Can you take a bonus action if you can’t take an action?
The answer to this question is no, as the incapacitated condition in the game prevents characters from taking actions, reactions, or bonus actions in combat. According to the rules, a character who is incapacitated cannot take a bonus action, as they are unable to take any actions or reactions, and bonus actions are a type of action that can only be taken when a special ability, spell, or other feature of the game states that you can do something as a bonus action.
Understanding Bonus Actions
Definition and Usage
To better understand the relationship between actions and bonus actions, it’s essential to define what bonus actions are and how they can be used in the game. Bonus actions are a type of action that can be taken in addition to a character’s regular action, and they can be used to perform a variety of tasks, such as casting a spell, making an off-hand attack, or using a special ability.
Frequently Asked Questions
- Can you take a bonus action if you are incapacitated?: No, the incapacitated condition prevents characters from taking actions, reactions, or bonus actions in combat.
- Can you use a bonus action if you hold an action?: No, a character would not be able to prepare both an action and a bonus action, since they can only hold one action to be triggered while waiting for that trigger.
- Can you use two bonus actions instead of an action?: No, you cannot use more than one bonus action on a single turn, no matter how many feats you have that call for the use of a bonus action.
- Can you always take a bonus action?: No, you can’t take a bonus action unless something you have says you can, but they are still taken as you would any other action.
- Can you take a bonus action before your main action?: The rule on bonus action timing only means that, unless the BA has a specified timing/trigger, the BA doesn’t have to come before or after action/movement.
- How many times can you use a bonus action?: You can only have one bonus action per round, and only one action, and only one reaction.
- Can you use a reaction and a bonus action at the same time?: Yes, it is perfectly possible to cast a reaction during movement in response to setting off a trap, and then still have your bonus and action.
- Can I use a bonus action and a reaction in the same turn?: Yes, each character can only use one reaction per turn, so even if multiple people are leaving your reach, you can only take one Opportunity Attack.
- Can you use a bonus action and then hold an action?: No, the Ready action allows you to prepare a single attack, spell, or action, but not a bonus action or movement.
- What can you do with your bonus action?: You can use your bonus action to make an off-hand attack, shove, grapple, cast a spell, or perform other special abilities.
- Can you take bonus depreciation if you have a loss?: Yes, while you can use bonus depreciation in a year that you have a loss, it is essential to note that this can create a Net Operating Loss (NOL) for the current year or increase a prior NOL.
- Can you take free actions while incapacitated?: An incapacitated creature can’t take actions or reactions, but you can still move and interact with an object or the environment when you do so.
- What are the rules for bonus actions in D&D?: You can take a bonus action only when a special ability, spell, or other feature of the game states that you can do something as a bonus action.
- Can you use both your action and bonus action to dash?: Yes, a Fighter’s action surge gives an additional action which can be used to dash, and a Rogue’s cunning action and Monk’s step of the wind allow them to dash as a bonus action.
- Can you cast two spells in a turn if one is a bonus action?: No, a spell cast with a bonus action is especially swift, and you must use a bonus action on your turn to cast the spell, provided that you haven’t already taken a bonus action this turn.