Can You Use Flurry of Blows After Moving? A Comprehensive Monk Guide
The short answer is a resounding yes. You can absolutely use Flurry of Blows after moving in Dungeons & Dragons 5th Edition (5e). The monk class is built around mobility and fluid combat, and the Flurry of Blows ability is no exception. This flexibility allows monks to dart around the battlefield, striking with precision and speed. Let’s dive into the details and clear up any confusion about this potent monk ability.
Understanding Flurry of Blows and Movement
Core Mechanics
Flurry of Blows, a staple ability for monks, allows them to make two additional unarmed strikes as a bonus action after taking the Attack action on their turn. Crucially, this bonus action doesn’t come with movement restrictions. This means you aren’t locked into standing in one spot to unleash your flurry.
The Attack Action Precedent
To use Flurry of Blows, you first need to take the Attack action. This means making at least one attack. Importantly, the rules don’t require you to complete all of your attacks within the Attack action before using Flurry of Blows. You can make one attack as part of the Attack action, move, and then use your bonus action to trigger Flurry of Blows which provides two more attacks.
Movement and Action Sequencing
Here’s where it gets interesting. You can freely interweave your movement with your attacks. You could:
- Make an attack, move, and then use Flurry of Blows.
- Move, then make an attack, then move again, then use Flurry of Blows.
- Even move between the attacks granted by Flurry of Blows itself! This incredible freedom lets you reposition strategically as you attack.
The key takeaway is that D&D 5e is designed to be a dynamic game where players can execute their turns in a flexible order. Flurry of Blows is a testament to this.
Flurry of Blows: A Closer Look
Ki Point Cost
Remember, using Flurry of Blows requires a ki point, a monk’s resource. This means resource management is crucial. You won’t be able to use other bonus action abilities like Patient Defense or Step of the Wind on the same turn you use Flurry of Blows, so strategic choices are necessary.
Multiple Attacks
When you use Flurry of Blows, you get two extra unarmed attacks. These are separate attack rolls, each requiring an individual roll. There is a misconception that you get three attacks with flurry of blows, while it’s actually two extra attacks. The monk class gets an extra unarmed attack as a bonus action with the martial arts ability. With flurry of blows, that bonus action attack is changed to be two unarmed attacks.
Target Variations
Although, the description of the ability may seem to limit it to a single target, that is untrue. You can spread your attacks from Flurry of Blows amongst different targets as needed. This makes the monk exceptionally dangerous when surrounded by enemies. The quote from the provided text about targeting one enemy with two punches is incorrect.
Subclass Synergies
Some monk subclasses interact with Flurry of Blows in unique ways. For instance, the Way of Mercy allows you to substitute an unarmed strike from flurry of blows with Hands of Harm or Hands of Healing. Also, some subclasses may have movement abilities that compliment Flurry of Blows, further enhancing a monk’s agility in combat.
15 Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs) About Flurry of Blows and Movement
1. Does Flurry of Blows require me to use unarmed strikes?
Yes. Flurry of Blows allows you to make two unarmed strikes as a bonus action. You can’t, for instance, make weapon attacks with Flurry of Blows unless you have a special feature that modifies it.
2. Can I use Flurry of Blows if I make a ranged attack during my Attack action?
Yes. Whether you make a melee or ranged attack during your Attack action doesn’t matter when it comes to using Flurry of Blows. You can attack at range, and then use Flurry of Blows to make two unarmed strikes in melee, or vice versa. The attack action need only occur. It does not matter how the attack action occurs.
3. Can I split the attacks from Flurry of Blows between different creatures?
Absolutely! You can choose to make each unarmed strike from Flurry of Blows against different creatures. This adds great versatility to the ability. You are not limited to attacking the same target.
4. Can I move between the two attacks granted by Flurry of Blows?
Yes, you can. The game doesn’t force you to complete all Flurry of Blows attacks without moving. Move before the first attack, move again between the two attacks or after, as long as you have movement left. You can intersperse your movement between attacks.
5. Does Flurry of Blows stack with the extra unarmed strike from Martial Arts?
No. Flurry of Blows modifies your bonus action, which is where your extra Martial Arts attack normally comes from. You cannot perform two separate bonus actions. It’s a choice; one or the other for your bonus action.
6. Can I use Flurry of Blows if I am wearing armor?
Monks can use Flurry of Blows if they are wearing light armor. However, wearing medium or heavy armor prevents you from using the ability. Some special monk subclasses such as the Sohei can use light armor and still keep the flurry of blows ability.
7. Does Flurry of Blows count for Agile Parry?
No. Agile Parry specifically requires an unarmed strike as part of the Attack action, not the bonus action from Flurry of Blows. The unarmed strike must be part of the attack action.
8. Can I use Action Surge to use Flurry of Blows more than once in a turn?
No. Action Surge grants you an additional action, but not an additional bonus action. Flurry of Blows is a bonus action ability, which can only be used once.
9. Can I use Flurry of Blows with a weapon?
Normally, Flurry of Blows is limited to unarmed strikes. Some subclass abilities may allow a different use of the ability.
10. Can I use Flurry of Blows if I move before I attack with my Attack action?
Yes! You are not required to attack and then move. You can move first, then attack, and then use Flurry of Blows. The order of operations does not matter.
11. Can I use Flurry of Blows with weapons if I have the Dual Wielder feat?
No. Even with the Dual Wielder feat, Flurry of Blows still only works with unarmed strikes, unless a subclass states otherwise. You can, however, use any weapon you have available for your Attack action.
12. Can I use Flurry of Blows to attack different targets?
Yes, you can attack separate creatures with the two attacks granted by Flurry of Blows.
13. How many attacks can I get with Flurry of Blows?
With Flurry of Blows, you make two additional attacks, in addition to the attack you made during your Attack Action. With the initial attack and the two granted by flurry of blows, you would get three attacks.
14. Do I have to roll twice for Flurry of Blows?
Yes. Each unarmed attack granted by Flurry of Blows requires a separate attack roll. You would roll for each attack separately.
15. Can I use other bonus actions on the same turn as Flurry of Blows?
No. You can only use one bonus action per turn. Since Flurry of Blows uses a bonus action, you can’t use another bonus action ability on the same turn. You can only do one or the other.
Conclusion
The ability to use Flurry of Blows after moving is a core part of the monk’s flexible and dynamic fighting style. Understanding this movement capability allows players to maximize their effectiveness on the battlefield. Remember the key mechanics, manage your ki, and move freely between your attacks. This strategic flexibility makes the monk a powerful and versatile class in D&D 5e. Happy adventuring!