Tapping Into the Truth: Can You Use a Tap Ability on a Tapped Creature?
Yes, you absolutely can target a tapped creature with a tap ability in Magic: The Gathering. While it might seem counterintuitive at first, understanding how the game mechanics work reveals why this is a perfectly legal and, in some cases, strategically relevant play. The key is to remember that applying a “tap” effect to an already tapped creature usually doesn’t do anything tangible in terms of changing its state. However, the other effects associated with that ability still resolve.
The action of tapping the creature might be redundant if it is already tapped, but other effects associated with the activated ability will still apply as the activated ability text resolves. It’s like trying to turn off a light that’s already off; the switch may not physically change anything, but any other consequences tied to flipping that switch still happen. Understanding this nuance is vital for mastering more complex interactions in Magic.
Decoding Tap Abilities and Tapped Creatures
Before we dive into the specifics, let’s clarify some fundamental concepts.
-
Tap Abilities: These are activated abilities that require the permanent to be tapped as part of the cost or effect. They’re identified by the tap symbol ({T}) in the ability’s cost or within the ability’s text itself.
-
Tapped Creatures: A creature is considered “tapped” when it’s rotated 90 degrees clockwise. Tapped creatures generally can’t attack or block, and they don’t untap during your untap step unless otherwise specified.
The confusion often arises because players assume that tapping is an action that must change a creature’s state. In reality, the “tap” effect is simply part of the ability resolution. If the creature is already tapped, the game acknowledges this and moves on to any other effects described in the ability. The fact that a creature is already tapped has no impact on other parts of the ability resolving.
Why Target a Tapped Creature?
So, why would you even bother targeting a tapped creature with a tap ability? Here are a few common scenarios:
-
Additional Effects: Many tap abilities have additional effects besides just tapping. For example, an ability might say, “Tap target creature. That creature doesn’t untap during its controller’s next untap step.” In this case, targeting a tapped creature ensures it stays tapped for another turn, effectively locking it down.
-
Triggered Abilities: Some cards have abilities that trigger whenever a creature is targeted by a spell or ability. Targeting a tapped creature could trigger these abilities, even if the tap effect itself is redundant.
-
Combat Tricks: You might use a tap ability on a tapped creature as a combat trick to activate a triggered ability or even to fulfill some other specific card requirements.
Common Misconceptions
It’s essential to dispel some common misconceptions about tapping and tapped creatures:
-
Tapping is not always a cost. Some abilities have tapping as part of their resolution instead of their cost.
-
Tapping doesn’t “reset” a creature. Tapping a tapped creature doesn’t somehow untap it or remove any other effects that might be affecting it.
-
Summoning sickness still matters. Just because a creature is already tapped doesn’t mean it can suddenly use tap abilities if it’s suffering from summoning sickness.
Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)
Here are 15 frequently asked questions to further illuminate the intricacies of tap abilities and tapped creatures:
Can a tapped creature block?
No. A tapped creature cannot block. The creature must be untapped at the moment that blockers are declared. However, as mentioned above, you may find a way to untap the creature after you declare it as a blocker and before damage is dealt to it.
Does attacking count as tapping a creature?
Yes. When you declare a creature as an attacker, it becomes tapped as part of the process. This is a fundamental part of the combat phase.
Can you tap a creature without haste?
Yes, but with restrictions. You can only activate a creature’s tap ability if you’ve controlled that creature continuously since the start of your most recent turn unless that creature has haste.
Can you tap a creature during another player’s turn?
Yes, if you have an instant-speed ability that allows you to tap a creature. Summoning sickness only applies to your own turn and abilities.
Can you tap a creature twice in one turn?
Not without help. You can only tap a creature once unless you have a way to untap it and then tap it again using an ability.
Can you sacrifice a tapped creature?
Yes, absolutely. Whether a creature is tapped or untapped has no bearing on your ability to sacrifice it, as long as you meet any other conditions for the sacrifice effect.
Can you enchant a tapped creature?
Yes. The tapped status of a creature doesn’t prevent you from enchanting it. If an enchantment requires the creature to be untapped, that will be explicitly stated on the card.
What happens if you mutate onto a tapped creature?
If you mutate a creature onto a tapped creature, the resulting merged creature will also be tapped.
Does sleep affect tapped creatures?
Yes. The spell, Sleep, taps all creatures of the targeted player regardless of their current status. If a creature is already tapped, it simply remains tapped.
When a tapped land becomes a creature, is it still tapped?
Yes. If a land is tapped and then becomes a creature (through an effect like that of a manland) it remains tapped.
Can you tap an already tapped artifact?
The rules treat artifacts, creatures, and lands essentially the same in this context. If an ability attempts to tap a tapped artifact, the action of tapping it is disregarded, but other effects still resolve.
Does Deathtouch work when blocking?
Yes. Deathtouch works whenever a creature deals damage, whether it’s attacking, blocking, or fighting.
Can you use tap abilities with haste?
Yes. Haste allows you to use tap abilities on the turn a creature enters the battlefield, bypassing the usual summoning sickness restriction.
Can you target a tapped creature with a tap effect?
Yes, as explained throughout this article. It might not seem immediately useful, but it’s a perfectly legal play with potential strategic implications.
Can you tap a creature just because?
No. You can’t simply tap a creature without activating an ability or spell that instructs you to do so. The act of tapping must be tied to a game effect.
Mastering the Nuances
Understanding these nuances surrounding tap abilities and tapped creatures is essential for becoming a skilled Magic player. While tapping an already tapped creature might seem pointless, recognizing the context and potential strategic advantages can give you an edge in your games. Always read the cards carefully, consider the entire board state, and don’t be afraid to experiment with unconventional plays. This will serve you well as you explore the multifaceted nature of Magic: The Gathering!
Magic is an amazing game, and it’s educational too. Find out more about the Games Learning Society and their efforts to explore the connection between learning and digital games at GamesLearningSociety.org.