Do Dual Lands Count as Basic Lands in Magic: The Gathering?
The short, definitive answer is no, dual lands do not count as basic lands in Magic: The Gathering. While they may possess basic land types, this crucial distinction is what separates them from true basic lands. This is a common point of confusion for both new and seasoned players, so let’s break down the specifics. A basic land in Magic is defined by having the supertype “basic” and being one of five specific cards: Plains, Island, Swamp, Mountain, or Forest, along with their snow-covered versions and Wastes. Dual lands, on the other hand, are nonbasic lands that possess two basic land types, allowing them to tap for multiple colors of mana. This critical difference has significant implications in gameplay and deck building.
The Distinction: Basic vs. Nonbasic Lands with Basic Land Types
To fully grasp why dual lands aren’t basic lands, understanding the terminology is paramount. Let’s delve into the core definitions:
What Makes a Land “Basic”?
A land is considered basic only if it has the supertype “basic” on its card and is one of the five core land types mentioned above: Plains, Island, Swamp, Mountain, and Forest. These are also the only basic land types. This designation is crucial, as it dictates how cards interact with them. For example, cards that specify “basic land” as the target will not affect dual lands.
Dual Lands and Basic Land Types
Dual lands, while not basic lands, possess basic land types, such as “Plains” and “Island” (as seen on Tundra) or “Forest” and “Swamp” (as on Bayou). This gives them the ability to produce the mana associated with those land types. The confusion arises because they mimic the mana production of basic lands. However, possessing the basic land type does not make them a basic land itself. The lack of the “basic” supertype is the key indicator.
Implications of the Difference
The basic/nonbasic land distinction is vital due to various card effects and game mechanics:
- Card Specificity: Many cards reference “basic lands” and only affect the five designated basic land types with the supertype. Dual lands are ignored by such effects.
- Landwalk: Abilities like “forestwalk” will only work against lands that specifically have the Forest land type. Dual lands with the Forest type will be affected by forestwalk.
- Deck Construction: In formats like Commander, you can include any number of basic lands, whereas nonbasic lands, including duals, are limited to one copy per deck.
- Fetch Lands: Fetch lands, such as Arid Mesa or Flooded Strand, are commonly used to fetch either basic lands or nonbasic lands with the appropriate basic land types. They can fetch dual lands if they possess the required basic land type.
- Rules Interactions: Some cards may state “a basic land” or “a land,” which will have different impacts. A card that specifies a “basic land” will not affect a dual land, but a card that simply says “a land” will.
What qualifies as a basic land?
According to the Magic: The Gathering Comprehensive Rules, specifically rule 305.6, the only basic land types are Plains, Island, Swamp, Mountain, and Forest. A card that uses the phrase “basic land type” is referencing one of these subtypes. Any card with the supertype “basic” is a basic land.
The Original Dual Lands
The original dual lands, such as Tundra, Underground Sea, Badlands, Taiga, Savannah, Scrubland, Volcanic Island, Bayou, Plateau, and Tropical Island, are known as true duals. They possess two relevant basic land types and can enter the battlefield untapped without any additional costs. These highly sought-after and expensive cards are a staple in competitive play, especially in formats like Legacy.
Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs) about Dual Lands and Basic Lands
Here are 15 frequently asked questions that further clarify the relationship between dual lands and basic lands:
-
Do dual lands count as two mana?
- While dual lands can produce two colors of mana, they only produce one mana when tapped. However, that mana can be one of two colors. True dual lands are known for entering the battlefield untapped and having both relevant land types.
-
Does a dual land count as a Forest?
- A dual land counts as a Forest only if its type line specifically includes the Forest type. This means not only basic Forests but also dual lands with the Forest type, like Bayou, or Ravnica duals such as Breeding Pool.
-
Do non-basic lands count as land types?
- Nonbasic land types encompass all land types that are not featured on basic lands.
-
What is the difference between land and basic land?
- Any land with the supertype “basic” is a basic land. Any land that doesn’t have this supertype is a nonbasic land, even if it has a basic land type. If a land gains one or more land types in addition to its own, it keeps its existing land types and rules text and also gains the new land types and mana abilities.
-
Are dual lands on the reserved list?
- Yes, dual lands are on the Reserved List, making them unlikely to be reprinted in a standard set, although they may be reprinted as premium foils.
-
Does Landwalk Work on Dual Lands?
- Landwalk abilities, such as forestwalk, do work on dual lands that possess the relevant basic land type (Forest, in this case). If the dual land does not have that type, it is unaffected.
-
What are the 10 dual lands?
- The ten original dual lands are: Tundra, Underground Sea, Badlands, Taiga, Savannah, Scrubland, Volcanic Island, Bayou, Plateau, and Tropical Island.
-
Do shock lands count as basic lands?
- Shock lands, like the original dual lands, have basic land types but are not basic lands and are considered non-basic. They do not have the supertype “basic” on the card.
-
Will dual lands ever be reprinted?
- While there is no likelihood of a reprint in a standard set, Wizards has allowed for premium reprints of dual lands due to a “foil loophole”.
-
Are all basic lands legal?
- Basic lands are legal in a format only if they were printed in a set that is legal in that format.
-
Is a Triome a basic land?
- No, Triomes, which are nonbasic lands that produce three colors of mana, are not basic lands. They are classified as nonbasic lands.
-
Do dual lands count as devotion?
- No, lands do not contribute to devotion. They are considered colorless unless they have a specific color identity.
-
How many basic lands can you play per turn?
- Players are limited to playing one land per turn, during a main phase of their turn.
-
Can you have multiple land cards in Commander?
- Yes, you can have any number of basic lands in a Commander deck. However, non-basic lands are limited to one copy per deck.
-
Is Bayou a basic land?
- No, Bayou is not a basic land. It is a dual land with basic land types but it lacks the supertype “basic”.
Conclusion
In summary, while dual lands share basic land types, they are definitively not basic lands due to the absence of the “basic” supertype. This distinction is crucial for understanding card interactions, deck construction rules, and the nuances of Magic: The Gathering. Knowing the difference between basic and nonbasic lands, such as duals, allows players to make informed decisions and enhance their gameplay. Dual lands, with their ability to provide two colors of mana, are powerful and sought-after cards, but they operate under different rules than their basic counterparts.