Do Artifact Creatures Go To The Graveyard? A Comprehensive MTG Guide
Yes, artifact creatures absolutely go to the graveyard! Think of them as having a dual citizenship in the Magic: The Gathering universe. They are both artifacts and creatures, meaning they are subject to the rules that govern both types of permanents. When an artifact creature is destroyed (either through lethal damage or a destroy effect), sacrificed, or its toughness reaches zero, it ends up in its owner’s graveyard, just like any other creature. The “artifact-ness” doesn’t change this fundamental rule.
Understanding Artifact Creatures
Artifact creatures are one of the more fascinating card types in Magic: The Gathering. They blend the strategic versatility of artifacts with the combat presence of creatures. These permanents can represent anything from robots and animated constructs to living beings augmented with metal. Because they possess both types, they’re vulnerable to effects that target either artifacts or creatures, and they benefit from effects that boost either type. This duality is key to understanding how they interact with the graveyard.
Death and Destruction
The primary way an artifact creature ends up in the graveyard is through destruction. This can occur in a few ways:
-
Lethal Damage: If an artifact creature takes damage equal to or greater than its toughness, it’s destroyed and sent to the graveyard. This is the most common scenario.
-
“Destroy” Effects: Many spells and abilities explicitly state that they “destroy” a target permanent. If that target is an artifact creature, it goes to the graveyard. Examples include cards like “Murder” or “Shatter”.
-
Toughness Reduction: If an effect reduces an artifact creature’s toughness to zero or less, it’s destroyed and goes to the graveyard.
-
Sacrifice: Some effects require a player to sacrifice a permanent. If you sacrifice an artifact creature, it goes to the graveyard.
-
The Legend Rule: In some formats, if you control two legendary permanents with the same name, you must choose one to keep and send the other to the graveyard. If the legendary permanent is an artifact creature, it follows this rule.
Interactions with the Graveyard
Once an artifact creature is in the graveyard, it becomes subject to the effects that target cards in graveyards. Many cards in MTG allow you to retrieve creatures or artifacts from the graveyard, providing opportunities to reuse your valuable artifact creatures. This adds another layer of strategic depth to playing with and against artifact creatures.
Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)
Here are some frequently asked questions about artifact creatures and their interactions with the graveyard:
-
If an artifact creature is destroyed, does it trigger both “dies” and “artifact leaves the battlefield” abilities?
Yes, it does! Since an artifact creature is both an artifact and a creature, it triggers any abilities that trigger when a creature dies or an artifact leaves the battlefield. This can create powerful synergistic plays.
-
Does an artifact creature with indestructible still go to the graveyard if it’s dealt lethal damage by a creature with deathtouch?
No. Indestructible creatures can’t be destroyed by deathtouch.
-
Can I return an artifact creature from my graveyard to the battlefield with a spell that targets creatures?
Yes, you can. As long as the spell or ability targets creatures specifically, an artifact creature in the graveyard is a valid target.
-
What happens if I exile an artifact creature and then it would be put into the graveyard?
If a card is exiled, it goes to the exile zone, not the graveyard. It would only go to the graveyard if it were to somehow move from the exile zone to the graveyard.
-
Are artifact creatures affected by summoning sickness?
Yes. Because they are creatures, artifact creatures are affected by summoning sickness. They can’t attack or use activated abilities with the tap or untap symbol unless you’ve controlled them continuously since the beginning of your most recent turn.
-
If an artifact creature is also an enchantment, how does that affect its interaction with the graveyard?
It still goes to the graveyard when destroyed. The fact that it’s also an enchantment would trigger any “enchantment dies” triggers in addition to the artifact and creature triggers.
-
Can I equip an Equipment artifact to an artifact creature?
Yes, you can. As long as the equip cost is paid and the equipment’s rules allow it to be attached to a creature, you can equip it to an artifact creature. If that artifact creature dies, the equipment will remain on the battlefield.
-
Does an artifact creature count as a permanent for the purposes of cards that reference permanents?
Yes, it does. Artifact creatures are permanents, so any card that affects permanents will affect them.
-
Can I use a counterspell to prevent an artifact creature from being destroyed?
No. Counterspells only work on spells. Destroy effects are often abilities, not spells. You may have to counter the ability with something like Stifle.
-
If an artifact creature is returned to my hand, does it lose its “artifact” or “creature” status?
No. The card retains both its “artifact” and “creature” types while it’s in your hand.
-
If an opponent controls an effect that says “Creatures you control have deathtouch” will my artifact creatures have deathtouch as well?
Yes, artifact creatures will have deathtouch if an effect grants it to all creatures.
-
Are artifact creatures always colorless?
No, artifact creatures are not always colorless. While many artifacts are colorless, an artifact creature can have a colored mana cost, making it a colored artifact creature.
-
If an artifact creature with the Defender ability is destroyed, does the Defender ability still apply while it’s in the graveyard?
No, abilities like Defender only apply while the card is on the battlefield. Once it’s in the graveyard, the Defender ability is no longer relevant.
-
Can an artifact creature be exiled instead of going to the graveyard?
Yes, artifact creatures can be exiled. Exile is another zone where permanents can go, often used as a more permanent removal method than the graveyard.
-
If a card says “Whenever an artifact you control is put into a graveyard,” does that ability trigger when an artifact creature is destroyed?
Yes, it does. Because the artifact creature is an artifact, the ability will trigger. Cards such as Marionette Master, will activate if an artifact you control is put into a graveyard from the battlefield, target opponent loses life equal to Marionette Master’s power.
Understanding the nuances of artifact creatures, including their interactions with the graveyard, can significantly enhance your Magic: The Gathering gameplay. They offer strategic possibilities and synergies that can lead to powerful and unique decks. For more information on how games can be used for learning and education, explore the Games Learning Society at GamesLearningSociety.org.