Do Adventure Spells Count as Creature Spells?
Adventure spells do not count as creature spells when cast as the adventure part, but they can be cast as a creature spell when cast from exile, and while a card with an adventure is in the graveyard, it’s not considered an instant or sorcery, but rather maintains the characteristics of the main spell, which is a creature. The adventure card is a creature card in every zone except the stack, and it can be cast as an instant or sorcery when cast as the adventure part, but it is not considered a non-creature spell.
Understanding Adventure Spells
To provide more insight into adventure spells, let’s explore some frequently asked questions related to this topic.
Frequently Asked Questions
1. What is an Adventure Spell?
An adventure spell is a spell subtype seen on instant and sorcery cards attached to creature or artifact cards, which represents sending the creature or artifact “on an adventure” before putting the card onto the battlefield.
2. Do Adventure Spells Count as Non-Creature Spells?
No, adventure spells do not count as non-creature spells because they maintain the characteristics of the main spell, which is a creature.
3. Can You Cast an Adventure Spell as a Creature Spell?
Yes, you can cast an adventure spell as a creature spell when cast from exile.
4. Are Adventure Cards Sorceries?
Adventure spells are thematic instants or sorceries that relate to a permanent, but they are not solely sorceries.
5. Do Lands Count as Spells?
No, playing a land is a special action that doesn’t use the stack, and it is never a spell.
6. Does Playing a Card Count as Casting?
No, the relationship between playing and casting is one-sided: “playing a card” includes casting a spell, but “casting” never includes playing a land.
7. What Instant Card has the Highest Converted Mana Cost in Magic?
The instant card with the highest converted mana cost in Magic is Draco, with a converted mana cost of 16.
8. Can You Target a Creature Spell?
Yes, a spell can require a player to target a creature, and specific rules apply when a spell has one or more targets.
9. Does Double Strike Count as First Strike?
No, double strike isn’t first strike, and effects that make a creature lose first strike won’t make it lose double strike.
10. Are Creature Tokens Considered Creatures?
Yes, creature tokens are considered creatures and operate just like any other permanent in almost all ways.
11. Is Heliod a Creature Spell?
Yes, Heliod is always a creature spell while it’s on the stack.
12. Do Planeswalkers Count as Creature Spells?
No, planeswalkers are not creatures, and spells and abilities that affect creatures won’t affect them.
13. Do Vehicles Count as Creature Spells?
No, vehicles are an artifact type, not a creature type, and a vehicle that’s crewed won’t have any creature type.
14. Do Tokens Count as Casting a Creature Spell?
No, you are only casting a spell if you’re putting a card onto the stack, and tokens are not cards.
15. What is Considered a Non-Creature Spell?
A non-creature spell is something like an instant, sorcery, artifact, enchantment, or planeswalker, which does not have the type of creature or land.