Decoding Copying in Magic: The Gathering – What’s the CMC of a Copied Spell?
Yes, copied spells absolutely have a Converted Mana Cost (CMC)! The CMC is a copiable characteristic, meaning that when a spell is copied, the copy inherits the original spell’s mana cost and, consequently, its CMC. This holds true regardless of how the spell is copied – whether through cards like “Fork”, abilities like “Storm”, or effects that create copies of spells on the stack. Understanding this fundamental aspect of Magic’s rules is crucial for both casual and competitive play, as it impacts card interactions, strategy, and even deckbuilding.
Understanding Copiable Characteristics
To fully grasp why copied spells retain the CMC of their originals, we need to dive into the concept of copiable characteristics. These are a defined set of attributes that define a permanent or spell, which includes name, mana cost, color, types, subtypes, supertypes, rules text, power, and toughness. When something becomes a copy, it generally takes on all these characteristics from the original.
The mana cost is a copiable value, meaning the copy will have the same mana cost as whatever it’s copying. Since CMC is derived directly from the mana cost, it follows that the CMC is also copied. It’s important to remember that CMC represents the total amount of mana required to cast a spell, not necessarily the color breakdown.
Implications for Gameplay
The fact that copied spells retain their CMC has several important implications for gameplay:
-
Chalice of the Void: Cards like “Chalice of the Void” can counter copied spells if their CMC matches the setting on the Chalice. Although the storm copies are not “cast,” the Chalice can still effectively counter these copies if they share the appropriate CMC.
-
Mana Acceleration: Knowing the CMC of copied spells allows players to effectively plan their mana usage and acceleration strategies. For example, generating enough mana to copy a high-cost spell can turn the tide of a game.
-
Countermagic: You can target and counter copied spells, just like any other spell on the stack. Their CMC determines which counterspells are effective.
-
Interactions with Other Cards: Cards that interact with spells based on their CMC will also interact with copied spells accordingly. Cards that provide mana based on the spell cost, can trigger or provide the appropriate mana for copied spells.
Exceptions and Nuances
While the general rule is that copied spells retain the CMC of the original, there are some nuances and exceptions to consider:
-
Tokens: Most tokens have a CMC of 0. However, some tokens copy a creature in play; those tokens DO have a CMC because they have a mana cost to reference, and mana cost is a copyable trait.
-
Cards with X in their Mana Cost: When a spell with X in its mana cost is on the stack, the value of X is considered when determining its CMC. When copying such a spell, the copy will have the same value of X chosen for it when it was initially cast, thus the copy’s CMC will also consider the value of X that was chosen.
Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)
1. Do token copies have CMC?
If a token is a copy of another permanent or card, then it has all of the characteristics of the original, including its mana cost. So, its converted mana cost is the same as the converted mana cost of the original permanent. However, most tokens created that are not copies have a CMC of 0.
2. Can you counter a copied spell?
Absolutely! A growing number of cards can copy permanent spells, which become tokens once the copy of the spell resolves. However, these copies are still spells until they leave the stack, and can therefore be countered, re-copied, or otherwise targeted just like other spells on the stack.
3. How do you counter a spell with replicate?
Countering any iteration of a replicated spell only counters the copy targeted by the counter. So if the original Pyromatics is countered, the replicate cost can be paid and copies put on the stack which resolve before the counter.
4. Do copies of creatures get counters?
It won’t copy counters on whatever it is copying though it may get counters because the copied creature has an ability that gives it counters as it enters. Copying a creature with counters on it will not give the copied creature the counters.
5. Do token copies have CMC 0?
The mana cost does not exist, so you treat it as 0. Thus the CMC for most token creatures is 0. However, some tokens copy a creature in play; those tokens DO have a CMC because they have a mana cost to reference, and mana cost is a copyable trait.
6. Does a copy count as a token?
No. The cards that he puts facedown on the battlefield are facedown creature permanents represented by cards, not tokens. The copies of those cards created in the graveyard and cast when the facedown creature permanents deal combat damage to a player are copies of cards, not tokens.
7. Do copies have mana value?
These rules apply regardless of whether a permanent copy is a token or a non-token card. Generally, if the mana cost is able to be copied, the mana value is copied also. If the mana value cannot be copied, the mana value of the copy is 0.
8. Where does my copied stuff go?
Your Android’s keyboard has a “clipboard” option that lets you see everything you’ve copied for the last hour. Android 13 also adds a “visual clipboard” to your Android phone, so you can see exactly what you’ve copied. If you tap your Android’s visual clipboard, you’ll also have a chance to edit whatever you’ve copied.
9. Do tokens have casting cost?
A token is a permanent that is not represented by a regular card with a casting cost. They are created by the effects of many different spells and abilities, rather than being cast from a zone (such as the hand) like normal cards.
10. Do flipped cards have CMC?
The flipside of double-faced cards now has the same CMC as the front. When double-faced cards are on the stack, they have a CMC.
11. Does copying a creature spell count as creating a token?
Yes, copying a creature spell creates a token. A copy of a permanent spell becomes a token as it resolves. The token has the characteristics of the spell that became that token. The token is not “created” for the purposes of any replacement effects or triggered abilities that refer to creating a token.
12. Can you meld with a token copy?
You can only meld the specifically named cards together. No melding mismatched pairs. If you create a token copy of one part of a meld pair and then try to meld that token, it won’t work out – the token blinks out of existence when it gets exiled, and the other half of the meld then stays in exile.
13. Do copied spells count for storm?
Copying a spell, regardless of whether it’s with storm or some other ability, doesn’t count as a “cast.” It’s the result of an ability, not its own casted spell. The only spell being cast when you use storm is the card with storm on it.
14. Do token copies have devotion?
Tokens don’t count towards devotion unless the token is an exact copy of something with mana pips. It’s all about whether or not the permanent has a mana cost, which can vary depending on how the token was created.
15. Is mana value the same as CMC?
Yes, while “mana value” is simply the modern term for “converted mana cost.” Enthusiastic Mechanaut doesn’t change the mana value of your cards; it just lets you cast them more cheaply.
Conclusion
Understanding the nuances of copying in Magic: The Gathering, especially concerning Converted Mana Cost, is crucial for successful gameplay. The fact that copied spells generally retain the CMC of their originals opens up a world of strategic possibilities and card interactions. By understanding how the copy mechanics work with CMC, players can master key card interactions, and enhance their deckbuilding. For more information and learning resources, check out the Games Learning Society at GamesLearningSociety.org. Understanding these rules and strategies can help players of all levels improve their Magic: The Gathering skills and understanding.