Can You Tap Creatures as Instant? Unlocking the Secrets of Tapping in Magic: The Gathering
In the mystical realm of Magic: The Gathering (MTG), understanding the intricacies of creature abilities and spell speeds is crucial for mastering the game. One frequently asked question revolves around the timing of tapping creatures. The direct answer: while the act of tapping a creature isn’t an instant itself, many activated abilities that involve tapping can be used at instant speed, unless specifically stated otherwise. It all comes down to understanding the nuances of activated abilities, summoning sickness, and the stack. Let’s delve deeper into the strategic tapestry of tapping creatures!
Unraveling the Tap Ability Mystery
The core concept to grasp is that tapping a creature is often a cost to activate an ability, not an ability in itself. Think of it like paying for goods at a store. The act of handing over money isn’t an instant, but what you receive in return (the effect of the ability) can be instantaneous, if the rules allow.
Here’s the breakdown:
-
Activated Abilities with the Tap Symbol: Many creatures have abilities that require tapping as part of the cost. These abilities are formatted as “[Cost]: [Effect]”. If the cost includes the tap symbol ( ⟳ ), you can activate this ability at any time you have priority, and you are not otherwise restricted (more on this later), which often feels like instant speed.
-
Instant Speed Matters: The crucial detail is whether the effect of the ability can be used at instant speed. Unless the card text explicitly restricts when the ability can be activated (e.g., “Activate only as a sorcery”), you can generally use it any time you have priority, even during your opponent’s turn.
-
The Stack and Priority: MTG uses the stack, a zone where spells and abilities wait to resolve. When you activate a tap ability, it goes on the stack. Your opponent can then respond by casting spells or activating other abilities. Only when everyone passes priority in succession does the top item on the stack resolve.
-
Summoning Sickness Limitations: A creature suffering from summoning sickness cannot activate abilities with the tap symbol (⟳) or untap symbol ( ⟳ ) in their activation cost. Summoning sickness applies to creatures that haven’t been under your continuous control since the beginning of your most recent turn. Haste is the key ability that bypasses summoning sickness.
-
Tapping as a Cost for Attacking: Declaring a creature as an attacker involves tapping it. However, you cannot respond to the act of declaring a creature as an attacker and therefore you cannot respond to the tapping.
FAQs: Tapping Creatures Like a Pro
To further clarify the ins and outs of tapping creatures, here are 15 frequently asked questions, answered with the expertise of a seasoned MTG player:
1. Can You Tap a Creature Right Away?
No, not if it has summoning sickness. A creature’s activated ability with the tap symbol or the untap symbol in its activation cost can’t be activated unless the creature has been under your control continuously since your most recent turn began. Haste is an exception to this rule.
2. Do Creature Spells Work as Instants?
No. Creature spells are not instants. You can only cast creature spells during your main phase when the stack is empty (unless a card specifically allows you to cast creature spells at another time). However, many creature abilities can be activated at what feels like instant speed, assuming they meet the criteria we’ve previously discussed.
3. What Are the Rules for Tapped Creatures?
Tapped creatures are often involved in combat or used to pay for activated abilities. They can’t attack or block unless they have vigilance, and their activated abilities that require tapping can’t be activated again until they are untapped. Summoning sickness prevents newly summoned creatures without haste from being tapped.
4. Can You Tap a Mana Dork at Instant Speed?
If the mana dork has been under your control since the beginning of your most recent turn and its mana ability requires tapping as a cost, then yes, you can activate its ability at what feels like instant speed. Summoning sickness will restrict its use on the turn it enters the battlefield unless it has haste.
5. Can Tapped Creatures Attack?
No, a tapped creature can’t attack unless it has vigilance. Vigilance allows a creature to attack without tapping.
6. Can You Convoke at Instant Speed?
You can cast spells with convoke at instant speed if the spell itself is an instant. Convoke allows you to tap untapped creatures you control to help pay the spell’s cost.
7. Can You Tap Artifacts at Instant Speed?
It depends on the artifact. If the artifact has an activated ability with the tap symbol in its cost, and there are no other restrictions, you can activate that ability at instant speed (again, as long as the artifact doesn’t have summoning sickness if it’s also a creature and doesn’t have haste, which is rare but possible).
8. Can I Tap a Creature in Response to it Being Tapped?
No, you can’t respond to the physical act of tapping a creature (as when attacking), because that tap is a cost. You can respond to an activated ability that includes tapping as part of its cost. For example, if a creature has the ability “Tap: Draw a card”, you can respond to this activated ability once it’s put on the stack.
9. Can You Tap a Creature Twice?
Normally, no. A creature can only be tapped once per turn (unless some ability specifically states it can be tapped multiple times). It will untap during your next untap step. Some cards, however, might have abilities that allow you to tap a creature multiple times for a specific effect, such as cards that benefit from being tapped multiple times.
10. Can You Force Tap a Tapped Creature?
You can’t tap an already tapped permanent. Effects that attempt to tap a tapped creature simply do nothing to it (but the rest of the effect will happen).
11. Can You Cast Madness Creatures at Instant Speed?
Yes, the madness ability allows you to cast a card at instant speed when it’s discarded.
12. Can You Cast Instants in Your Untap Step?
No, you cannot cast instants during your untap step.
13. Can You Tap a Creature Without Haste to Crew a Vehicle?
Yes! This is a key exception. You can tap a creature with summoning sickness to crew a vehicle, because it’s the vehicle’s ability tapping the creature, not the creature activating its own ability.
14. Can You Tap a Creature After it Attacks?
No, a creature is tapped as it attacks, not after. Once it’s declared as an attacker, you can’t tap it to prevent the attack (unless the creature has vigilance).
15. Does Tapping an Artifact Turn it Off?
Not necessarily in modern MTG. In older versions of the game, a tapped artifact’s continuous effects would cease. However, in contemporary rules, tapping an artifact simply means it can’t be tapped again until it’s untapped. Its continuous effects still apply (unless, of course, the artifact is only granting an effect while it’s untapped).
Mastering the Tap: A Strategic Imperative
Understanding when and how to tap creatures is a fundamental skill in MTG. By grasping the concepts of activated abilities, the stack, summoning sickness, and the differences between costs and effects, you’ll be well-equipped to make strategic decisions and outmaneuver your opponents. Remember to always read the card carefully and consider the game state before tapping!
Whether you are a beginner or an experienced player, continuously exploring the depth of Magic: The Gathering enriches your gaming experience. For more insights into the world of gaming and learning, check out the Games Learning Society at GamesLearningSociety.org.