Can you twin spell a summoning spell?

Can You Twin Spell a Summoning Spell?

The short answer is: no, you cannot Twin Spell a summoning spell. While the allure of doubling your summoned creatures might be tempting, the rules of 5th Edition Dungeons & Dragons (5e) specifically prohibit the use of the Twinned Spell metamagic option on summoning spells. This limitation stems from the core mechanics of how summoning and targeting are defined in the game.

Why Summoning Spells Can’t Be Twinned

To understand why you can’t Twin a summoning spell, we need to break down the rules of both the Twinned Spell metamagic and summoning spells.

The Twinned Spell Metamagic

The Twinned Spell metamagic, available to Sorcerers, is a powerful tool to enhance the effectiveness of single-target spells. The Player’s Handbook clearly states:

“When you cast a spell that targets only one creature and doesn’t have a range of self, you can spend a number of sorcery points equal to the spell’s level to target a second creature in range with the same spell (1 sorcery point if the spell is a cantrip).”

Key here are the words “targets only one creature”. This rule is not as straightforward as it first seems. It doesn’t mean that the spell only affects one creature. Instead, it means that the spell is designed to target one creature. This distinction is vital.

How Summoning Spells Work

Summoning spells, such as Conjure Animals, Summon Fey, or Infernal Calling, do not actually target creatures. Instead, they conjure a creature or being to appear in an unoccupied space within range that you designate. The spell’s target is an empty space, not a living entity.

This difference is crucial. The spell’s effect is to materialize a creature in the designated space, not to target a creature and inflict an effect upon it. Because summoning spells target a point in space rather than a creature, they fail the core requirement for the Twinned Spell Metamagic.

Errata Clarifications

Further solidifying this rule is the official errata for the Player’s Handbook. This errata clarifies that for a spell to be eligible for Twinned Spell, it:

“must be incapable of targeting more than one creature at the spell’s current level.”

Even if you could argue a summoning spell could target one creature at a time if it only summons one creature, the core idea of the spell is to generate a creature via a target point in space. So, it’s still not valid for a Twin Spell.

The Implications for Your Gameplay

Understanding this distinction is critical for your Sorcerer’s strategic options. While the idea of having two summoned beasts at once might be appealing, it’s important to stay true to the rules of the game. This restriction prevents the potential exploitation of summoning spells, ensuring the game remains balanced.

Alternative Metamagic Options

While you cannot Twin a summoning spell, your Sorcerer still has numerous other Metamagic options. Consider using Quickened Spell to summon a creature as a bonus action, then take another action, or Heightened Spell if your summon requires a saving throw from an enemy, to increase the summon’s success rate. Understanding these nuances will make you a better and more effective player.

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)

To delve deeper into the topic, let’s explore some related questions to further clarify the rules of Twinned Spell and other metamagics in relation to summoning and similar spells.

1. Can I Twin Spell a spell like Animate Objects?

No. Animate Objects targets a number of objects rather than a single creature, which makes it an unsuitable choice for Twinned Spell. The number of objects you can animate increases as the spell’s level does so it fails the rule of only targeting a single creature.

2. Can Dragon’s Breath be Twinned?

No. Dragon’s Breath creates an area-of-effect that targets multiple creatures, even if a single creature is within the area. It’s not based on targeting a creature, so it fails the targeting requirement. This restriction also aligns with the reasons why paladin’s divine smites and steed spells do not work in tandem, as both abilities target more than one creature.

3. Can I Twin a healing spell like Cure Wounds or Healing Word?

Yes, you can. Healing spells like Cure Wounds and Healing Word target one creature and are thus valid targets for Twinned Spell. You could, for instance, heal two wounded party members at once with this metamagic.

4. Can I Twin Eldritch Blast?

It depends on your level. Eldritch Blast targets one creature at 1st-4th levels, thus it can be Twinned at this level. But, since at 5th level it targets two beams and thus two creatures it is not eligible at that point. The increase of targets as you level up, prohibits the use of twinned spell.

5. Can I use Twinned Spell with Chaos Bolt?

No, you cannot. Although Chaos Bolt has only one target on the initial attack, its ability to jump to another creature makes it ineligible for Twinned Spell. Because of its ability to target a second creature later on, it can never be twinned.

6. Can Fireball be Twinned?

No. Fireball is an area-of-effect spell that can affect multiple creatures, making it an invalid target for Twinned Spell. The rule isn’t just about how many creatures are affected but about the potential to affect multiple creatures.

7. Can Acid Splash be Twinned?

No. While you might use it against one creature, it is fundamentally designed to target up to two creatures at once. Any spell that is capable of targeting more than one target can never be twinned, even if you use it against one creature.

8. Can I Twin a single-target non-damaging spell like Hold Person?

Yes, but with a caveat. If you use Twinned Spell with a single-target spell like Hold Person, and the spell needs to pick its targets, it will select the closest creatures to you. This can result in the spell selecting a friendly creature if they are between you and your enemy, making it a riskier use. Also if you upcast it to target 2 or more creatures, you can no longer use Twinned Spell.

9. Can I Twin Hex?

No. Hex cannot be Twinned. Hex can be swapped to a new target on the current target’s death, meaning that even though you only initially target one creature, it is able to target more, so is not a valid choice for twinning.

10. Can I use Quickened Spell on Eldritch Blast?

Yes. Unlike Twinned Spell, Quickened Spell does not restrict the target number. You can cast Eldritch Blast as a bonus action using Quickened Spell, which means you can then follow it with another action to use another spell.

11. Can Green Flame Blade be Twinned?

No. Green Flame Blade targets one creature as the initial target, but the secondary damage can affect another nearby creature. As the spell can target more than one creature, it is ineligible for Twinned Spell.

12. Can I Twin Ice Knife?

Yes. Ice Knife, according to RAW, can be Twinned as it is a single target spell with an area of effect as a secondary effect. If you’re strictly following the text of the rules, then it is valid. Though most DMs will likely not allow it as a way around area of effect spells.

13. Can I use Quickened Spell to cast two Fireballs in one turn?

No. The rules of spells do not allow for multiple bonus action spells in a single turn. So you could use quicken spell to turn Fireball into a bonus action, but you’re then restricted by the cantrip rule on your action. You could cast another damaging cantrip on the turn after using quickened spell and a main action spell.

14. Does Twinned Spell work with Catapult?

No, it does not. Twinned spell needs to target a creature, and Catapult targets an object, which renders it ineligible for the Twinned Spell metamagic.

15. Can I Twin Chain Lightning?

Absolutely not. Chain Lightning can target up to four creatures, making it totally incompatible with Twinned Spell.

Conclusion

While the idea of a sorcerer commanding double the summoned beasts may be appealing, the core rules and errata for D&D 5e explicitly prohibit Twinned Spell on summoning spells. Understanding the nuances of how targeting works is key to using metamagics effectively. Remember, just because a spell may only affect one creature doesn’t automatically make it valid for Twinned Spell. The spell itself must be designed to target only one creature at its current spell level. This knowledge will help you to use your Metamagic effectively and strategically within the game.

Leave a Comment