Can you tap a creature for mana first turn?

Can You Tap a Creature for Mana on the First Turn? A Comprehensive Guide

The short answer is: Generally, no. You cannot tap a creature for mana on the very turn it enters the battlefield unless it has haste. This restriction is due to a fundamental rule in Magic: The Gathering (MTG) known as summoning sickness. This rule prevents new creatures from immediately impacting the board by attacking or using their tap abilities, including abilities that produce mana. Let’s delve deeper into this mechanic and related concepts, ensuring you have a clear understanding of how to best utilize your creatures.

Understanding Summoning Sickness

The Core Rule

Summoning sickness is a state that every creature is in when it first comes onto the battlefield under your control. It effectively acts as a delay, preventing the creature from immediately participating in combat or using tap abilities (abilities that require the creature to be tapped as a cost). This limitation does not prevent you from activating abilities that do not require tapping. You can still activate triggered abilities that happen when the creature enters the battlefield.

The primary restrictions stemming from summoning sickness are:

  • Inability to Attack: Creatures with summoning sickness cannot be declared as attackers.
  • Inability to Use Tap Abilities: Creatures with summoning sickness cannot activate abilities that include the tap symbol (T) as part of the cost. This includes tapping for mana.

Haste: The Exception

There is, however, a key exception to summoning sickness: haste. A creature with haste ignores summoning sickness, meaning it can attack and activate its tap abilities on the very turn it enters the battlefield. This is a powerful ability that can drastically change the pace of a game. If your creature has haste, then yes, you can tap it for mana right away!

Why Does Summoning Sickness Exist?

Summoning sickness is a crucial element of game balance. Without it, players could consistently and unfairly gain tempo by dropping multiple creatures and immediately unleashing their full potential. Summoning sickness slows the game pace, encourages strategic plays, and rewards players who plan ahead.

Tapping for Mana: The Basics

Mana Production

Mana is the primary resource in Magic: The Gathering. You use it to cast spells and activate abilities. Many creatures have abilities that allow them to produce mana, these are called mana abilities. The most common example is tapping lands, which is typically the primary way to generate mana.

Creature-Based Mana Abilities

Some creatures also have activated abilities that add mana to your mana pool when tapped. This can be useful to enable specific cards or strategies that require more specific colors. Examples of such creatures are Llanowar Elves and Elvish Mystic.

Timing and Priority

When you tap a creature for mana, it’s generally done at instant speed, whenever you have priority to perform actions during the game. This means that during your turn, or your opponents, you can tap a creature for mana in response to certain spells. The most important thing to remember though, is that mana abilities do not use the stack. This means that when you tap a creature (or land) for mana, it cannot be responded to, making this a powerful and efficient way to get mana quickly.

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)

1. Can you tap a creature for mana if it entered the battlefield this turn?

No, not unless the creature has haste. The summoning sickness rule prevents this.

2. What is the definition of summoning sickness?

Summoning sickness is a rule in MTG that prevents a creature from attacking or using tap abilities on the turn it enters the battlefield, unless it has haste.

3. What is considered a tap ability?

A **tap ability** is any activated ability that includes the tap symbol (T) in its cost. This includes mana abilities, such as tapping a creature for mana.

4. Does haste allow you to tap a creature for mana on the turn it comes into play?

Yes, a creature with haste can use its tap abilities, including mana abilities, the same turn it enters the battlefield.

5. Can you use abilities other than tap abilities on a creature with summoning sickness?

Yes. Summoning sickness only prevents attacking and using abilities that use the tap symbol. Triggered abilities can be activated.

6. If a creature taps for mana, does it go on the stack?

No, mana abilities do not use the stack, this is the case for lands as well. This means they cannot be responded to.

7. Can you respond to someone tapping a creature or land for mana?

No, you cannot respond to mana abilities because they don't use the stack.

8. Can you tap a creature for mana during an opponent’s turn?

Yes, provided the creature doesn't have summoning sickness and you have priority.

9. Can you tap a creature for mana before combat?

Yes, you can tap a creature for mana before the declare attackers step during the combat phase, as long as it does not have summoning sickness.

10. If a land turns into a creature, can you tap it for mana right away?

If that land creature does not have haste, it will be subject to summoning sickness, so it cannot tap for mana or attack on the first turn. 

11. What if a card states I can tap a permanent for mana?

If a card says that you can tap a permanent for mana, and that permanent is a creature, it will still be subject to summoning sickness unless it has haste.

12. Can you tap a creature for mana more than once in a turn?

Yes, if you can untap it with another effect or ability. For example a card that says "untap target creature".

13. Does tapping a land for mana trigger priority to change?

Yes. Tapping a land for mana is an activated ability, which means, the priority will return to you once mana is added to your mana pool.

14. Can I tap a creature with Deathtouch to deal damage?

Yes, if you can attack with it. Deathtouch is an effect that happens when a creature deals damage.

15. Can you tap a creature for mana if it has Deathtouch?

Yes, having deathtouch does not affect your ability to tap the creature for mana, as long as the creature does not have summoning sickness.

Conclusion

The rule of summoning sickness is a cornerstone of MTG. It prevents overwhelming aggression on the first turn and promotes strategic gameplay. While a creature cannot usually be tapped for mana on its initial turn, a creature with haste is free to utilize their tap abilities, including mana abilities, making haste a particularly powerful keyword. Understanding these mechanics will equip you with better decision-making skills and ultimately enhance your MTG experience.

Leave a Comment