Do cards in graveyards count as permanents?

Decoding the Graveyard: Permanents and Magic: The Gathering

No, cards in graveyards do not count as permanents in Magic: The Gathering. A permanent is specifically defined as a card or token on the battlefield. The graveyard is a separate zone with its own distinct rules and properties.

Understanding Permanents in Magic: The Gathering

Magic: The Gathering (MTG) is a complex game with precise terminology. A solid understanding of these terms is crucial for mastering the game. One such key term is “permanent.” In MTG, a permanent is a card or token on the battlefield. Creatures, enchantments, artifacts, lands, and planeswalkers all become permanents when they are successfully cast or enter the battlefield.

Think of the battlefield as the primary stage for the game’s ongoing narrative. Permanents are the actors and set pieces that are actively influencing the game state. Once a card leaves your hand, library, or graveyard and makes its way onto the battlefield, it transitions from being a mere card to a permanent (assuming it’s one of the card types that can become a permanent).

The Graveyard: A Resting Place, Not a Battlefield

The graveyard, on the other hand, is a different zone entirely. It’s where cards go when they are destroyed, sacrificed, discarded, or otherwise removed from the battlefield, hand, or library. The graveyard is a zone of memory, holding the remnants of past actions and potential future resources.

While the graveyard can be a powerful resource, enabling strategies like recursion (bringing cards back from the graveyard) or fueling abilities that count the number of cards within it, the cards residing there are specifically not considered permanents. They are simply cards in the graveyard zone. Their permanence ended (or never began) the moment they left the battlefield (if they were ever there to begin with).

The distinction is vital because numerous cards and abilities refer specifically to “permanents” or “cards in your graveyard,” and the effect will only apply to cards that meet the precise description. For instance, a card that says “Destroy target permanent” cannot target a card in the graveyard. Similarly, a card that says “Return target creature card from your graveyard to the battlefield” cannot target a creature on the battlefield.

Why This Distinction Matters

The distinction between permanents and cards in other zones (like the graveyard) is fundamental to the game’s rules and balance. It prevents unintended interactions and ensures that abilities function as intended. If cards in the graveyard were considered permanents, it would create numerous loopholes and break many card interactions.

Consider a hypothetical scenario: A card reads, “Whenever a permanent enters the battlefield under your control, gain 1 life.” If cards in the graveyard were considered permanents, you could potentially gain life repeatedly by simply discarding cards and then finding a way to get them into your graveyard. This example illustrates how crucial this distinction is for maintaining the integrity of the game.

FAQs: Deep Diving into Permanents and Graveyards

Here are 15 frequently asked questions to further clarify the relationship between permanents and the graveyard in Magic: The Gathering:

1. What types of cards can become permanents?

Cards that can become permanents include creatures, enchantments, artifacts, lands, and planeswalkers.

2. Can instants and sorceries be permanents?

No, instants and sorceries cannot be permanents. They are spells that are cast and then immediately put into the graveyard after resolving.

3. Does a creature card in my hand count as a permanent?

No, a creature card in your hand is simply a card in your hand. It only becomes a permanent when it is successfully cast and enters the battlefield.

4. If a permanent is destroyed, does it go to the graveyard immediately?

Yes, when a permanent is destroyed (or otherwise leaves the battlefield), it typically goes to the graveyard. There are exceptions, such as cards that exile themselves or return to their owner’s hand.

5. Can I use an ability that targets permanents to target cards in the graveyard?

No, abilities that specifically target permanents cannot target cards in the graveyard. They can only target cards or tokens on the battlefield.

6. Are tokens considered permanents?

Yes, tokens on the battlefield are considered permanents. They follow the same rules as other permanents. When a token leaves the battlefield, it ceases to exist and does not go to the graveyard.

7. What happens if a permanent is exiled?

When a permanent is exiled, it is removed from the battlefield and placed in the exile zone. It is no longer a permanent and is separate from both the battlefield and the graveyard.

8. Can I return a permanent card from my graveyard to the battlefield?

Yes, many cards allow you to return permanent cards (like creatures, enchantments, or artifacts) from your graveyard to the battlefield. This is a common strategy known as recursion.

9. Does the graveyard have a maximum size?

No, the graveyard has no maximum size. You can have as many cards in your graveyard as you want.

10. What is the difference between “permanent card” and “permanent”?

Permanent card” refers to a card that can become a permanent if it were on the battlefield. This includes creature cards, enchantment cards, artifact cards, land cards, and planeswalker cards, regardless of which zone they are currently in. “Permanent” refers specifically to a permanent card that is currently on the battlefield.

11. Can I sacrifice a card from my hand to activate an ability?

Some cards specifically allow you to sacrifice a card from your hand. However, generally, you can only sacrifice permanents that are on the battlefield.

12. If a card refers to “all permanents,” does that include my lands?

Yes, if a card’s effect applies to “all permanents,” it includes creatures, enchantments, artifacts, lands, and planeswalkers on the battlefield.

13. If a permanent is bounced (returned to my hand), is it still considered a permanent?

No, when a permanent is bounced (returned to your hand), it is no longer a permanent. It is now a card in your hand.

14. Can I counter a spell that would put a permanent onto the battlefield?

Yes, you can counter a spell that would put a permanent onto the battlefield. Countering the spell prevents it from resolving, meaning the permanent card never enters the battlefield.

15. Are there any cards that interact specifically with cards in graveyards?

Yes, there are numerous cards that interact specifically with cards in graveyards. These cards often involve recursion, graveyard hate (cards that exile or otherwise remove cards from graveyards), or abilities that are fueled by the number of cards in a graveyard. Some strategies revolve entirely around filling your graveyard and using it as a resource. Learning about these cards and strategies can significantly enhance your gameplay.

Mastering the Zones: A Key to Victory

Understanding the distinction between permanents and cards in other zones, particularly the graveyard, is essential for playing Magic: The Gathering effectively. Recognizing the rules that govern each zone and how they interact with one another is a crucial step towards mastering the game’s strategic depth. By understanding these basic rules of Magic: The Gathering, you can better your game and gain additional insights into the core design of the game, such as game balance and resource management. For more insights into game design and learning, consider visiting the Games Learning Society website at https://www.gameslearningsociety.org/. Through understanding, you can apply these principles in Magic, or even use them in your own game design. Remember, the graveyard may hold valuable resources, but it’s the permanents on the battlefield that truly shape the course of the game.

Leave a Comment