Can you tap any number of creatures to crew?

Mastering the Art of Crewing: Tapping Multiple Creatures in Magic: The Gathering

Yes, absolutely! When crewing a vehicle in Magic: The Gathering (MTG), you can tap any number of creatures you control, as long as the total power of those creatures is equal to or greater than the vehicle’s crew cost. The beauty of this mechanic is its flexibility. Whether you tap one hulking behemoth or a swarm of smaller creatures, the goal is to meet or exceed that crucial crew number. This simple mechanic opens up a world of strategic depth, demanding smart decisions about which creatures to commit, and when.

Unlocking the Power of Vehicles: A Comprehensive Guide to Crewing

The crew ability is a powerful mechanic that allows you to transform a vehicle artifact into an artifact creature until the end of the turn. This turns your stationary machines into powerful attackers and blockers. Mastering the crew mechanic is essential for anyone looking to pilot vehicle-heavy decks. This article will dive deep into the intricacies of crewing, answering common questions and offering insights to maximize your vehicular strategies.

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs) About Crewing

Here are 15 frequently asked questions about crewing vehicles in Magic: The Gathering, designed to clarify common scenarios and rules interactions:

1. Can I crew with multiple creatures?

Absolutely! As mentioned above, you can tap any number of creatures to activate the crew ability. The key is that the total power of the tapped creatures must be equal to or greater than the vehicle’s crew cost. For example, if a vehicle has a crew cost of 3, you could tap three 1/1 creatures, one 3/3 creature, or any combination that adds up to at least 3 power.

2. Can you use tapped creatures to crew?

No, you cannot use already tapped creatures to crew a vehicle. The crew ability requires you to tap untapped creatures as part of the cost. A creature that is already tapped cannot be tapped again to pay this cost.

3. Can you crew with a 0 power creature?

Unfortunately, no. The crew ability requires tapping creatures with sufficient power to meet or exceed the crew cost. A creature with 0 power contributes nothing to fulfilling this requirement. You need creatures with a power of at least 1 to crew a vehicle.

4. Can I crew with creatures that have summoning sickness?

Yes! Creatures with summoning sickness can be tapped to activate the crew ability. Summoning sickness only prevents a creature from attacking or using activated abilities that include the tap symbol in their cost. Since the crew ability doesn’t use the tap symbol, you can tap a creature with summoning sickness to crew a vehicle.

5. Can you tap land creatures with summoning sickness?

This is a tricky one! If a land has just entered the battlefield under your control this turn and becomes a creature, it is affected by summoning sickness. This prevents you from attacking with it or using abilities that include the tap symbol. Therefore, if it has a tap ability to generate mana, you cannot use it to crew or for mana if it has summoning sickness.

6. Does blinking cause summoning sickness?

Yes, blinking a creature essentially treats it as a new permanent entering the battlefield. If you flicker a creature on your turn, it will have summoning sickness for the remainder of your turn.

7. Can you crew a vehicle to block?

Yes! The crew ability can be activated at instant speed, meaning you can crew a vehicle during the declare blockers step. This allows you to surprise your opponent by turning a vehicle into a blocker when they attack. However, you cannot declare the creatures you tapped to crew as blockers in the same combat phase, as they are already tapped.

8. Can I crew at instant speed?

Yes! This flexibility is one of the strongest aspects of vehicles. You can crew them in response to your opponent’s actions, such as crewing a vehicle to block an incoming attacker, or to save it from a removal spell by turning it into a creature.

9. Do vehicles count as creatures?

Vehicles are artifact cards. They only become creatures when the crew ability is activated. Once crewed, the vehicle becomes an Artifact Creature – Vehicle until the end of the turn.

10. Can I tap tapped creatures?

Generally, no. You cannot tap a creature that is already tapped to pay a cost. However, some abilities might still trigger even if you try to tap an already tapped creature. Read the card carefully!

11. What are the rules for tapped creatures?

Tapped creatures cannot attack or block unless they have vigilance. They also cannot be tapped to pay costs. If a creature is tapped as part of an effect (not a cost), the effect still occurs even if the creature is already tapped.

12. Can you sacrifice a creature when it’s tapped?

Yes, absolutely. Sacrificing a creature is a separate action from tapping it. You can sacrifice a tapped creature to pay a cost or trigger an effect. The state of being tapped does not prevent you from sacrificing it.

13. Does Deathtouch work on vehicles?

Yes, as long as the vehicle is a creature (i.e., it has been crewed). If a crewed vehicle is dealt damage by a source with deathtouch, the vehicle will be destroyed.

14. Can I crew a crewed vehicle?

Yes! You can use a crewed vehicle to crew another vehicle. This allows you to create “vehicle chains,” where one vehicle crews another. This is particularly useful when you need to crew a vehicle with a high crew cost and don’t have enough other creatures with sufficient power. Remember, any “excess” power from the creatures you tap to crew is lost and cannot be used to crew another vehicle directly.

15. Do you need haste to crew a vehicle?

Vehicles themselves do not require haste to be crewed. However, a vehicle cannot attack the turn it enters the battlefield unless it has haste. Creatures with summoning sickness can be tapped to activate the crew ability.

Crewing: A Skill, Not Just a Mechanic

The crew mechanic is a cornerstone of vehicle-based strategies in Magic: The Gathering. Understanding the nuances of when and how to crew is essential for success. By mastering these rules and tips, you’ll be well-equipped to take your vehicle deck to the next level. The strategic depth that crewing adds to the game is undeniable, making each decision a calculated risk. The Games Learning Society offers further insights into the strategic elements of gaming, fostering a deeper understanding of mechanics and player decision-making. Visit GamesLearningSociety.org to learn more about the intersection of gaming and education.

Vehicles continue to be a fascinating part of the MTG landscape, demanding innovative deck-building and clever in-game decisions. So get out there, experiment, and become a master vehicle pilot!

Leave a Comment