Do Eldrazi Count as Artifacts? Unraveling the Mysteries of Magic: The Gathering
The simple answer is no, Eldrazi do not count as artifacts in Magic: The Gathering. While some Eldrazi have an unusual appearance that might suggest a mechanical or constructed nature, they are fundamentally creature cards. Their primary card type is creature, often with additional subtypes specific to their lore and unique abilities, but never “artifact”. This distinction is crucial because card type dictates how a card interacts with the various rules and effects within the game. Let’s explore this further to understand why Eldrazi are creatures and not artifacts, and delve into other related questions.
Why Eldrazi Are Not Artifacts
The confusion might stem from the fact that many artifacts in Magic: The Gathering (MTG) are colorless. Since many Eldrazi are also colorless, it is understandable that new players might assume they share the same type. However, colorless is not a defining characteristic of artifacts. Colorless refers to a card’s mana cost, meaning it has no colored mana symbols. This is distinctly different from card types, which describe the fundamental nature of the card itself.
Artifacts represent magical items, animated constructs, pieces of equipment, or other objects and devices. They’re usually items with a static presence on the battlefield. Eldrazi, however, are beings. They are vast, often incomprehensible, entities with their own stat blocks, abilities and creature type. They are not objects, not items, not constructs, but rather colossal beings of incredible power.
Furthermore, if an Eldrazi was intended to be an artifact creature, the card would explicitly state “Artifact Creature” on its type line. It’s imperative to look at the card’s type line. This area is specific and states the card’s type. If it doesn’t say “Artifact”, then it isn’t one. In the case of the Eldrazi, you will see them listed as a Creature with a various subtypes like Eldrazi, or Leviathan, but never as an artifact.
Related FAQs: Eldrazi and the Broader MTG Landscape
To further clarify the relationship between Eldrazi, artifacts, and other game mechanics, let’s dive into some frequently asked questions:
What is the difference between card type and color in MTG?
Card type refers to the category the card belongs to (e.g., creature, artifact, enchantment, land). Color refers to the color of mana required to cast the card (e.g., white, blue, black, red, green, or colorless). While artifacts are often colorless, they are a card type. Eldrazi are creatures, not artifacts, and while mostly colorless, their card type is the primary distinction.
Are all colorless cards artifacts?
No. Colorless refers to a card’s mana cost, which is the lack of colored mana symbols. There are colorless creatures, colorless lands, and even colorless instants, sorceries and enchantments. The card type “artifact” specifies what the card represents in the game and only these objects are considered artifacts.
Can Eldrazi be affected by effects that target artifacts?
No. Since Eldrazi are creatures and not artifacts, effects that specifically target or affect artifacts will not impact them. For example, a card that says “Destroy target artifact” will not work on an Eldrazi.
Can Eldrazi be affected by effects that target creatures?
Yes. Eldrazi are creatures and therefore subject to any effect that interacts with the creature card type. Cards that say “Destroy target creature,” “Tap target creature”, or “Deal damage to target creature” could target Eldrazi if appropriate criteria are met.
Are there any artifact Eldrazi?
No. As of the current printing, there are no cards which are both artifact and creature with a subtype of Eldrazi. The Eldrazi are always only a creature type.
Do Eldrazi count as spells?
Yes. Like all non-land cards cast from a hand, Eldrazi are spells when they are put on the stack for casting. Once the spell resolves, it becomes a permanent on the battlefield. So “counter target spell” can cancel an Eldrazi during the casting process.
Are Eldrazi subject to summoning sickness?
Yes. Just like any creature, when an Eldrazi creature card enters the battlefield under your control, it cannot attack or use abilities with the tap symbol until the next turn starts. This condition is referred to as summoning sickness.
Can I equip equipment to an Eldrazi?
Yes. If an Eldrazi is a valid target for an equipment card’s equip ability (e.g., you control the Eldrazi and the equipment card allows you to do so), you can equip it. Equipment is an artifact, but it can be attached to creatures, including Eldrazi.
If an Eldrazi is equipped and dies, what happens to the equipment?
If the equipped Eldrazi creature is removed from the battlefield the equipment remains on the battlefield. You can then pay the equipment’s equip cost and attach it to another eligible creature.
Do Eldrazi have any special interactions with artifact creatures?
Not specifically. Unless printed otherwise, Eldrazi interact with artifact creatures the same way they interact with any other creature type. Their creature type doesn’t give them any specific advantage or disadvantage in this instance.
Can a counterspell counter an Eldrazi spell?
Yes. Any spell, except for lands, can be countered. This means that spells such as “Counter target spell” can be used to counter the casting of an Eldrazi card.
Does being colorless make an Eldrazi monocolored?
No. Monocolored refers to a card that only has one color in its mana cost (white, blue, black, red or green). Since an Eldrazi is colorless, it is not considered monocolored.
Does Deathtouch cancel Deathtouch when an Eldrazi has it?
When an Eldrazi has Deathtouch, it has the ability to destroy any creature it damages. As long as it isn’t blocked by a creature with deathtouch, the attacking Eldrazi will be able to destroy any creature it hits. “Any two instances of the Deathtouch ability against one another cancel out the Deathtouch ability”.
Can Spellskite take equipment meant for an Eldrazi?
No. Spellskite can only target spells or abilities, but equipping an equipment is an activated ability, not a spell. So, the equip ability cannot be redirected to Spellskite. However, if the equipment was already attached, and another equipment is being placed on the same creature, the original equipment would have to be unequipped first. This would make it a valid target for Spellskite.
Are there other card types that are often confused with artifacts?
Yes. Enchantments are another card type that can sometimes be confused with artifacts because both can often have similar functions on the battlefield. The primary difference is that enchantments often represent spells or curses that have a lasting effect, while artifacts are objects. Enchantment creatures also exist and these are not considered artifacts.
Conclusion
While Eldrazi might possess a unique and alien aesthetic, they are not artifacts. They are, definitively, creatures. Understanding the difference between card type, color, and subtypes is crucial in MTG. The interaction of different game elements depends entirely on the type of card a player is working with. Hopefully, these explanations and FAQs have helped clear up any confusion regarding the nature of Eldrazi in the context of Magic: The Gathering. So remember, if you are building a deck, it is always good to double-check what card types you are working with so you can best take advantage of them and not be left at a disadvantage during a match.