Unlocking the Secrets of Actions: Can You Use a Bonus Action and Then Hold an Action in 5e?
The short answer is: yes, you absolutely can use a bonus action and then hold (Ready) an action in Dungeons and Dragons 5th Edition. However, there are nuances and specific rules that govern how these actions interact, which we’ll explore in detail below. Let’s dive deep into the mechanics of actions, bonus actions, and the Ready action to clarify exactly how they work together.
Understanding Actions, Bonus Actions, and the Ready Action
Before we tackle the main question, it’s essential to understand what each of these actions entails. These are the foundational building blocks of your character’s actions in combat.
Actions: The Core of Your Turn
Your action is the primary thing you do on your turn in combat. Standard actions include attacking, casting a spell, dashing, dodging, using an item, or taking the Ready action, among others. Most character abilities and spells require an action to activate.
Bonus Actions: Swift and Strategic
A bonus action is a quicker, secondary action that you can take on your turn. Unlike actions, which are pretty universal, bonus actions are heavily dependent on your character’s class, feats, or specific abilities. Some common bonus actions include making an off-hand attack when dual-wielding, casting certain spells, or using class features like a rogue’s Cunning Action. A character only gets one bonus action per turn.
The Ready Action: Delaying Your Impact
The Ready action, also known as “holding your action,” allows you to prepare to take an action later in the round, triggered by a specific circumstance. When you Ready an action, you choose the action you will take and a trigger. If that trigger occurs before your next turn, you can immediately take the readied action, expending your reaction. This action can be an attack, casting a spell, or any other action you could normally take on your turn.
Combining Bonus Actions and the Ready Action: How It Works
So, can you use a bonus action and then hold an action? The core rule is that you get one action and one bonus action on your turn. The Ready action consumes your action for that turn. Since the Ready action doesn’t prevent you from using your bonus action, you are free to use it before you Ready your action. The order in which you use them doesn’t matter, but you must take these actions during your turn.
Here’s a scenario:
Imagine you’re a rogue. On your turn, you use your Cunning Action (a bonus action) to Hide behind a crate. Then, you use your action to Ready an attack, specifying that you’ll attack the first enemy that comes around the corner of the crate. This is a perfectly legal and strategic maneuver.
Important Considerations
While combining a bonus action and a readied action is permissible, there are some considerations to keep in mind:
- Spellcasting Restrictions: If you cast a spell as a bonus action, the only other spell you can cast that turn is a cantrip with a casting time of one action. This restriction applies regardless of whether you are taking a standard action or using the Ready action. If you used your bonus action to cast Healing Word, your readied action could only be to cast a cantrip.
- Reactions: When you use your Ready action, you are essentially setting aside your reaction for the round. Keep in mind that you won’t be able to use other reactions, such as an opportunity attack or the counterspell spell, until your next turn.
- Triggering the Readied Action: You must be able to perceive the trigger for your readied action. If the trigger doesn’t occur before your next turn, you lose the readied action.
Mastering Actions for Strategic Gameplay
Understanding the intricacies of actions and bonus actions is crucial for effective gameplay in D&D 5e. Combining these actions strategically, including using the Ready action in conjunction with bonus actions, can significantly impact the flow of combat and give your character a tactical edge.
The best way to master these concepts is through practice and experience at the table. Don’t be afraid to experiment with different combinations and see how they play out in various situations. The Games Learning Society provides a rich platform for exploring such strategic depths in gaming. Visit GamesLearningSociety.org to discover more about learning and gaming.
Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)
Here are 15 frequently asked questions about bonus actions and the Ready action in 5e:
1. Can I use my movement before and after a bonus action?
Yes, you can typically break up your movement around your action and bonus action unless the bonus action’s timing is explicitly specified.
2. Can I hold my action to cast a bonus action spell?
The rules don’t allow you to Ready a bonus action. You Ready an action, which can then be used to cast a spell (subject to spellcasting restrictions).
3. If I Ready an action, can I still take a reaction on someone else’s turn?
No. When you Ready an action, you’re essentially “holding” your reaction for that round, waiting for your trigger to occur. If the trigger happens, you use your reaction to perform the action you readied. If it doesn’t, you lose the readied action.
4. Can I cast two leveled spells in one turn if one is a bonus action?
No. If you cast a spell as a bonus action, the only other spell you can cast that turn must be a cantrip with a casting time of 1 action.
5. Can I use a bonus action on someone else’s turn?
Generally, no. Bonus actions are taken on your turn. However, some rare abilities or spells might allow you to use a bonus action outside of your turn.
6. What happens if I am incapacitated? Can I still use a bonus action?
If you are incapacitated, you cannot take any actions, reactions, or bonus actions.
7. Can I use Action Surge to get another bonus action?
No, Action Surge grants you an additional action, not a bonus action.
8. If I have multiple extra attacks, can I use a bonus action between those attacks?
Yes, you can take your bonus action between attacks. However, remember that a bonus action uses your bonus action slot.
9. Can I cast a cantrip as a bonus action?
The basic rules don’t let you cast a cantrip as a bonus action unless you have a specific ability or feat that allows it. If you cast any spell as a bonus action, you can only cast a cantrip as your action.
10. If I miss with my attack action, can I still use my bonus action?
Yes, missing an attack action does not prevent you from taking a bonus action.
11. Can I use the Help action as a bonus action?
Generally, no. The Help action is normally an action. However, some abilities or feats might allow you to use it as a bonus action.
12. Can I move, use a bonus action, then move again?
Yes, unless the bonus action specifically restricts movement, you can break up your movement around your bonus action and action.
13. Can I use a bonus action if I Dash as my action?
Yes, Dashing as your action doesn’t prevent you from using a bonus action, assuming you have one available and an ability that allows you to use it.
14. Can I use a bonus action to reload a crossbow and then attack with it using my action?
Possibly. Some feats or abilities might allow you to reload as a bonus action. Otherwise, reloading a crossbow usually takes an action, or requires the Crossbow Expert feat to allow an attack as a bonus action after loading.
15. Can I use the Dodge action as a bonus action?
The Dodge action typically requires an action. Only specific class features or feats will allow you to Dodge as a bonus action.