Can You Sacrifice a Creature with Ward? The Definitive Guide
Yes, you absolutely can sacrifice a creature with Ward. Ward does not prevent sacrifice. This is a common point of confusion for players new to Magic: The Gathering, so let’s break down why and explore all the nuances.
Understanding Ward: More of a Tax Than a Shield
Ward is a relatively newer keyword ability in Magic. As rule 702.21a states, Ward is a triggered ability. Ward [cost] means: “Whenever this permanent becomes the target of a spell or ability an opponent controls, counter that spell or ability unless that player pays [cost].” The critical phrase here is “target of a spell or ability an opponent controls.”
Sacrificing a creature typically involves activating an ability (either on the creature itself or another permanent) that you control. Since you are controlling the ability, Ward simply doesn’t trigger. The opponent is not targeting your creature. Think of Ward as a magical tollbooth. If your opponent wants to mess with your warded creature, they have to pay the toll. If you are the one driving the car, the tollbooth doesn’t even open.
Sacrifice: A Voluntary Act (Usually)
Sacrifice effects typically instruct a player to discard a permanent from play. Crucially, this action is usually initiated by the controller of the permanent being sacrificed. Even when an effect forces you to sacrifice, it doesn’t target the creature itself – it targets you, the player. Hexproof, which prevents your permanents from being targeted by opponents, does not save your creature from being sacrificed. The same principle applies to Ward.
Why the Confusion? Hexproof and Ward Comparisons
The confusion often arises because players conflate Ward with other protective abilities like Hexproof and Shroud. Hexproof and Shroud do prevent targeting, but Ward doesn’t. Hexproof renders the permanent an illegal target in the first place, so an opponent can’t even attempt to target it. Ward allows the targeting to happen, but then presents a “pay-to-play” scenario.
Ward and Board Wipes: A Different Story
It’s important to remember that Ward doesn’t save you from board wipes. Board wipes, like Wrath of God or Damnation, don’t target individual creatures. They simply destroy all creatures on the battlefield. Since no targeting occurs, Ward is irrelevant.
Ward and Deathtouch: Another Misconception
Ward does not stop Deathtouch. Deathtouch is a static ability that modifies the rules of combat damage. If a creature with Deathtouch deals damage to a creature, that creature is destroyed, regardless of whether the source has Ward. Deathtouch is not a targeted spell or ability; it simply changes the outcome of damage resolution.
Sacrifice and Rule 117: Costs
Understanding costs is key. Rule 117 in Magic: The Gathering defines costs. Paying a cost involves performing the actions specified by a spell or ability. Sacrificing a creature is often part of the cost to activate an ability. Because you are choosing to pay the cost, Ward doesn’t come into play.
Games Learning Society: Further Resources
To learn more about Magic: The Gathering and its complex rules, consider exploring resources available through the Games Learning Society at https://www.gameslearningsociety.org/. They offer valuable insights into the educational aspects of gaming and strategic thinking.
Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)
Here are 15 frequently asked questions to further clarify the nuances of Ward and sacrifice:
FAQ 1: If I control a creature with Ward and my opponent plays a targeted removal spell, can I sacrifice the creature in response to avoid paying the Ward cost?
Yes! You can sacrifice the creature in response to the targeted removal spell. Sacrificing is a legal action, and since the creature is no longer on the battlefield when the removal spell tries to resolve, the removal spell will be countered on resolution due to having no legal target.
FAQ 2: Does Ward protect against effects that say “each player sacrifices a creature”?
No. Effects that force each player to sacrifice a creature are not targeting spells or abilities controlled by your opponent. Ward will not trigger.
FAQ 3: If I activate an ability that requires me to sacrifice a creature as part of the cost, does my opponent get a chance to pay the Ward cost?
No. Activating an ability is your action. The opponent doesn’t get a chance to pay any Ward cost; you are choosing to sacrifice the creature.
FAQ 4: Can a creature with Hexproof be sacrificed?
Yes! Hexproof prevents targeting, but sacrificing isn’t targeting. You can sacrifice your own Hexproof creature without issue.
FAQ 5: What’s the difference between Ward and protection from [color]?
Protection is a much stronger ability. It prevents Damage, Enchanting/Equipping, Blocking, and Targeting from sources of the specified quality. Ward only taxes targeting.
FAQ 6: Does Ward work on the stack?
Yes. Ward is a triggered ability and uses the stack. Your opponent can respond to the Ward trigger before deciding whether to pay the cost.
FAQ 7: If my opponent pays the Ward cost, does the targeted spell automatically resolve?
Not necessarily. After the Ward cost is paid and the Ward ability resolves, the targeted spell still has to resolve as normal. Your opponent can still respond to the targeted spell after paying the Ward cost to counter it themselves.
FAQ 8: What happens if a creature has multiple instances of Ward?
Each instance of Ward triggers independently. Your opponent would have to pay each Ward cost to target the creature with a single spell or ability.
FAQ 9: Does Ward protect against combat damage?
No. Ward only affects targeted spells and abilities. Combat damage is not a targeted effect.
FAQ 10: If my opponent casts a spell that says, “Destroy target creature” and my creature has Ward, what happens?
The Ward ability triggers. Your opponent can choose to pay the Ward cost. If they do, the spell resolves and destroys your creature. If they don’t, the spell is countered and your creature survives.
FAQ 11: Can I sacrifice a creature with Ward to pay a cost for a land ability?
Yes. Costs can also be paid using mana or sacrificing permanents to activate land abilities, and Ward does not change this. The important thing is that this is your action, not the opponent’s.
FAQ 12: What’s the point of Ward if it doesn’t protect against everything?
Ward provides a significant deterrent against targeted removal. It forces your opponent to spend extra resources, potentially opening them up to other vulnerabilities.
FAQ 13: Is Ward better than Hexproof?
It depends. Hexproof is generally stronger, as it completely prevents targeting. However, Ward can be more strategically useful in some situations, especially if the Ward cost is high enough to significantly hinder your opponent.
FAQ 14: How does Ward interact with Commander Tax?
Commander Tax applies before Ward comes into effect. If you want to target a Commander with Ward, you must pay the Commander Tax and the Ward cost.
FAQ 15: Does Ward trigger if an Aura spell attempts to enchant a creature?
Yes, Aura spells that target a creature will trigger Ward. The opponent must pay the Ward cost for the Aura spell to resolve and enchant the creature.
In conclusion, while Ward provides a valuable layer of protection against targeted spells and abilities controlled by your opponent, it doesn’t prevent you from sacrificing your own creatures. Understanding this distinction is crucial for mastering the intricacies of Magic: The Gathering.