes. Continuous spell/traps and field spells need to be face up in order to resolve their effects.
Conclusion
Understanding the mechanics of targeting is fundamental to playing Magic: The Gathering effectively. You cannot cast a spell requiring a target without a legal target present, but you can certainly cast spells that do not require targets regardless of game board state. It is also very important to remember the distinction between the word “target” and “choose” in card text, as they have specific meanings and applications. With a good grasp of these rules, you can make informed decisions in your games and gain a competitive edge.