Can you summon link monsters from the graveyard?

Can You Summon Link Monsters from the Graveyard? A Comprehensive Guide

The short answer is yes, you can summon Link Monsters from the graveyard. However, there’s a crucial caveat: they must have been properly Link Summoned first. If a Link Monster was initially summoned using the correct materials and procedure for a Link Summon, then, and only then, can it be Special Summoned from the Graveyard to a Main Monster Zone.

This rule is consistent across most Extra Deck monsters, including Fusion, Synchro, and Xyz Monsters. It ensures that players can’t bypass the intended summoning method by prematurely sending a monster to the Graveyard and then reviving it.

Think of it like this: the proper Link Summon acts as a seal of approval, granting the Link Monster the eligibility to be revived later on. Without that initial, correct summoning, the monster is essentially considered “incomplete” and cannot be brought back from the Graveyard through typical revival methods. Now, let’s dive into some frequently asked questions that will give you a deep dive into link monsters.

Frequently Asked Questions About Link Monsters and Special Summoning

Can Link Monsters be summoned to the Extra Monster Zone (EMZ) from the Graveyard?

No, Link Monsters summoned from the Graveyard can only be placed in a Main Monster Zone. The Extra Monster Zone is reserved for monsters that are directly summoned from the Extra Deck. Reviving a Link Monster from the Graveyard bypasses the need for the EMZ, as it’s coming from a different location.

What does it mean for a Link Monster to be “properly summoned”?

A Link Monster is considered “properly summoned” when it is summoned to the field initially through a Link Summon by using the required number and type of materials specified on the card. If a Link Monster is Special Summoned by other means (like a card effect that ignores summoning conditions), it won’t be considered properly summoned, and thus cannot be Special Summoned from the GY.

Can a Link Monster be banished and then Special Summoned?

Yes, as long as it was properly Link Summoned before it was banished. The location it goes to after being properly summoned (Graveyard, banished zone) doesn’t matter, as long as the initial condition of a correct Link Summon is met. Think of it like earning a key. Once earned, the key can open the door whether it’s in your hand, your pocket, or in storage.

What happens if a Link Monster is Special Summoned without using a Link Summon?

If a Link Monster is Special Summoned through a card effect that bypasses the Link Summon requirements (like “Cyber Stein” on a Fusion monster), it is not considered to be properly summoned. This means that if it’s sent to the Graveyard or banished after that, it cannot be Special Summoned from those locations later on.

Can you Link Summon on your opponent’s field?

Generally, no. You can only summon monsters to your own field. However, if a Link Monster you control has a Link Arrow pointing to one of your opponent’s Main Monster Zones, they can Special Summon a monster from their Extra Deck to that zone (with the correct summoning requirements). This is a way to indirectly summon a monster to your opponent’s side of the field. This is not exactly the same as you summoning there; this is them summoning to a zone you are providing.

Do Link Materials go to the Graveyard after a Link Summon?

Yes, the monsters used as Link Materials are sent to the Graveyard after the Link Summon is successful. This is a crucial part of the Link Summoning mechanic.

Can a Link Monster have a Level?

No, Link Monsters do not have Levels. Instead, they have a Link Rating, which is represented by a number (Link-1, Link-2, Link-3, etc.) that indicates the number of materials required to summon them.

What is the difference between a Link Rating and Link Materials?

The Link Rating is the number associated with a Link Monster (e.g., Link-3). Link Materials are the monsters you use from the field to summon that Link Monster. A Link-3 monster requires three Link Materials.

Can a Link Monster be used as a Link Material for another Link Monster?

Yes, a Link Monster can be used as a Link Material. However, when using a Link Monster as a material, it counts as a number of materials equal to its Link Rating. For example, a Link-2 monster counts as two materials.

Can I use a Link-4 monster as a single material for another Link-4 monster?

No. While technically you could, in most cases it wouldn’t be valid because of restrictions. Usually a link monster requires a specific number of monsters plus effect monsters, etc. In the rare case there’s no such restriction, then you can use it. A link 4 is basically almost “1” material in this current game. So you can still use that link 4 as material but youd need a link 3 like summon sorcerers. 3 regular monsters+ the link 4.

Are Link Monsters placed in the Main Deck or Extra Deck?

Link Monsters are Extra Deck monsters. This means that they are added to your Extra Deck when building your deck, not your Main Deck. Any effect that would return a Link Monster to your hand or shuffle it into your Main Deck will send it back to the Extra Deck instead.

What happens if a Link Monster is returned to the hand?

Since Link Monsters reside in the Extra Deck, returning them to the hand actually means returning them to the Extra Deck. They cannot be placed in the hand.

Can Link Monsters be flipped face-down?

No, Link Monsters cannot be flipped face-down. They have no DEF and cannot be placed in Defense Position. They are always face-up on the field.

How do Link Arrows work?

Link Arrows indicate which Main Monster Zones a Link Monster is linked to. This allows players to Special Summon monsters from their Extra Deck to those linked zones. Some Link Monster effects also depend on the monsters in the zones they point to. Two Link Monsters are “co-linked” if they have Link Arrows that point at each other.

Can Link Monsters be in Defense Position?

Link Monsters have no DEF and cannot ever be in Defense Position. They can’t be changed to Defense Position by a card effect. They can’t even be flipped into face-down Defense Position. If your opponent has a monster in the Extra Monster Zone, it’s still a monster they control, so you can’t attack directly.

Understanding these rules and nuances is crucial for effectively playing with and against Link Monsters in Yu-Gi-Oh!. Knowing when you can and cannot Special Summon them from the Graveyard is a key aspect of strategic gameplay. So get out there, practice your Link Summons, and dominate the dueling field!

To delve deeper into the world of games and learning, consider exploring the Games Learning Society at GamesLearningSociety.org. They offer valuable resources and insights into the intersection of education and gaming.

Leave a Comment