Do creatures lose enchantments when they transform?

Transforming Creatures: Do They Shed Their Enchantments Like Old Skin?

The world of trading card games, like Magic: The Gathering, is filled with intricate rules and interactions. One common question that arises among players, both new and experienced, revolves around creature transformations and their interactions with enchantments. So, the burning question: Do creatures lose their enchantments when they transform?

The short answer is: generally, no. When a creature transforms, it retains its enchantments. Think of it as a caterpillar transforming into a butterfly; the butterfly still carries the essence of the caterpillar within it. However, as always in these games, there are exceptions to the rule. Let’s delve into the nuances of this interaction.

The General Rule: Enchantments Stick Around

In most scenarios, transforming a creature is akin to flipping it over to reveal its other side. The creature remains on the battlefield and simply changes its characteristics. This means that any Auras enchanting it, Equipment attached to it, and even counters placed upon it all stay put. Your +1/+1 counters, your powerful Auras granting flying, and your trusty sword – all remain with your creature, even after its dramatic transformation.

Exceptions to the Rule: When Transformations Become More Complicated

The beautiful thing about trading card games is their depth and complexity. Certain card designs introduce exceptions to the basic rules, and transformations are no different.

  • Exile and Return: Some cards use a transform mechanic that involves exiling the creature and then returning it to the battlefield transformed. This is crucial because exiling a permanent causes it to be treated as a new object. Any Auras, Equipment, or counters that were attached to it are left behind in the graveyard. Cards that specify, “Exile this, then return it to the battlefield transformed” will cause you to lose enchantments.

  • Transformation into Incompatible Types: Another instance where enchantments fall off involves the type of permanent the creature transforms into. Auras can only enchant permanents of specific types. For example, if an Aura states that it can only enchant a creature, and the permanent transforms into a land, the Aura will “fall off” and be sent to the graveyard as a state-based action. The Aura becomes unable to enchant the target it’s currently attached to.

  • Specific Card Abilities: As always, carefully read the card! Some cards may have unique abilities that specifically remove enchantments as part of their transformation process. These are exceptions defined by the individual card’s text and will override the general rule.

Understanding the Underlying Principles

To truly grasp the interaction between transformations and enchantments, it’s important to understand the fundamental principles at play:

  • Permanents on the Battlefield: Transformation, in its simplest form, doesn’t remove a permanent from the battlefield. It modifies its characteristics.
  • Aura Attachment: Auras enchant permanents, and as long as the permanent remains on the battlefield and is a valid target for the Aura, the enchantment persists.
  • State-Based Actions: The game constantly checks for certain conditions, and if those conditions are met, it performs “state-based actions”. One such action is removing Auras that are attached to invalid targets.
  • Exile as Removal: Exile is a zone change. Moving a permanent to the exile zone completely severs its connection to anything that was attached to it.

Navigating the Complexity: Tips for Players

Here are some tips to help you navigate the complexities of transformations and enchantments:

  • Read the Card Carefully: This cannot be stressed enough. Always read the card text thoroughly to understand the specific mechanics involved.
  • Understand the Order of Operations: Pay attention to the order in which effects occur. If a card exiles itself before transforming, any attached enchantments will be lost.
  • Know Your Auras: Be aware of what your Auras can enchant. If your creature transforms into an illegal target, the Aura will be removed.
  • Consider the Battlefield State: Always assess the current state of the battlefield and how transformations will affect the overall game.
  • Consult the Comprehensive Rules: If you’re ever unsure about a specific interaction, refer to the official comprehensive rules of the game. It can clear up confusion.

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)

Here are some frequently asked questions related to the interaction between creatures and enchantments when transforming:

1. Does Transforming Remove Equipment?

No. Transforming a permanent doesn’t affect any Auras or Equipment attached to that permanent. The Equipment remains attached, modifying the transformed creature’s abilities as defined.

2. Does Regenerating a Creature Remove Enchantments?

No, regenerating a creature does not remove enchantments. The creature doesn’t leave the battlefield, so its counters, Auras, Equipment, etc., remain attached.

3. Do Enchantments Remain on Creatures That are “Flickered” (Exiled and Returned)?

Yes and No. If the creature is exiled and then returned to the battlefield immediately, it’s treated as a new object. Any enchantments that were on it are lost. If the enchantment causes the creature to be exiled, it is a different trigger effect, therefore the aura would be unaffected.

4. If a Creature with an Aura Transforms into a Non-Creature Permanent, What Happens?

The Aura falls off. If the Aura can only enchant creatures and the permanent becomes something else (like a land), the Aura is sent to the graveyard as a state-based action.

5. What Happens if an Enchantment Itself Transforms into a Creature? Does it Keep its Auras?

Yes. If an enchantment that is also a creature transforms, it keeps its Auras, provided those Auras can legally enchant a creature.

6. Does Deathtouch Cancel Deathtouch?

No, deathtouch doesn’t cancel Deathtouch. Multiple instances of Deathtouch do not cancel out. Any amount of damage dealt by a creature with Deathtouch is considered lethal.

7. Do Enchantment Creatures Count as Modified?

Yes. A creature is considered modified if it has counters on it, is equipped, or is enchanted by an Aura you control. Enchantment creatures are subject to the same rules as any other creature.

8. Can You Put Two Enchantments on One Creature?

Yes. You can have any number of Enchantments attached to a given Creature, unless the cards themselves say otherwise. There are no inherent restrictions preventing multiple enchantments on a single creature.

9. What Resets Enchantments (In-Game, Like Minecraft)?

This question is from a different context (Minecraft). In that game, you can reset enchantments on items by using a grindstone, which removes all enchantments except Curses, and you receive a portion of the XP used. Alternatively, you can reset available enchantments by enchanting a cheap item like a wooden tool.

10. Do Enchantments Attach to Creatures Directly?

Some enchantments have the subtype Aura. Auras enchant permanents. When you cast an Aura, you select a permanent (often a creature) to enchant. The Aura then attaches to that permanent.

11. Can You Enchant Your Own Creature with Protection from a Color?

If your creature has protection from a specific quality (e.g., color), you can’t enchant it with an Aura that has that quality. If an Aura with that quality is already attached, it’s sent to the graveyard as a state-based action.

12. If a Transforming Creature Has “Summoning Sickness” (Can’t Attack), Does it Still Have it After Transforming?

Transforming doesn’t circumvent summoning sickness. If a creature has been under your control continuously since the beginning of your turn, it can attack even if it transforms—assuming it transforms into a creature!

13. Does Kenrith’s Transformation Remove Supertypes, Like Legendary?

Kenrith’s Transformation overwrites colors and creature types, but it keeps any supertypes (such as legendary) it has.

14. What Happens to an Aura if the Enchanted Creature Gains Hexproof?

If an Aura is already attached to a creature and that creature gains hexproof, the Aura remains attached. Hexproof only prevents new targeting, not existing attachments.

15. What wins Indestructible vs. Deathtouch?

Indestructible wins. A creature with indestructible cannot be destroyed by lethal damage, regardless of whether that damage comes from a creature with deathtouch.

Final Thoughts

The interaction between transforming creatures and enchantments is a complex but fascinating aspect of trading card games. While the general rule is that enchantments stay on, understanding the exceptions is crucial for strategic gameplay. By reading the card carefully, understanding the order of operations, and keeping in mind the basic principles of the game, you can master this interaction and use it to your advantage.

Interested in more deep dives into the mechanics of games and how we learn through them? Be sure to check out the Games Learning Society at GamesLearningSociety.org to explore research and resources at the intersection of games and education.

Leave a Comment