Can you use Scapegoat to Tribute Summon?
You cannot use Scapegoat tokens for Tribute Summons, as they are not allowed to be tributed, but Scapeghost tokens can be used for Tribute Summons. The main difference between the two is that Scapegoat tokens have limitations on their usage, whereas Scapeghost tokens do not have the same restrictions, allowing them to be tributed for Tribute Summons.
Related FAQs
General Questions
What is the rule for Tribute Summon?
Any monster of Level 5 or higher requires a Tribute Summon. Monsters that are Level 5 or 6 require one monster to be tributed, while monsters of Level 7 or higher require 2 monsters to be tributed.
Can you use a token as a Tribute Summon?
Normally, TOKENs cannot be used for a Tribute Summon because they disappear when leaving the Monster Zone and cannot be sent to the Graveyard.
Can you Tribute Summon using face-down cards?
You can always Tribute your own face-down monsters, even if the Tribute relies on factors which would not be public knowledge.
Specific Scenarios
Do Tribute Summons have to be face-up?
By offering a monster as a Tribute, the turn player is able to summon a monster from their hand in face-up Attack or face-down Defense position, which is called a Tribute Set.
Can you Tribute unaffected cards?
Even if a monster is unaffected by Spell effects, that monster can still be Tributed for the Tribute Summon.
Can you link summon with Scapegoat tokens?
Yes, but not on the same turn you activated Scapegoat. You can use the tokens it summons for Link Material in a turn other than the one they were summoned in.
Card-Specific Questions
Can you use Scapegoat?
You can only activate Scapegoat if you have 4 or more vacant Monster Card Zones.
Can you chain to a Tribute Summon?
You cannot Chain to a Summon because a Summon does not activate or resolve, and because of that, they also do not have a Spell Speed.
Token-Related Questions
Can Scapegoat tokens be used for Synchro?
Tokens are never really “treated” as monsters because they ARE monsters and therefore can be Tributed, have effects, and be effected by game mechanics such as Synchro Summoning.
Can Slime tokens be tributed?
Yes, Slime Tokens can be Tributed for a Tribute Summon.
Can you Tribute Kuriboh tokens?
The Kuriboh Tokens can be used as Tributes to summon certain monsters, since their summon is a Special Summon, not a Tribute Summon.
Miscellaneous Questions
What is the problem with Scapegoat?
Scapegoating is a destructive behavior that can have long-term psychological effects on both parties involved.
Is Scapegoat a bad thing?
The Scapegoat is a family member that is easier to place blame on rather than take responsibility for our own actions and mistakes, which is harmful to the entire family unit.
Can you use Double Summon to Tribute Summon?
Tribute Summon is a Normal Summon. Unless you play Double Summon beforehand, you cannot Tribute Summon the same turn you Normal Summon.
Why can’t I use tokens for Xyz Summon?
Token Monsters cannot be used as Xyz Material for an Xyz Summon, because they cannot be attached as Xyz Materials due to not existing outside of the field.
Can Crooked Cook be tributed?
If Crooked Cook is all you have, then your best option would be to Tribute it for a Kaiju.
Can you Tribute Spell and Trap cards?
Tributing is one of the required steps when activating card effects or Tribute Summoning monsters. At a basic level, it is “sending a monster to the Graveyard“. Since Monster Cards in the Spell & Trap Zone are treated as Equip Spell Cards, and not as monsters, they cannot be Tributed.