Can you use flurry of blows as an action?

Can You Use Flurry of Blows as an Action? A Comprehensive Monk Guide

No, you cannot use Flurry of Blows as an action in Dungeons & Dragons 5th Edition (5e). Flurry of Blows is explicitly a bonus action that a monk can use after taking the Attack action on their turn. It’s a key part of the monk class’s combat style, but it’s important to understand how it fits within the action economy of the game. Let’s break down why it can’t be used as an action, how it works, and answer some common questions related to the ability.

Understanding the Action Economy

In 5e, each turn in combat is broken down into actions, bonus actions, movement, and reactions. Only one action, one bonus action (unless specified otherwise by another ability or effect), one movement action, and one reaction are allowed per turn. Flurry of Blows requires a bonus action and 1 ki point (or 2 ki points if you choose to use the rage benefit at 6th level), meaning it can’t be used as a main action. This fundamental rule prevents you from initiating combat with a Flurry of Blows; you must attack first.

The Prerequisite: The Attack Action

To use Flurry of Blows, a monk must first take the Attack action. This means the monk has to use their main action to attack at least once before they can use the bonus action for Flurry of Blows. In effect, this sets up the rhythm of a monk’s combat turn, and it is critical to how Flurry of Blows fits into the monk’s toolkit.

How Flurry of Blows Actually Works

After using the Attack action, a monk can expend 1 ki point and their bonus action to activate Flurry of Blows. This allows them to make two unarmed strikes as part of that bonus action. It’s essential to remember that these are still individual attacks, and each requires a separate attack roll. You do not automatically hit with any of the attacks from Flurry of Blows.

What You Can and Cannot Do With Your Bonus Action

Because Flurry of Blows utilizes a bonus action, this also means that you cannot use any other bonus actions on the same turn. This includes other monk abilities such as Patient Defense or Step of the Wind, presenting players with a strategic decision regarding how to use their monk class to best effect.

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)

Here are some frequently asked questions to further clarify how Flurry of Blows works within the game rules:

1. Does Flurry of Blows count as an Attack action?

No, Flurry of Blows is not an attack action; it’s a bonus action. The Attack action must always precede Flurry of Blows.

2. Can I use Flurry of Blows with a weapon?

Yes, sometimes. As long as the monk has the Monastic Weaponry class feature, they can use Flurry of Blows with melee monk weapons. Without this feature, Flurry of Blows only allows for two unarmed strikes by default. Keep in mind that attacks made with Flurry of Blows must be melee strikes.

3. Do I automatically hit with Flurry of Blows?

No, each attack made using Flurry of Blows requires a separate attack roll. You must roll to hit for each unarmed strike.

4. Can I use Flurry of Blows and Rage simultaneously?

Yes, but with a caveat. At 6th level, some monks can choose to spend an additional ki point when using Flurry of Blows to grant advantage on both attacks. This interacts with other class features and is not related to rage, although it can make your monk more effective in combat by increasing hit rates.

5. Does Flurry of Blows stack with Two-Weapon Fighting?

No, Flurry of Blows does not stack with Two-Weapon Fighting. You must choose to use either Flurry of Blows (as a bonus action after making at least one attack with your action) or Two-Weapon Fighting (as a bonus action after making an attack with a light melee weapon.)

6. Does Flurry of Blows stack with Agile Parry?

No, Agile Parry requires you to make an unarmed strike as part of the Attack action. Bonus action attacks from Martial Arts or Flurry of Blows do not count.

7. Does Flurry of Blows stack with Martial Arts?

No, you must choose between the bonus action attack from Martial Arts or Flurry of Blows. You cannot use both in the same turn. Both of these abilities use a bonus action and only one can be used per round.

8. Can I use Hands of Harm with Flurry of Blows?

Yes! You can replace each unarmed strike with a use of Hands of Healing without spending ki. Additionally, you can use Hand of Harm with any of the unarmed strikes from Flurry of Blows, without expending a ki point for each strike.

9. Can I use Flurry of Blows on multiple targets?

No, Flurry of Blows can only target a single enemy with the two strikes. This is a departure from some interpretations of earlier editions.

10. Can I use Flurry of Blows with a quarterstaff?

By default, attacks made with Flurry of Blows must be unarmed strikes, unless you have the Monastic Weaponry feature which allows you to use monk weapons.

11. Can I use Flurry of Blows with a shield?

Yes, Monks do not lose the ability to use Flurry of Blows if they wear armor or use a shield, though a monk may gain more benefits by fighting without these encumbrances.

12. How many attacks can I make with Flurry of Blows at level 5?

At level 5, a monk can make four attacks when using Flurry of Blows. They get the first two as part of their Attack action and then an additional two attacks with Flurry of Blows as a bonus action.

13. Does Flurry of Blows stack with Rapid Shot?

Yes, generally speaking feats and class features that grant additional attacks all stack with each other. As such, Flurry of Blows will stack with Rapid Shot, though both are based on a bonus action, so a player must choose one or the other in each round.

14. Can a Wildshape druid use Flurry of Blows?

It’s up to your DM’s discretion; you retain the use of features your wild shape form is physiologically capable of executing. Most likely, yes, you could use Flurry of Blows.

15. Can you multiclass a monk and a barbarian?

Yes, you can, but it is a challenging multiclass. While some monk and barbarian features will play well together (unarmored defense, for instance), the two classes have different playstyles and ki usage/rage mechanics, so it is important to make sure the multiclass choice will work for your style.

Conclusion

In summary, while Flurry of Blows is an incredibly powerful ability for monks, it’s crucial to understand that it is a bonus action that relies on the Attack action. It’s not an action itself, and it cannot be used instead of the Attack action. By grasping these fundamental rules, you can maximize your monk’s potential and make the most of this core combat feature. Remember to make use of both the action and bonus action economy. Use both to your advantage and your monk will be powerful and effective.

Leave a Comment