Can You Use Mage Hand the Same Turn You Summon It?
The short answer is no, you cannot use Mage Hand in the same turn you summon it according to the standard rules of Dungeons and Dragons 5th Edition (5e). While the imagery of a spectral hand springing to your aid immediately is tempting, the mechanics of the spell dictate otherwise. Let’s delve into why this is the case, how it impacts gameplay, and explore related questions about this versatile cantrip.
Understanding the Action Economy and Mage Hand
The core of the issue lies in the action economy of D&D 5e. Each turn in combat, characters typically have one action, one bonus action, and movement. To cast a spell, including Mage Hand, generally requires your action. The spell itself doesn’t contain any text that would allow for simultaneous use, unlike other spells such as Spiritual Weapon.
Here’s the crucial breakdown:
- Casting Mage Hand: This requires your full action.
- Controlling Mage Hand: This also requires an action (or a bonus action, as we’ll discuss later).
Therefore, on the turn you cast Mage Hand, your action is consumed by the casting. You must then wait until your subsequent turn to utilize the hand. This design creates a brief delay, allowing opponents a chance to react to the newly summoned hand, or even disrupt your concentration with damage.
The Tactical Implications of the Delay
This delay has significant tactical implications in combat situations:
- Risk of Concentration: Casting Mage Hand requires concentration. If you suffer damage before you can use it, you might lose your concentration and the hand will vanish without ever performing an action.
- Action Economy Cost: Spending a full action to summon a tool you can’t use immediately is a significant cost in a fast-paced combat scenario.
- Predictability: Knowing that a caster must wait to use the Mage Hand gives opponents an opportunity to anticipate your actions and plan accordingly.
This delay often makes using Mage Hand in the thick of combat a tactical gamble, forcing players to rely more heavily on its out-of-combat utility and less on its combat potential.
Bonus Action Usage of Mage Hand
While you can’t use the Mage Hand on the turn you cast it with your action, it’s important to note an exception: you can use it with a bonus action if you have one available. This means if you have another ability that allows you to use your bonus action to use a cantrip, you can control the Mage Hand on the same turn you cast it. This often involves specific class features or feats.
However, the fundamental limitation remains: you must still spend your action to summon it first. The use of a bonus action to manipulate the hand means you are not using the action economy to cast the spell and control it on the same turn. Instead, you’re using your action to cast it, and using a bonus action to perform an action with the hand on your next turn or on the same turn using a class feature or feat.
Frequently Asked Questions about Mage Hand
Here are some frequently asked questions about Mage Hand, designed to offer a comprehensive understanding of this cantrip:
1. What are the rules for how a Mage Hand can be used?
A Mage Hand can be used to manipulate an object, open an unlocked door or container, stow or retrieve an item from an open container, or pour the contents out of a vial. You can move the hand up to 30 feet each time you use it. The hand can’t attack, activate magical items, or carry more than 10 pounds.
2. Can you cast Mage Hand more than once?
You can cast Mage Hand again. If you do, any existing Mage Hand created from that spell vanishes. The spell’s description states the hand vanishes if you cast the spell again.
3. Does Mage Hand take two actions to use?
Yes, it typically requires two separate actions. One to cast the spell (summon the hand), and a subsequent action to control it. However, you can also use a bonus action to control it if you have a feature that allows it.
4. How long does Mage Hand last?
Mage Hand lasts for one minute unless you dismiss it as an action or if you cast the spell again. It also disappears if it is ever more than 30 feet away from you.
5. Can you use Mage Hand to disarm traps?
Yes, Mage Hand can be used to safely disarm traps. Though it can’t reveal traps, it can attempt to disarm them once discovered. This can be done by using the hand to manipulate a trigger or mechanism.
6. Can a gnome fly with Mage Hand?
While a clever idea, using Mage Hand to carry a gnome (reduced in weight by the spell Reduce) to fly is not intended by the rules. It can lift a lightweight gnome, but its primary function is to manipulate objects, not serve as a form of locomotion. Also, the Reduce spell only lasts one minute and requires concentration.
7. Can Mage Hand carry a Bag of Holding?
Mage Hand can interact with the opening of a bag of holding and retrieve or place items, but not carry the bag itself. The rules do not allow the hand to lift the entire bag because the mouth of the bag is not an object to be manipulated.
8. Can Mage Hand open a chest?
Yes, Mage Hand can open an unlocked chest. It is designed to grab, toss and manipulate objects, including opening chests and bags (if they are not magically sealed).
9. Can you use Mage Hand to pick a lock?
Typically, Mage Hand cannot pick locks. However, the Arcane Trickster Rogue subclass gains a special version of Mage Hand that can pick locks, open chests and pickpocket, requiring a Sleight of Hand check.
10. Can you use Mage Hand to steal items?
Yes, you can use Mage Hand to steal items within its limitations, such as the weight limit of 10 pounds. You may still trigger traps and other negative events that result in theft.
11. Can you lift yourself with Mage Hand?
Technically, Mage Hand can lift and move objects up to 10 lbs. If you weigh less than 10 pounds, you could attempt to use the hand to lift you, but this is not a conventional use and may not work. It’s also limited to 30 feet in movement per turn.
12. Can you use a wand with Mage Hand?
Yes, Mage Hand can be used to manipulate a wand or scroll as long as they are not considered a magical item that require attunement or have specific magic properties that require the caster to use them.
13. Can I cast two cantrips in one turn?
You can cast multiple cantrips in one turn if you have multiple actions or bonus actions you can use to do so.
14. Can you cast two spells of level one or higher in one turn?
No, you cannot cast two spells of 1st-level or higher in the same turn unless one of them is a specific type of bonus action spell. A spell cast with a bonus action is especially swift. You must use a bonus action on your turn to cast the spell, provided that you haven’t already taken a bonus action this turn. You can’t cast another spell during the same turn, except for a cantrip with a casting time of 1 action.
15. Can you use Mage Hand and a spell with a bonus action?
Yes, you can use Mage Hand as an action and then use a bonus action spell on the same turn. You can also cast a spell as your action and then use a bonus action to control the Mage Hand if you have class features that permit it.
Conclusion
In summary, while it might seem natural to control Mage Hand immediately after summoning it, the rules of D&D 5e dictate that the action economy generally prevents this. You must wait until your next turn to use the hand, or use a bonus action if permitted by a class feature. However, the limitations of the spell’s usage don’t detract from its overall utility and versatility. Understanding these mechanics will help players use Mage Hand strategically and effectively both inside and outside of combat.