Can You Tap Something Already Tapped? Exploring the Nuances of Tapping in Games and Beyond
The short answer is: generally, no. In most games, particularly card games like Magic: The Gathering, attempting to tap a card or object that is already in a tapped state has no effect. However, the situation isn’t always that simple. Many abilities are tied to tapping, and understanding how these interact is critical. So, while the physical act of re-tapping might be meaningless, the associated abilities often still function to some extent.
Understanding the Concept of Tapping
The concept of “tapping” originated in Magic: The Gathering as a way to indicate that a permanent (like a creature, land, or artifact) had been used for its primary purpose during a turn. A tapped permanent is physically rotated 90 degrees, visually signifying its unavailability for further immediate use.
This simple mechanic has profound implications for gameplay, forcing players to strategize about when and how to use their resources. Tapping acts as a cost for activating abilities or generating mana, creating crucial decision points.
Why Tapping Doesn’t “Stack”
Tapping represents a binary state: tapped or untapped. You can’t be “more” tapped than tapped. Think of it like a light switch: it’s either on (tapped) or off (untapped). Flipping the switch again while it’s already on doesn’t make it “more on.”
The core rules typically dictate that if an ability instructs you to tap a permanent, and that permanent is already tapped, the tap instruction is simply ignored. The permanent remains tapped, and nothing further happens relating to the tapping itself.
When Tapping an Already Tapped Permanent Matters
While re-tapping doesn’t alter the permanent’s state, the associated effects of the tap ability might still apply. For example, consider an ability that states: “Tap target creature. That creature doesn’t untap during its controller’s next untap step.” Even if the creature is already tapped, applying this ability still prevents it from untapping next turn. The “freeze” effect is independent of the actual tapping action.
Similarly, some cards like Twiddle specifically state that they can tap or untap a permanent. Using Twiddle on a tapped land won’t change its state, but it’s a perfectly legal play, especially if you’re trying to trigger other effects that care about spells being cast.
Tapping in Other Contexts
The term “tapping” extends beyond card games. Here are some other real-world applications where the concept of tapping is relevant:
- Phone Tapping: The act of intercepting phone calls is another usage of “tapping,” though completely unrelated to the game terminology. This is about gaining unauthorized access to information.
- Pressure Points: Certain pressure points can be “tapped” to stimulate nerves and muscles. This is common in acupuncture and martial arts.
- Online Gaming: In many online games, “tapping” a key repeatedly can perform certain actions. This is less related to the state of an object and more about the frequency of input.
Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)
Here are some common questions about tapping and its implications:
1. Can you force tap a tapped creature?
You can’t tap an already tapped permanent, but the rest of the ability (giving it indestructible, preventing untapping, etc.) will still happen if that’s part of the spell or ability.
2. Can you tap an already tapped land?
No, attempting to tap an already tapped land won’t change its state. It will simply remain tapped. Cards like Twiddle allow you to target a tapped permanent, but the tap effect does nothing.
3. What happens if you tap a tapped creature with a tap ability?
Then you attempt to apply the tap effect and any other effects described by the ability. Since the creature is already tapped, the tap effect itself has no impact. However, any secondary effects, such as preventing it from untapping, will still resolve.
4. Can you tap an already attacking creature?
It is perfectly legal to tap a creature before it has been declared as an attacker. However, tapping a creature after it has been declared as attacking will not remove it from combat. It will still be attacking.
5. Can you use a tap ability on a tapped creature?
As long as you can pay all the other costs associated with the ability, yes. The fact that the creature is already tapped doesn’t prevent you from activating its ability. You can activate the ability even if it’s tapped.
6. Can you return a tapped land to your hand?
Yes, returning a tapped land to your hand is possible using cards that have that effect. The land being tapped or untapped is irrelevant in this case.
7. Can you regenerate a tapped creature?
Yes. A creature that has been dealt lethal damage and been regenerated gets tapped as part of the regeneration effect. However, creatures that are already tapped can still be regenerated and will remain tapped.
8. Can you respond to Mana being tapped?
No. Mana abilities are among the few activated or triggered abilities that don’t use the stack or require passing priority to resolve. They cannot be responded to or targeted.
9. Does summoning sickness affect tapping?
A creature with summoning sickness is unable to attack or use any activated abilities that include the tap or untap symbols in their cost.
10. Can summoning sickness be tapped?
No, a creature with summoning sickness cannot use abilities that require tapping as a cost. This is because it’s restricted from using abilities including tap or untap symbols in their costs.
11. Does Sleep affect tapped creatures?
If a creature is already tapped, its status remains the same. However, the first part of Sleep reads “Tap all creatures target player controls.” This effect changes the status of all creatures to “tapped,” regardless of their current status.
12. Can you tap a creature more than once to generate mana?
No. Abilities where the cost is tapping the creature and the effect is adding one mana to your mana pool can only be used once per turn. You can only pay the cost (by tapping) when a creature is untapped.
13. Does Hexproof stop tapping?
Hexproof prevents TARGETING by things your opponent controls. If a creature has an ability to tap and deal one damage to target creature, that ability can’t target a creature with hexproof. However, if an effect like Sleep taps all creatures a player controls, Hexproof will not prevent it.
14. Can you enchant a tapped creature?
Yes. Whether a creature is tapped or untapped has no bearing on whether you can enchant it with an aura. Tapping or untapping a permanent does not tap or untap any enchantments on it, and vice versa.
15. Do non-basic lands come in tapped?
Some non-basic lands do come into play tapped. These lands provide mana but at the cost of entering the battlefield tapped, delaying their usage. This mechanic introduces choices in deck construction.
Beyond the Rules: Strategic Implications
Understanding the rules surrounding tapping goes beyond simple gameplay. It’s about grasping the underlying principles of resource management and strategic decision-making. Knowing when to tap your lands, creatures, or artifacts, and understanding the limitations of tapping, can dramatically improve your gameplay. The Games Learning Society (GamesLearningSociety.org) explores these concepts further, examining how games can teach valuable strategic and problem-solving skills.
Conclusion
While you generally cannot “re-tap” something already tapped, the interaction between tap abilities and already-tapped permanents is complex and nuanced. By understanding these intricacies, you can make more informed strategic decisions, leading to better gameplay and a deeper appreciation for the mechanics of the game.