Can You Use a Reaction as a Bonus Action?
The answer to whether you can use a reaction as a bonus action is no, as reactions and bonus actions are distinct concepts in the game, with reactions being instant responses to specific triggers and bonus actions being additional actions that can be taken on your turn. According to the rules, reactions and bonus actions have different requirements and restrictions, and using a reaction as a bonus action would not be in line with the game’s mechanics.
Understanding Reactions and Bonus Actions
To delve deeper into the relationship between reactions and bonus actions, it’s essential to understand what each term means. A reaction is an instant response to a trigger, which can occur on your turn or someone else’s, whereas a bonus action is an additional action that can be taken on your turn, provided by specific abilities, spells, or features.
Frequently Asked Questions
1. What is the Difference Between a Reaction and a Bonus Action?
A reaction is a type of response to a trigger, while a bonus action is an additional action that can be taken on your turn.
2. Can You Use a Reaction as an Action?
According to the rules, a reaction is a special type of action, but it cannot be used as a substitute for a regular action.
3. What Can Be Used as a Bonus Action?
Bonus actions depend on a character’s abilities, and can be provided by race abilities, class features, spellcasting, and magic items.
4. Can You Substitute an Action for a Bonus Action?
No, actions and bonus actions are not interchangeable, as stated in the Sage Advice Compendium.
5. Can You Dash as a Bonus Action and Action in the Same Turn?
No, dash normally takes an action and can’t be used at the same time as an attack or any other action ability, but at rogue 2, you can use dash as either a normal or bonus action.
6. What are the Rules for Bonus Actions in D&D?
You can take a bonus action only when a special ability, spell, or other feature of the game states that you can do something as a bonus action.
7. Can Rangers Hide as a Bonus Action?
Yes, starting at 14th level, Rangers can use the Hide action as a bonus action on their turn.
8. Can You Use a Cantrip as a Bonus Action?
Cantrips can be cast as bonus actions through the Sorcerer’s Metamagic (Quickened Spell), but normally, they cost an action to cast.
9. Are Action and Reaction Interchangeable?
No, actions and reactions are not interchangeable, and they have different requirements and restrictions.
10. Can You Cast Reaction Spells as a Bonus Action?
No, you cannot use a reaction and a bonus action spell on your turn, but you can do so on someone else’s turn.
11. When Can You Use a Reaction in D&D?
You can use a reaction on your turn if you meet the appropriate trigger for the reaction.
12. Can You Use a Reaction Spell and a Bonus Action Spell on the Same Turn?
No, a spell cast with a bonus action is especially swift, and you can’t cast another spell during the same turn, except for a cantrip.
13. Can You Use Eldritch Blast as a Bonus Action?
Yes, there are ways to use Eldritch Blast as a bonus action, such as taking the Magic Initiate feat or multi-classing into Warlock and using Quicken Metamagic.
14. Can You Cast 2 Cantrips in One Turn?
No, you cannot cast two cantrips during one action, but you can cast a cantrip as your action if you’ve used a bonus action to cast a spell.
15. Does Paralyzed Stop Bonus Actions?
Yes, an incapacitated character cannot take bonus actions, as anything that deprives you of your ability to take actions also prevents you from taking a bonus action.