Can You Play Two Lands in Magic: The Gathering?
The short answer is: usually, no, you cannot play two lands in a single turn. The fundamental rule in Magic: The Gathering (MTG) is that a player can typically play only one land during their turn. This is a cornerstone of the game’s design, controlling the rate at which players can develop their mana base and, consequently, cast more powerful spells. However, like many rules in MTG, there are exceptions. These exceptions come in the form of specific card abilities and effects that explicitly allow you to play additional lands in a turn. Understanding these rules and exceptions is crucial to mastering the game.
The One-Land-Per-Turn Rule
The core rule that dictates land play is straightforward: during each of your main phases, if the stack is empty, you can choose to play one land from your hand. This is a permission, not a requirement. You don’t have to play a land if you don’t want to, but you are limited to playing only one unless an ability or effect grants you an exception. This rule is what governs the natural progression of the game. Without this limitation, players could accelerate their mana development incredibly fast, potentially making the game unbalanced and much shorter.
What Does “Play” Mean?
It’s crucial to distinguish between “playing” a land and “putting” a land onto the battlefield. “Playing” a land refers specifically to taking a land card from your hand and putting it onto the battlefield during your main phase. When the game text uses the term “put,” such as “put a land onto the battlefield,” this usually circumvents the one-land-per-turn rule. This distinction is very important, and often the cause of some confusion.
Exceptions: Playing Multiple Lands
While the rule of playing one land per turn is usually in place, there are cards that allow you to bend the rules. These cards are often very powerful and sought after. These exceptions usually take the form of:
- Abilities that say you can play an extra land: Some cards, usually permanents or spells, explicitly state: “You may play an additional land on each of your turns.” Cards like [[Exploration]] or [[Azusa, Lost but Seeking]] allow you to play more than one land each turn.
- Effects that “put” lands onto the battlefield: Spells and abilities that allow you to “put” lands directly onto the battlefield (rather than “play” them) bypass the one-land-per-turn rule. For example, [[Cultivate]] or [[Rampant Growth]] let you get a land from your deck and place it on the battlefield, effectively increasing the amount of lands on the board beyond what the land-per-turn rule normally allows.
- Playing lands from zones other than your hand: There are abilities that allow you to play lands from other zones, for example, your graveyard. Muldrotha, the Gravetide, lets you play one land from your graveyard, but this does not mean that you can play two lands in the same turn. You must still adhere to the rule of one land play per turn. The ability only lets you play a land from the graveyard instead of a land from your hand.
It is important to note the difference between using an effect that says “you may play” and using an effect that says “put” as these differ significantly.
The Importance of Understanding Land Play
Land play is the lifeblood of Magic: The Gathering. Without lands, you can’t cast spells. Therefore, understanding the intricacies of when, how, and how many lands you can play each turn is fundamental to developing a good strategy. The ability to manipulate land play is often a key component to winning games, as it allows a player to gain an advantage over their opponent.
Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)
Here are some frequently asked questions regarding land play in MTG:
1. Can I play a land as an instant?
No. Lands can only be played during your main phase, when the stack is empty. They cannot be played in response to other spells or abilities, thus they cannot be played at “instant” speed.
2. Does “putting” a land into play use my land for turn?
No. When a card uses the word “put” to bring a land onto the battlefield, it does not count toward your one-land-per-turn limit. You can do so even if you have played a land already for your turn.
3. If I play a card that lets me play additional lands, can I play more than two lands on my turn?
Yes, if a card allows you to play “additional lands”, you can play as many as that specific card allows. For instance, if you have two cards in play that allow you to play an additional land, you may play three lands in one turn.
4. Can I play a land in my opponent’s turn?
No. The rule states that you can play one land during your turn. Unless a card specifically allows you to play a land outside of your turn, you are unable to do so.
5. If I have multiple lands with the same name, can I play them all?
No. The “Legend Rule” applies to lands with the same name. You can have them in your deck, but if you have more than one on the battlefield, you choose one to keep and send the rest to your graveyard.
6. Do dual lands count as two lands?
No. Dual lands count as one land, just like basic lands. They may have two land types and tap for two different types of mana but they are still just one land.
7. Can I play lands off the stack?
No, you cannot play lands on the stack. You play lands during your main phase when the stack is empty.
8. Does tapping a land pass priority?
Tapping a land to generate mana is an activated ability, and follows the rules for activated abilities. Tapping a land for mana while you have priority does trigger another round of priority.
9. What is the rule 305.7 in Magic?
Rule 305.7 states that when an effect sets a land’s subtype to a basic land type (like “Plains”), it loses its old abilities, rules text, and old land types. It gains the mana ability associated with each of the basic land types it becomes.
10. Does Muldrotha allow me to play two lands in a turn?
No, Muldrotha allows you to play one land from your graveyard but you still adhere to the rule that you can only play one land in a turn.
11. Can dual-faced cards be played as lands?
Some double-faced cards have a land on one side. You can play them on either side. If you play the land side, it counts as your one land for turn.
12. What is the “Legend Rule” and how does it apply to land?
The “Legend Rule” dictates that if you control two or more legendary permanents with the same name, you must choose one to keep, and the rest are placed into the graveyard. This applies to legendary lands as well.
13. How many lands should I have in my deck?
This depends on your deck, but the general rule of thumb is to have between 33 and 42 lands in a 100-card commander deck, and around 25 or 26 lands in a standard 60-card deck.
14. What are fetch lands and why are they good?
Fetch lands are lands that allow you to search your deck for specific land types. This helps with mana fixing and shuffling your deck to optimize future draws. They are highly valued in MTG.
15. What is the difference between “play” and “put” when referring to lands?
“Play” refers to playing a land from your hand during your main phase. “Put” means an effect places a land onto the battlefield, bypassing the one-land-per-turn rule.
Conclusion
While the standard rule is to play only one land per turn, there are many exceptions within Magic: The Gathering that can be exploited to your advantage. Understanding how and when to utilize these exceptions is crucial to developing good strategies and ultimately, winning your games. Be sure to always check the card text carefully to understand the implications of an effect.