Can You Polymorph a Wild Shape? Unraveling the Shapechanging Enigmas in D&D
The answer to whether you can polymorph a creature currently under the effect of a druid’s Wild Shape is edition-dependent, and even within editions, it can be nuanced. In general, the ability to polymorph a Wild Shaped creature often hinges on specific rulings within each edition of Dungeons & Dragons (D&D) and how the DM interprets the rules. Let’s dive into a detailed exploration across editions:
- 3.5 Edition: Under the 3.5 edition rules, a druid cannot use their Wild Shape ability if they are already under the effects of a spell that alters their form, such as polymorph. Conversely, the text suggests that shapeshifters automatically succeed on saving throws against polymorph spells. The reasoning is that they are already magically altering their form. Therefore, the “cleanest” answer is generally no, you cannot polymorph a Wild Shaped druid, as their intrinsic shapechanging ability offers resistance.
- 5th Edition: In 5th Edition (5e), the interaction is more direct. The Polymorph spell transforms a creature into a beast. If a druid is in Wild Shape as a beast, the Polymorph spell can theoretically target them. However, it is important to note that the druid could use their reaction to revert to their original form before the spell takes effect, assuming they are conscious and able to react. If they do not react, they are subject to the spell. This is a significant divergence from the resistance implied in earlier editions.
Ultimately, the final determination rests with the DM, as they interpret and apply the rules. Understanding the core mechanics of each ability – Wild Shape and Polymorph – is crucial in making a fair and consistent ruling.
Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)
1. Can a Druid Cast Polymorph?
Yes, a druid can learn and cast the Polymorph spell, as it appears on the druid’s spell list. Other classes such as bards, sorcerers, and wizards can also cast Polymorph. It requires a verbal (V), somatic (S), and material (M) component—a caterpillar cocoon.
2. What’s the Difference Between Wild Shape and Polymorph?
Wild Shape is a druid-specific ability that allows them to transform into beasts they’ve seen before, as restricted by their level and Circle. Polymorph, on the other hand, is a spell that can transform a creature into any beast whose Challenge Rating (CR) is equal to or less than the target’s level or CR. Unlike Wild Shape, Polymorph doesn’t require the caster to have seen the beast before (in 5e).
3. If a Creature Has the Shapechanger Trait, Can It Be Polymorphed?
The effect of the Polymorph spell on a creature with the shapechanger trait depends on the DM‘s interpretation. According to the spell description, shapechangers should be affected; however, DMs might choose to grant them advantage on the saving throw or immunity, based on how intrinsic the shapechanging ability is.
4. Can You Polymorph a Werewolf?
A werewolf can polymorph between its humanoid, wolf-humanoid hybrid, and wolf forms using its action. The Polymorph spell, if successfully cast, would override their natural shapechanging ability, turning them into a beast as per the spell’s restrictions.
5. What is the Strongest Creature You Can Polymorph Into?
Using the standard Polymorph spell, you can only transform a creature into a beast. The highest CR beast form available in the Monster Manual is the Tyrannosaurus Rex at CR 8. True Polymorph offers broader possibilities as it allows for transformations into creatures of other types based on CR and level restrictions.
6. Are Dragons Immune to Polymorph?
No, dragons are not inherently immune to the Polymorph spell. However, older dragons often have high saving throws and may possess Legendary Resistance, which allows them to automatically succeed on a failed saving throw. If successfully polymorphed, a dragon loses all its features temporarily.
7. What’s the Difference Between Morph and Polymorph?
“Morph” generally refers to a partial or limited change in shape or appearance, affecting one or a few aspects. “Polymorph,” in contrast, implies a complete or substantial change in form, transforming most aspects of the creature.
8. Can True Polymorph Change Your Race?
By RAW (Rules as Written), True Polymorph cannot directly change your race because player characters do not have Challenge Ratings (CRs). However, it can effectively do this by transforming the character into another creature type and permanently maintaining the change. Be sure to consult with your DM, as this can drastically alter the game narrative.
9. Can You Polymorph Into an Owlbear?
No, you cannot use the Polymorph spell to transform into an owlbear. An owlbear is classified as a monstrosity, not a beast, and the Polymorph spell is limited to beasts. Only True Polymorph could be used, subject to its restrictions.
10. Can You Polymorph Into a Dragon?
The standard Polymorph spell does not allow you to transform into a dragon. The spell specifies that you can only turn into beasts. True Polymorph, a 9th-level spell, allows you to transform into a creature of a different type, including a dragon, provided you meet the CR requirements.
11. Does Polymorph Cancel Wild Shape?
Yes, in D&D 3.5 edition, if a druid is affected by the Polymorph spell while in Wild Shape, the Wild Shape form is cancelled, and the druid takes on the new form dictated by the Polymorph spell. The text implies that Wild Shaped druids should be resistant to Polymorph, so this depends on the DM‘s judgement.
12. What Is the Most Powerful Druid Wild Shape?
The “most powerful” Wild Shape depends on the situation and the druid’s level. Generally, forms with high CR and useful abilities are favored. Some top contenders include:
- Mammoth (CR 6)
- Fire Elemental (CR 5)
- Water Elemental (CR 5)
- Giant Crocodile (CR 5)
13. Can a Druid Wild Shape Into a Tarrasque?
Absolutely not! Druids can only Wild Shape into beasts or elementals. The Tarrasque is a monstrosity, which is a different creature type. Furthermore, Wild Shape is limited to forms with a Challenge Rating lower than the druid’s level and is capped at CR 6. The Tarrasque has a CR of 30.
14. Can You Awaken a Polymorphed Creature?
Yes, you can cast Awaken on a polymorphed creature. The Awaken spell requires a beast or plant as its target. When the polymorph ends, however, the effect of Awaken may also end if the creature no longer meets the requirements of the spell.
15. Can Metallic Dragons Be Evil?
While generally metallic dragons are of good alignment, and chromatic dragons tend to be evil, exceptions do exist. Intelligent creatures can choose their own actions and motivations, meaning a metallic dragon could be evil, though it goes against their inherent nature. Remember that D&D is about storytelling, and these deviations can make for compelling narratives.
Delving into the intricacies of shapechanging mechanics in D&D provides a deeper understanding of the game’s rules and possibilities. This also highlights the importance of collaboration, creativity, and problem-solving, skills that transcend the game itself. To explore more about the benefits of gaming and learning, visit the Games Learning Society at GamesLearningSociety.org. Understanding the nuances of the rules can enhance gameplay and foster a more engaging and enriching experience for all involved.