Can you polymorph into a mammoth?

Can You Polymorph Into a Mammoth? A Comprehensive Guide

The short answer is: it depends on which form of “polymorph” we are talking about, and your specific game rules. The long answer is a little more complex and dives into the nuances of the Dungeons & Dragons (D&D) 5th Edition rules, primarily concerning the Polymorph and True Polymorph spells and the mechanics of Wild Shape for Druids. Let’s explore the specifics.

Polymorph vs. True Polymorph

Understanding the difference between Polymorph and True Polymorph is crucial in answering this question.

Polymorph

The Polymorph spell allows a caster to transform a creature (including themselves) into a beast with a Challenge Rating (CR) equal to or lower than the target’s CR or level, if the target doesn’t have a challenge rating. Here’s where the complication arises regarding mammoths.

Currently, in the official 5th Edition D&D bestiaries, there is no officially recognized mammoth stat block categorized as a beast. The closest analog, if you’re allowed to flavor it as such, is often the Tyrannosaurus Rex, which has a CR of 8. If a mammoth were ever added as an official creature and categorized as a beast, that would be the limiting factor. If your DM allows homebrew content, your DM could allow it to exist within the game as a beast with an agreed upon CR and corresponding stats.

Therefore, under standard rules, you cannot polymorph into a mammoth, or anything resembling a true mammoth stat block because there is no such creature currently listed in the 5th edition books.

True Polymorph

On the other hand, True Polymorph is a much more powerful spell with fewer restrictions. This spell allows you to transform a creature into any other creature of the same size or smaller, as long as the new creature’s CR is 9 or lower, or an object into a creature of CR 9 or lower. The creature you create is friendly to you and your companions.

Therefore, if a mammoth were to ever be officially stated as a creature with a CR of 9 or less, you could use True Polymorph to become one. Otherwise, you could use it on an object to create a mammoth.

Wild Shape and Mammoths

The Wild Shape ability of a Druid presents yet another twist to this scenario. While Druids can transform into beasts, they are limited by both their level and the specific animal’s challenge rating. Moon Druids are especially suited to combat based wild shapes, able to transform into higher CR creatures as they gain levels. However, again, this would require an officially stated mammoth stat block being present in the game which at the moment it is not.

Why the Mammoth Matters

The fascination with the idea of transforming into a mammoth stems from its immense size and power. The mammoth, with its tusks, thick hide, and earth-shaking stomp, represents a creature of primal might and is often sought out by players looking to maximize damage and tactical impact.

FAQs: Polymorph and Related Topics

Here are some frequently asked questions about polymorph, shapechanging, and related topics to further help you understand how transforming into a mammoth could or could not work:

1. What is the strongest creature I can Polymorph into?

Under standard rules, the strongest beast you can Polymorph into is the Tyrannosaurus Rex with a CR of 8. While not a mammoth, it is a powerful and frightening transformation.

2. Can I Polymorph into a Giant?

No, the Polymorph spell specifies the target must become a beast, and giants are classified as humanoids or giants, not beasts. Therefore, Polymorph cannot transform a creature into a giant.

3. What does Polymorph do to a creature?

Polymorph temporarily transforms a creature into any beast you choose that meets the CR requirements. The creature’s new form takes on the stats of the beast, while retaining its own mental statistics. The original creature does lose access to all class features, racial features, actions, and traits other than their mental score.

4. Can I use True Polymorph to turn an object into a Mammoth?

Yes, absolutely! True Polymorph allows you to transform an object into any creature whose CR is 9 or lower and who is also friendly to you and your companions. Therefore, if a mammoth had a stat block that was CR 9 or lower, you could use True Polymorph to transform an object into a mammoth. However, if the mammoth was CR 10 or higher, you could not.

5. Can dragons shapeshift?

Yes, metallic dragons have the ability to Change Shape into smaller animals or humanoids. This is how they interact with and observe the world without always attracting attention. Chromatic dragons generally do not have this ability.

6. Can I Polymorph a dragon?

Yes, you can Polymorph a dragon, but it loses all of its special features, becoming an ordinary beast based on CR. However, Polymorph has no effect on creatures with shapechanging abilities, or creatures with 0 hit points. The dragon’s legendary resistances and high saving throws also make it difficult to successfully polymorph one.

7. Can I polymorph into an Owlbear?

No, you cannot Polymorph into an Owlbear. Owlbears are classified as monstrosities, not beasts. Therefore, neither Polymorph nor Wild Shape (without specific optional class features that allow certain monstrosities) allow for this transformation.

8. Is there a permanent Polymorph?

Yes, if you maintain concentration on True Polymorph for the entire duration (1 hour), the transformation becomes permanent. However, a successful dispel magic of the 9th level will end the effect. Lower level dispel magics will require you to roll against each instance of the spell.

9. Can I Polymorph a Dragon Turtle?

Yes, you can Polymorph a Dragon Turtle into a beast, such as a sea turtle. However, the dragon turtle retains its awareness, even if it’s no longer in its monstrous form.

10. Can I Polymorph a werewolf?

You can Polymorph a werewolf, but it loses access to its shapeshifting form and reverts to a beast. However, if the werewolf’s current form is a wolf, or wolf humanoid hybrid, the spell has no effect.

11. Can you True Polymorph a Kraken?

Yes, you can use True Polymorph on a Kraken, but as soon as it dies in the new form, it is gone for good. The kraken does not revert back to its original state.

12. Can you True Polymorph into a legendary creature?

True Polymorph allows you to change a creature into a new creature. The spell does not specifically bar legendary creatures. The Shapechange spell does state that you do not keep legendary actions if you turn into a legendary creature but True Polymorph does not make that distinction. The DM will have to adjudicate.

13. Can I cast Polymorph on myself?

Yes, you can Polymorph yourself, and you can maintain the transformation unless you drop to 0 hit points or lose concentration. You also revert at any time.

14. Can a Pixie cast Polymorph?

Yes, a pixie can cast the Polymorph spell using its innate magical abilities.

15. Can I Polymorph twice?

Yes, you can Polymorph a creature twice, provided they remain a valid target both times. True Polymorph can even be made permanent with successive casts and maintained concentration. However, each instance is its own spell, and must be individually dispelled.

Conclusion

While the idea of transforming into a mammoth is enticing, the current rules of D&D 5e make it impossible using Polymorph due to a lack of an official stat block and the spell’s restriction to beasts. True Polymorph can do it if the DM allows a specific stat block or the creature was CR 9 or less. Wild Shape also falls short unless a mammoth stat block is officially released as a beast, and your DM allows that creature to exist within your game. As the game evolves, new creatures and stat blocks may be added, so keep an eye on official releases. Until then, a T-Rex may have to be your go-to transformation for raw power.

Leave a Comment