Can you put a spell in a bag of holding?

Can You Stuff a Spell in a Bag of Holding? A Deep Dive into Magical Containment

The short answer? Probably not directly. While the Bag of Holding is a fantastic receptacle for swords, scrolls, and suspicious cheeses, it’s generally accepted that you can’t just bottle up a fireball and toss it in for later use. However, as with most things in D&D, the devil’s in the details, and there are nuances to explore. The article excerpt you provided highlights the complexity of interdimensional spaces and their interactions with magic.

The provided text explicitly states: “The second, more important problem is that the bag doesn’t permit free-flowing movement between dimensions anyway, so spells can’t be cast into it in the first place for lack of line of sight.” This strongly suggests a barrier prevents the direct transmission of magical energy or intent into the bag’s extradimensional space. Let’s break down why, and then explore some workarounds and corner cases.

The primary reason a spell likely can’t be directly stored in a Bag of Holding boils down to the nature of spellcasting itself. Spells require a line of sight to their target, and a clear path for magical energy. The Bag of Holding, being an extradimensional space, introduces a barrier that disrupts both of these.

  • Line of Sight Issues: The extradimensional space inside the Bag of Holding isn’t simply an extension of the physical space. It’s a separate reality, governed by its own rules (to a degree). The entrance to the bag acts as a portal, but not one that allows unimpeded vision. You can see into the bag, but that doesn’t mean you have a clear line of sight through it to cast a spell inside it.

  • Magical Interference: Even if line of sight wasn’t an issue, the very nature of the Bag of Holding’s extradimensional properties likely interferes with the channeling of magical energy. The weave of magic may not extend properly into the extradimensional space, or the bag itself might disrupt the necessary flows.

However, don’t despair, inventive adventurers! There are several indirect methods to achieve a similar effect, leveraging the Bag of Holding’s capacity for containing physical objects.

  • Scrolls and Spellbooks: The most obvious solution is to store spells in written form. Scrolls allow a caster to unleash a spell contained within, while spellbooks provide a readily accessible collection of known spells. Storing these in a Bag of Holding allows for easy transport of magical potential.

  • Magic Items with Stored Spells: Certain magic items, such as wands, staffs, or even specially crafted rings, can hold a limited number of spell charges. These can then be used at a later time. Stocking up on such items and storing them in a Bag of Holding is a viable strategy for magical preparedness.

  • Triggered Items: While you can’t cast a spell directly into the bag, you could potentially create a triggered item that releases a spell under specific circumstances. Imagine a pressure plate inside the bag that, when stepped on, activates a stored glyph of warding. This is a more complex and potentially risky approach, but it’s within the realm of possibility.

Ultimately, the ability to put a spell directly into a Bag of Holding is debatable and likely requires bending the rules significantly. However, the Bag of Holding remains an invaluable tool for any adventurer, offering a secure and portable storage solution for all manner of magical implements and arcane necessities. You might find it useful to explore the resources available at the Games Learning Society; visit GamesLearningSociety.org for more information on the intersection of gaming and education.

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs) About Bags of Holding and Spells

H3 What happens if I try to force a spell into a Bag of Holding?

While RAW (Rules as Written) doesn’t explicitly forbid the attempt, most DMs would likely rule that the spell simply fails, fizzles out, or perhaps even backfires slightly. The resistance of the extradimensional space would likely disrupt the spell’s formation. The outcome could depend on the spell, the caster’s level, and the DM’s interpretation.

H3 Can I use a Bag of Holding to contain a spell effect?

No, not generally. Spell effects, like fireball explosions or wall of force barriers, are transient magical phenomena. Once created, they exist in the normal plane and cannot be easily relocated or contained, especially not within an extradimensional space designed for physical objects.

H3 Could I put a magic item that constantly casts a spell inside a Bag of Holding?

Yes, you could, but the spell’s effect would likely be contained within the bag. The spell wouldn’t be projected outward unless the item was removed. Think of it like putting a light source inside – the light stays inside.

H3 What if I used a Wish spell to store a spell in a Bag of Holding?

The Wish spell is notoriously powerful and open to interpretation. A DM might allow this, but it would likely come with significant drawbacks or unexpected consequences. Be very careful what you wish for! It could potentially rupture the Bag of Holding, sending everything to the Astral Plane.

H3 Can I use a Bag of Holding to suppress a magical aura?

Potentially. The thick, interdimensional barrier might muffle or suppress the aura, making it harder to detect with spells like detect magic. However, a powerful enough magical aura might still bleed through. The DM would need to adjudicate the effectiveness.

H3 If I put a scroll of teleport in a Bag of Holding, can I use it to teleport directly out of the bag?

No. Casting the scroll requires you to be present at the scroll location in the Bag of Holding, therefore when you teleport you remain inside of the bag. This brings up a problem of suffocating.

H3 Can I use a Bag of Holding as a makeshift Portable Hole?

Absolutely not. While both create extradimensional spaces, they function differently. Combining them results in a disastrous tear into the Astral Plane, as mentioned in the original text. Don’t do it!

H3 Can I put a glyph of warding inside a Bag of Holding?

Technically, yes. You can place the glyph of warding on a surface and then carefully place that surface inside the bag. However, triggering it from outside would be problematic and require a very specific set of circumstances and DM approval.

H3 What about trapping a planar being inside a Bag of Holding?

This is a very risky proposition. While you could theoretically force a creature into the bag, the confines and lack of sustenance could enrage it. Furthermore, creatures with planar connections might be able to tear through the bag’s extradimensional fabric, causing a catastrophic breach.

H3 Does the weight limit of the Bag of Holding apply to magical energy?

No, the weight limit applies to physical objects. Spells and magical effects don’t have a physical weight that would count against the bag’s capacity.

H3 Could an Artificer infuse a Bag of Holding to better contain magical energy?

That’s a creative idea! An Artificer might be able to devise an infusion that enhances the bag’s ability to dampen magical auras or perhaps even briefly contain a small magical effect. This would be a custom infusion, subject to DM approval and balancing.

H3 If I destroy a Bag of Holding containing magical items, what happens to them?

According to the text you provided, the contents are scattered in the Astral Plane. Retrieving them would require a journey to the Astral Plane and a considerable amount of effort.

H3 Could I use a Bag of Holding to transport dangerous magical substances?

Yes, that’s one of its primary uses! Alchemical ingredients, volatile magical components, or even cursed artifacts can be safely transported within a Bag of Holding, mitigating the risk to the carrier.

H3 If I cast Detect Magic on a Bag of Holding containing magical items, what do I sense?

You would detect the magic of the Bag of Holding itself, as well as any magical items inside, assuming their auras are strong enough to penetrate the bag’s dimensional barrier. As the excerpt notes: Detect Magic will only detect the Bag of Holding. Detect Magic says: you sense the presence of magic within 30 feet of you. so whatever is magic must be within that distance. The DM might rule that the individual auras are fainter or more difficult to pinpoint due to the bag’s interference.

H3 Could I put a demiplane spell inside a Bag of Holding?

No. A demiplane spell creates an entirely new, separate plane of existence. It’s not a physical object that can be contained. Attempting to do so would likely result in the spell failing or having unintended consequences.

Leave a Comment