Can you use two cantrips in 5e?
The answer to whether you can use two cantrips in 5e is yes, you can cast multiple cantrips in a single turn, provided you have the actions available to do so, and the specific rules for casting cantrips are followed. This is because cantrips are 0-level spells that can be cast at will, without using a spell slot, allowing for greater flexibility in spellcasting during a turn.
Understanding Cantrips
Definition and Usage
To delve deeper into the use of cantrips in 5e, it’s essential to understand what cantrips are and how they function. Cantrips are spells that can be cast at will, without the need for spell slots, making them infinitely usable during a campaign, given that the caster has the actions required to cast them.
Frequently Asked Questions
- What is the rule for casting a spell with a bonus action and then casting another spell? The rule states that if you cast any spell with a bonus action, the only other spells you can cast that turn are cantrips with a casting time of 1 action.
- Can you cast two cantrips at once? Yes, you can cast as many cantrips as you have actions for, but if you cast a spell of 1st-level or higher – or a cantrip – as a bonus action, you can still cast a cantrip as your action.
- How many cantrips can you use per day? Any character can cast any cantrips they know at will and an unlimited number of times, unless the feature that lets them cast it specifically says otherwise.
- Is there a limit to cantrips in 5e? No, there is no limit on the usage of cantrips; they can be cast as an action every round without any cooldown or limit per day.
- Can you cast two cantrips in one turn with Action Surge? Yes, with Action Surge, you can cast two cantrips in one turn because Action Surge gives you an additional action on your turn.
- Can you cast two cantrips if you have two attacks? You can cast a cantrip in replacement of an attack during the Attack action, but only one; to cast another cantrip, you would need an additional action or haste cast on you.
- How many cantrips can you use per round? You can cast two cantrips with two actions (Action Surge), or two cantrips, one with an action and one with a bonus action (Quickened Spell), or even three cantrips with combinations of actions and bonus actions.
- What are the rules for cantrips? Cantrips are spells that can be cast at will, without using a spell slot and without being prepared in advance, with a spell level of 0.
- What is the cantrip only rule? If you cast any spell using a bonus action, the only other spell that can be cast that turn is a cantrip with a casting time of 1 action.
- How many cantrips can I use? You can cast cantrips as often as you want, with their action cost being what is specified in the spell description.
- Can you use cantrips indefinitely? Yes, cantrips can be cast an unlimited number of times, but their power tends to be low or situational.
- Are cantrips worth it? Yes, cantrips are valuable for any spellcaster, as they can be cast whenever wanted, as many times as desired, making them a fundamental part of a spellcaster’s arsenal.
- Do cantrips count for spell slots? No, cantrips do not use spell slots; they are cast at will without consuming any spell slots.
- Can you counter a cantrip? You can’t counterspell a cantrip, but Spell Immunity works, and Clever Counterspell can counter a cantrip by expending an appropriate non-cantrip spell of an appropriate level.
- Is a level 0 spell a cantrip? Yes, in 5e, a level 0 spell is considered a cantrip, which means it can be cast without using a spell slot and can be cast as many times as desired.