Can You Use a Bonus Action Cantrip and an Action Cantrip in D&D 5e?
Yes, absolutely! You can use a bonus action cantrip and an action cantrip in the same turn in Dungeons & Dragons 5th edition, but there are specific rules to follow. The key lies in understanding the limitations placed on spellcasting when you use a spell as a bonus action. Let’s dive into the details and clarify how this works, along with related questions.
Understanding the Spellcasting Rules
The core rule is this: If you cast any spell as a bonus action, the only other spells you can cast during that same turn are cantrips with a casting time of 1 action. This means that if you start your turn by casting a bonus action spell like Healing Word, you can then only cast an action cantrip, such as Fire Bolt, as your action.
This rule stems from a desire to balance the action economy and prevent characters from unleashing too much magic power in a single turn. It limits the amount of higher-level spells or impactful spells a character can use when a bonus action spell is also deployed. Importantly, cantrips are still spells, and this restriction applies even if that bonus action spell is a cantrip.
The Specific Order
It’s important to note that the order doesn’t matter. Whether you cast a bonus action spell first or an action spell first, the limitation still applies if a spell was cast using a bonus action. The restriction is independent of the order the actions are taken. If a bonus action spell is cast during a turn, the only other spells cast during that turn must be cantrips with a casting time of one action.
Examples in Gameplay
Let’s illustrate with a couple of common scenarios:
- Scenario 1: You’re a Warlock, and you begin your turn using a Hex as a bonus action. Then, as your action, you can cast Eldritch Blast. Both Hex and Eldritch Blast are spells, however Eldritch Blast is a cantrip.
- Scenario 2: You’re a Cleric, and you’re using your bonus action to cast Sacred Flame. As your action, you can cast another cantrip like Guidance.
In both cases, the rule is followed because if a spell was cast as a bonus action, the only other spells that can be cast must be cantrips with a casting time of one action.
Why is This Important?
This rule is important because it introduces tactical choices for players. Should you use a powerful bonus action spell like Misty Step and be limited to a cantrip for damage, or should you cast a damaging action spell and leave your bonus action for something else? This adds depth to the game and encourages thoughtful decision-making.
Common Misconceptions
A common misconception is that you cannot cast two cantrips in one turn, which is untrue. You can cast two cantrips, but only under the condition that one of the cantrips uses a bonus action to cast. Without a bonus action spell, the rules don’t restrict the use of multiple action cantrips if other features allow multiple actions.
Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)
Here are some frequently asked questions about casting cantrips and other spells, to clarify the rules further:
1. Can you cast two cantrips if one is a bonus action and the other is an action?
Yes. This is the central topic of this article. If you cast any spell as a bonus action, the only other spells you can cast that turn are cantrips with a casting time of 1 action.
2. Can you use two cantrips in one turn if both are action cantrips?
Yes, if you have a feature that allows you to take multiple actions. Generally, you have only one action per turn, but features such as Action Surge from the Fighter class allow for this to occur.
3. What if you have an action and bonus action cantrip with the same name?
You can cast the same cantrip twice in one turn if one is cast as a bonus action and the other as an action. The limitation only applies to different spells, not the same spell cast more than once.
4. Can you cast a spell of 1st level or higher as an action and a cantrip as a bonus action?
No. If you cast any spell as a bonus action, the only other spells you can cast that turn are cantrips with a casting time of 1 action. If you cast a spell of 1st level or higher as an action, you are not subject to these casting restrictions.
5. Can you use two bonus actions in one turn?
No. You can only use one bonus action per turn, no matter how many feats or abilities you have that grant them.
6. Does Metamagic work on cantrips?
Yes. Metamagic, such as the Sorcerer’s Quicken Spell, can be used on cantrips. For instance, you can use Quicken Spell to cast a cantrip as a bonus action and then cast a cantrip with an action.
7. Can you use a bonus action and then hold an action?
No. The Ready action allows you to prepare a single attack, spell, or action, but not a bonus action.
8. Can you use a bonus action and a reaction in the same turn?
Yes, a reaction is a separate action type you can perform in addition to an action and bonus action. You can use a bonus action and a reaction in the same turn as long as the reaction trigger occurs.
9. Can you cast Eldritch Blast as a bonus action?
Normally, no. Eldritch Blast has a casting time of 1 action. However, specific abilities like Quicken Spell can change a spell’s casting time from an action to a bonus action. There are also some subclasses that can grant the ability to cast Eldritch Blast as a bonus action, but this is not the norm.
10. Do cantrips count as spell attacks?
Yes. Cantrips use your spell attack modifier (d20 + Proficiency Bonus + Spellcasting Ability modifier).
11. Can a warlock cast two cantrips in one turn?
Yes, as long as one of the cantrips was cast as a bonus action and the other as an action, following the usual restrictions. Otherwise, abilities that grant multiple actions must be in play to use multiple cantrips in a turn if both are action cantrips.
12. Can a Barbarian cast cantrips while raging?
No. You cannot cast spells while raging, including cantrips.
13. Can you cast a bonus action spell and an action spell?
Yes. However, if the bonus action spell is a 1st level or higher spell, the action spell must be a cantrip with a casting time of 1 action.
14. If you have two attacks, can you cast two cantrips instead?
No. If you take the Attack action, you can replace one of your attacks with a cantrip. However, you cannot take the Attack action and cast two cantrips. This doesn’t include the possibility of casting cantrips with other actions available to you.
15. Can you twin Eldritch Blast?
Yes, if the character is between levels 1 and 4, Eldritch Blast can only target one creature, making it a valid target for Metamagic Twin Spell. If the character is level 5 or higher Eldritch Blast shoots multiple beams, and cannot be twinned.
Conclusion
In summary, yes, you can absolutely use a bonus action cantrip and an action cantrip in the same turn, but you must carefully observe the rules for using bonus action spells. Understanding this, along with the nuances of spellcasting, is crucial for optimizing your gameplay and maximizing your character’s potential. Always remember to refer to the specific wording of your class abilities, spells, and feats for the most accurate application of these rules.