Do Devoid Cards Count as Colorless in Commander?
The short, definitive answer is: Yes, devoid cards are treated as colorless objects in Magic: The Gathering, but this does NOT automatically make them legal in a colorless Commander deck. While the devoid ability makes a card colorless, a card’s color identity is what determines its legality in a Commander deck. This can be a source of confusion, especially for newer players. Let’s delve into the nuances to understand this critical distinction.
Understanding Devoid and Color Identity
What is Devoid?
Devoid is a static ability found on some cards in Magic: The Gathering. It simply makes the card colorless, regardless of the colors in its mana cost. This means the card is considered colorless in all zones—in your hand, on the battlefield, in the graveyard, and even in exile. It does not change the card’s mana cost, nor does it affect the color identity.
What is Color Identity?
A card’s color identity is determined by the colors of mana symbols that appear in the card’s mana cost and its text box. This is crucial for Commander because it dictates what cards are allowed in your deck, not the color of the card itself. For example, a card with a mana cost of {3}{W}{B} has a color identity of white and black, regardless of what color it actually is because it uses white and black mana symbols.
The Key Distinction: Color vs. Color Identity
The critical thing to understand is the difference between a card’s color and its color identity. Devoid makes a card colorless, meaning it has no color. However, it does not change the card’s color identity. If a card has a mana symbol in its mana cost or text box, its color identity remains the color indicated by those symbols, even if the card itself is colorless due to devoid.
Implications for Colorless Commander Decks
Colorless Commander Deck Restrictions
In Commander, if your commander has a colorless color identity, all cards in your deck must also have a colorless color identity. This means you cannot include any cards that have any color mana symbols in their mana costs or text boxes. This is why, although devoid cards themselves are colorless, many are not legal in colorless Commander decks.
Why Devoid Cards Aren’t Automatically Legal in Colorless Commander
Many cards with devoid have mana symbols, like {W}, {U}, {B}, {R}, or {G}, in their mana costs. Even though the devoid ability makes these cards colorless, their color identity is determined by their mana symbols. Therefore, they are not allowed in a colorless Commander deck.
Using Devoid Correctly in Commander
Devoid works well in decks that need colorless cards, without restricting them to cards that are specifically colorless in their color identity. For example, a multicolored Eldrazi deck may find devoid cards to be beneficial. While devoid cards do not count as any color, they are still considered colorless, which can be important for some other specific card effects.
When to Use Devoid
Consider using cards with devoid if you are looking to play colorless spells in your multicolor decks. It is also helpful to add colorless cards in your mono-color deck to add different forms of removal. A colorless strategy does not mean you need to play a colorless commander.
Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)
1. Does devoid make a card colorless even in my hand?
Yes, the devoid ability functions everywhere, including in your hand, on the stack, on the battlefield, and in the graveyard. A card with devoid is always treated as a colorless object.
2. Can I use basic lands in a colorless Commander deck?
No. Basic lands, such as Plains, Islands, Swamps, Mountains, and Forests, have color identities because they are defined by each respective color, despite generating colorless mana. They are illegal in a colorless Commander deck.
3. Do lands count as colorless?
Yes, most lands count as colorless because they do not have colored mana symbols in their mana costs or text boxes. The exception is Dryad Arbor, which has a green color identity.
4. Does a card’s devotion count the symbols on a devoid card?
Yes, devotion counts the mana symbols on all permanents you control, regardless of color. Thus, a devoid card with colored mana symbols still contributes to devotion even though the permanent itself is colorless.
5. If a card is colorless, is it automatically monocolored?
No. Monocolored means a card has exactly one color (e.g., white, blue, black, red, or green). Colorless objects are not monocolored.
6. Can a colorless artifact be a Commander?
Yes, any legendary artifact creature that is colorless can be a Commander. Examples include some of the Eldrazi titans or other specific legendary artifacts.
7. Can you use colored mana to pay generic costs on devoid cards?
Yes, generic mana costs (the number in a circle, like {1}, {2}, or {3}) can be paid for using any type of mana, including colored mana.
8. What cards are banned in Commander?
Several cards are banned in Commander to maintain a balanced play environment. Some examples include Primeval Titan, Erayo, Soratami Ascendant, Fastbond, Karakas, Tolarian Academy, Hullbreacher, Iona, Shield of Emeria, and Leovold, Emissary of Trest.
9. Can I use mana produced by Jeweled Lotus to cast a devoid commander?
Yes. Jeweled Lotus’s mana can be used to cast your commander regardless of the commander’s color or color identity, even if it has a devoid ability.
10. Does devoid work in my hand?
Yes, the devoid ability functions everywhere. In your hand, on the battlefield, and anywhere else where the card can be.
11. What does the Commander Rule 11 state?
Commander Rule 11 states that the only cards that may be brought into the game from outside the game are Companions.
12. Are Swamps considered black cards?
Swamps have a color identity of black but are still colorless. They cannot be used in a colorless Commander deck.
13. Do modal double-faced cards (MDFCs) count as lands?
MDFCs count partially towards a deck’s land count. A mythic land/spell MDFC, like Emeria’s Call, could be said to count as a 0.74 land.
14. Is there a difference between “colorless” and “colourless”?
Yes, “colorless” is predominantly used in American English (US) while “colourless” is predominantly used in British English.
15. Why are some cards banned in Commander?
Cards are banned in Commander if they enable a deck or play style that significantly skews the play environment, forcing competitive players to either use them or specifically counter them.
Conclusion
While devoid cards are indeed colorless, they may not be automatically legal in a colorless Commander deck due to their color identity, which is determined by the mana symbols on the card. Understanding this crucial distinction will help you build legal and effective Commander decks, while also adding a fun element to your gameplay. Always pay attention to both the color of a card and its color identity when creating your Commander decks.