Do copies have mana value?

Deciphering Copies: Unveiling the Mana Value Mystery in Magic: The Gathering

Yes, copies can absolutely have a mana value. The exact mana value of a copy depends on what is being copied and how the copy effect is created. It’s a nuanced topic, so let’s dive deep!

Understanding Mana Value and Copies

The concept of mana value (MV), formerly known as converted mana cost (CMC), is crucial to understanding how copies work in Magic: The Gathering. Mana value represents the total amount of mana required to cast a spell or the inherent “cost” of a permanent. It’s derived from the mana cost printed in the upper right-hand corner of a card.

Now, when we talk about copies, things get interesting. The general rule is that a copy attempts to replicate as much of the original object as possible. This includes the mana cost, and consequently, the mana value. However, there are exceptions and nuances to consider.

  • Copying Permanents: If you copy a permanent, such as with a card like Clone or Sculpting Steel, the copy usually inherits the mana cost and thus the mana value of the original. So, if you use Clone to copy a Grizzly Bears, your Clone copy will have a mana value of 2.
  • Token Copies: Token copies, often created by cards like Rite of Replication or Helm of the Host, function similarly. They copy the mana cost and resulting mana value of the object they are mimicking. If you create a token copy of a creature with mana cost of {3}{G}, that token will have a mana value of 4.
  • Spells and Abilities: Copying spells or abilities, such as with Twincast or Increasing Vengeance, does not involve casting the copy. As a result, even though the copy exists on the stack, it isn’t considered to have been cast.
  • Exceptions to the Rule: There are scenarios where the copy effect specifically overrides the normal behavior. For instance, if a copy effect states that the copy enters the battlefield as a “0/0 creature,” it doesn’t inherit the original object’s power and toughness. Similarly, certain copy effects might prevent the copying of the mana cost, resulting in a mana value of 0 for the copy.
  • Tokens with No Mana Cost: In the absence of a copying effect, tokens generally have a mana value of 0, simply because they don’t have an associated mana cost. However, this is not the case when those tokens are copies of another object, then they will adopt the mana cost and mana value of the original permanent.

In summary, copies typically inherit the mana cost and mana value of what they’re copying, but it’s crucial to pay attention to the specific wording of the copy effect to identify any potential deviations from this general rule. Let’s move onto some common questions.

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs) about Mana Value and Copies

1. Do token copies retain mana value?

Yes, token copies generally retain the mana value of the original object they are copying. The token copies the mana cost of the original, alongside its other characteristics. As mana value is derived from mana cost, the token copy will have the same mana value as the original.

2. Does copying a spell count as casting for storm?

No, copying a spell does not count as casting for the storm ability. The storm copies are put directly onto the stack — they aren’t cast. That means the copies don’t generate storm copies themselves, and they aren’t counted by other storm spells cast later during the turn. For more information, see rule 706.10.

3. What is the mana value of a token?

Generally, tokens have a mana value of 0 because they do not have a mana cost. This makes cards like Displacement Wave incredibly effective against tokens. However, this is not applicable to token copies, which will generally have a mana value that is equal to the mana value of the card that they copied.

4. Do copies trigger ETB (Enters the Battlefield) effects?

Yes, if the text that’s being copied includes any abilities that replace the enters-the-battlefield (ETB) event (such as “enters the battlefield with” or “as [this] enters the battlefield” abilities), those abilities will take effect. Also, any enters-the-battlefield triggered abilities of the copy will have a chance to trigger.

5. Does Sakashima copy mana cost?

Yes, mana cost (and by derivation, mana value) is a copiable characteristic. Since your Hellkite’s CMC is 6, the Sakashima copying your Hellkite also has a mana value of 6.

6. Can Sculpting Steel copy an artifact creature?

Yes, Sculpting Steel can copy an artifact creature. However, Sculpting Steel doesn’t copy whether the original artifact is tapped or untapped. It also doesn’t copy any counters on that artifact, any Auras or Equipment attached to that artifact, or any effects that are currently affecting that artifact — you get exactly what’s printed on the chosen card and nothing more.

7. What is the mana cost of a copy of a melded permanent?

If a permanent is a copy of a melded permanent (even if that copy is represented by two other meld cards), the mana value of the copy is 0.

8. Do token copies have abilities?

Yes, token copies enter the battlefield and trigger any relevant abilities. They also trigger any dies or leaves the battlefield triggers when they die, though once in the graveyard they stop existing they still hit the graveyard to trigger those abilities. The token has the abilities of what it copies.

9. Can token copies be legendary? Does the Legend Rule Apply to Tokens?

Yes, the legend rule applies to tokens. When on the battlefield, tokens are subject to the same rules as all other permanents, including the legend rule. What matters isn’t whether two legendary cards are identical, but whether they have the same name.

10. What happens if I copy Grapeshot? Does Grapeshot include copies?

The spell Grapeshot only does 1 point of damage, the storm effect just makes copies of the spell. Also the storm ability won’t trigger with the copy because it requires the spell to be cast, and a copy of a spell is not cast. So the final damage tally is 14 points.

11. Does storm trigger on copies?

A copy of a spell with storm will have storm, but copying the spell will not make storm trigger — copying a spell is not the same as casting it (C.R. 707.10, 702.40a). Storm is a Cast Trigger; It only Triggers when the Spell is Cast.

12. Does copying a spell trigger cascade?

Cascade won’t trigger if you put a copy of a spell with cascade on the stack (due to Cloven Casting or Twincast, for example). That’s because you didn’t cast the copy (such as with Isochron Scepter). Countering the original spell doesn’t counter the cascade ability.

13. What Copiable Values Do Tokens & Token Copies Have?

Mana cost is a copiable value. The copy will have the same mana value as whatever it’s copying.

14. What is the mana value of sculpting steel copy?

Sculpting Steel has a mana value of 3 while not on the battlefield. Its mana value may change as a result of being a copy of another artifact. In that case it will be the mana value of whatever it’s copying. A copy will have all the qualities of the original unless otherwise specified on the card.

15. If a token copy gets exiled does it die?

A token doesn’t “die” if it’s exiled, but it does cease to exist. Dying specifically refers to moving from the battlefield to the graveyard. Exile is a different zone altogether. However, “leaves the battlefield” triggers will still be put onto the stack if a token is exiled.

Concluding Thoughts

The relationship between copies and mana value in Magic: The Gathering is a complex but fascinating one. It underscores the importance of carefully reading card text and understanding the underlying rules. By mastering these nuances, you can make more informed decisions in your games and unlock new strategic possibilities. GamesLearningSociety.org provides valuable resources and insights into the cognitive skills developed through gaming, and can offer additional perspectives on the strategic thinking involved in Magic: The Gathering. Check out the Games Learning Society to learn more about the educational aspect of gaming!

Leave a Comment