Can You Use Monster Reborn on Ritual Monsters? Your Comprehensive Guide
Yes, you can use Monster Reborn on Ritual Monsters, but only if they were properly Ritual Summoned first. This is a crucial distinction. Just throwing a Ritual Monster into the Graveyard without properly performing the Ritual Summon does not make it eligible for revival with cards like Monster Reborn.
Understanding Summoning Conditions
The key lies in understanding the concept of “properly summoned”. In Yu-Gi-Oh!, some monsters have specific summoning conditions that must be met before they can be Special Summoned from the Graveyard or banished zone. Ritual Monsters are among these.
What Does “Properly Summoned” Mean?
For a Ritual Monster to be considered “properly summoned,” it must first be Ritual Summoned by using a Ritual Spell Card that specifically lists that Ritual Monster by name and Tributing monsters whose total Levels equal or exceed the Level of the Ritual Monster. This process must be executed correctly according to the Ritual Spell Card’s instructions.
The Impact on Revival Spells
Cards like Monster Reborn, Call of the Haunted, and Premature Burial can only Special Summon monsters from the Graveyard (or banished zone in some cases) if those monsters were originally summoned correctly following the rules. Therefore, if a Ritual Monster ends up in your Graveyard without having been Ritual Summoned first (e.g., discarded from the hand or sent directly from the Deck), it cannot be Special Summoned by these cards.
FAQs: Ritual Monsters and Revival
Here are 15 frequently asked questions to further clarify the rules surrounding Ritual Monsters and their revival.
1. Can I use Monster Reborn on a Ritual Monster if it was sent to the Graveyard by a card effect without being Ritual Summoned?
No. As emphasized earlier, the Ritual Monster must be properly Ritual Summoned first before it can be Special Summoned from the Graveyard. If it was discarded, milled, or otherwise sent to the Graveyard without being Ritual Summoned, it cannot be revived with Monster Reborn or similar cards.
2. What if I Ritual Summoned a Ritual Monster, and then it was destroyed and sent to the Graveyard? Can I use Monster Reborn then?
Yes! In this scenario, the Ritual Monster was properly summoned before being sent to the Graveyard. Therefore, you can use Monster Reborn or other similar cards to Special Summon it from the Graveyard.
3. Does banishing a Ritual Monster after it’s been properly summoned affect my ability to revive it?
No. The banishing itself doesn’t negate the fact that it was properly summoned. Cards like Monster Reborn can Special Summon monsters from either the Graveyard or banished zone (if the card allows banishing zones as target), provided they were initially summoned correctly.
4. Can I use Ritual Summoning cards to Special Summon Ritual Monsters from the Graveyard?
No. Ritual Summoning cards can only be used to summon monsters from your hand. They are not designed to Special Summon Ritual Monsters from the Graveyard. You need revival cards like Monster Reborn for that, provided the Ritual Monster was properly summoned in the first place.
5. What happens if my Ritual Monster is flipped face-down by a card effect after being Ritual Summoned?
Flipping a Ritual Monster face-down after it has been properly summoned doesn’t negate its proper summoning status. If it’s later destroyed and sent to the Graveyard, it can still be Special Summoned with cards like Monster Reborn.
6. Can I use “Pot of The Forbidden” to Special Summon a Ritual Monster?
No. Pot of The Forbidden can only summon Normal monsters.
7. Does the Ritual Monster need to stay on the field for a certain amount of time to be considered properly summoned?
No. There is no minimum time a Ritual Monster needs to remain on the field. As long as it was properly Ritual Summoned following the correct procedure, it’s considered properly summoned even if it’s destroyed immediately afterward.
8. Are there any cards that can Special Summon Ritual Monsters from the Graveyard even if they weren’t properly summoned first?
There are very few cards that bypass the “properly summoned” requirement, and they often come with severe restrictions or only apply to specific monsters. Review the specific card text carefully to confirm its effect. In most cases, you must properly summon the monster first.
9. If a Ritual Monster is used as material for a Fusion, Synchro, Xyz, or Link Summon after being properly Ritual Summoned, can it be revived?
Yes. Using a Ritual Monster as material for another Extra Deck Summon does not negate its proper summoning status. If it ends up in the Graveyard after being used as material, it can still be Special Summoned with cards like Monster Reborn.
10. Can I use “Polymerization” to summon Ritual Monsters from the Graveyard?
No, Polymerization can only summon Fusion Monsters from the Extra Deck.
11. If my opponent sends my Ritual Monster to the Graveyard without it being Ritual Summoned, can they use Monster Reborn to Special Summon it?
No. The rule applies to everyone. The Ritual Monster must be properly Ritual Summoned first, regardless of who controls it or attempts to revive it.
12. Are there any specific cards that can prevent me from reviving my properly Ritual Summoned Ritual Monster?
Yes. Cards like Macro Cosmos, Dimensional Fissure, or Banisher of Radiance can prevent cards from going to the Graveyard, sending them to the banished zone instead. Other cards can negate the activation or effect of Monster Reborn.
13. Can I use Monster Reborn on a Ritual Monster that was properly Ritual Summoned and then returned to my hand?
No. Monster Reborn only Special Summons monsters from the Graveyard or banished zone. A Ritual Monster in your hand is not a valid target for Monster Reborn.
14. What about Ritual Pendulum Monsters? Does the same rule apply?
Yes. The same rules apply to Ritual Pendulum Monsters. They must first be properly Ritual Summoned before they can be Special Summoned from the Graveyard or face-up Extra Deck (after being Pendulum Summoned or otherwise sent there) with cards like Monster Reborn.
15. Are there any Ritual Monsters with unique revival conditions?
Some Ritual Monsters may have additional or slightly modified revival conditions described on their card text. Always read the card carefully to understand any unique requirements or exceptions. However, the fundamental principle of needing to be properly summoned first usually still applies.
Conclusion: Mastering Ritual Monster Revival
Understanding the rules surrounding Ritual Monster revival is crucial for strategic gameplay. Remember the key takeaway: a Ritual Monster must be properly Ritual Summoned first before it can be targeted by revival cards like Monster Reborn. By mastering this rule and considering the nuances discussed in the FAQs, you can effectively utilize Ritual Monsters in your deck and make informed decisions during duels.