Decoding Mutate: Summoning Sickness and Beyond
Do mutated creatures have summoning sickness? Here’s the short answer: It depends entirely on the base creature and whether it has haste. If the base creature you’re mutating onto already has haste or has been under your control since the beginning of your turn, the mutated creature can attack. If not, it’s summoning sick. Let’s dive deeper into the nuances of this fascinating mechanic.
Understanding Summoning Sickness and Mutate
Summoning sickness is a fundamental rule in Magic: The Gathering (MTG). It prevents a creature from attacking or using activated abilities with the tap symbol (T) or untap symbol (Q) in their cost during the turn it enters the battlefield under your control. The idea is to simulate the creature needing a turn to adjust to its new environment before it can spring into action.
Mutate, introduced in the Ikoria: Lair of Behemoths set, is a keyword ability that allows you to merge a creature spell with an existing non-Human creature you control. You can either put the new creature spell on top or underneath the existing creature, creating a mutated permanent. This opens up some very interesting gameplay scenarios, especially when you are trying to figure out how summoning sickness plays a role in your mutated creatures.
The Core Rule
The key to understanding summoning sickness with mutate lies in the state of the base creature before the mutation occurs. The base creature is the creature you are mutating onto.
- Base Creature Already on the Battlefield: If the creature you are mutating onto has been under your control since the beginning of your turn (and doesn’t have summoning sickness), the resulting mutated creature can attack, even if the mutating creature spell that’s being added has just entered the battlefield.
- Base Creature Has Haste: If the base creature you’re mutating onto has haste, then the resulting mutated creature can attack as well, since haste negates summoning sickness.
- Base Creature Just Entered the Battlefield: If the creature you are mutating onto just entered the battlefield this turn and doesn’t have haste, the resulting mutated creature cannot attack or use those tap/untap abilities.
Essentially, the game checks the eligibility of the base creature before determining if the combined mutated creature can attack. The abilities of the added mutation are irrelevant in determining if the mutated permanent has summoning sickness.
Mutate and Summoning Sickness: Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)
Let’s tackle some common questions about how mutate interacts with summoning sickness and other related mechanics.
1. Does transforming a creature remove summoning sickness?
No. Transforming a creature doesn’t inherently remove summoning sickness. If a creature entered the battlefield this turn, transforming it doesn’t reset that status. So, unless it gains haste through the transformation, it will still be affected.
2. Does mutate count as casting a creature?
Yes. When you use the mutate ability, you are still casting a creature spell, albeit for an alternate casting cost. This means it can be countered by spells like Counterspell or Force of Will.
3. What happens when a mutated creature dies?
When a mutated creature dies, all the component cards go to the graveyard. Any “when a creature dies” triggers activate only once for the entire merged permanent, not for each individual card.
4. What happens if you blink a mutated creature? What if I flicker a mutated permanent?
When you blink (exile and return) a mutated creature, it will be exiled and then each individual card making up the mutated permanent will enter the battlefield separately as individual creatures. They will no longer be merged.
5. What happens if you return a mutated creature to its owner’s hand?
All the cards making up the mutated creature return to your hand. The game treats the mutated permanent as a single object.
6. Do mutated creatures keep their colors?
The color of the mutated creature depends on which card is on top. If you mutate on top, the mutated creature inherits the color, name, power, and toughness of the mutating creature. If you mutate underneath, it keeps the characteristics of the original creature.
7. Do mutated creatures lose legendary?
No. The supertypes are basic, legendary, ongoing, snow, and world. If the top card of a mutated permanent is legendary, it retains the legendary supertype. This can be relevant when copying creatures or if you have another copy in your hand.
8. Is a mutated creature one permanent?
Yes. A mutated creature is considered one permanent, even though it’s represented by multiple cards. It’s a single game object with combined characteristics. This single game object is referred to as a mutated permanent.
9. Does mutate work with Beast Whisperer?
Yes. When you cast a creature spell using its mutate cost, it’s still considered a creature spell. Beast Whisperer will trigger, allowing you to draw a card.
10. Can you mutate the same creature twice?
Yes, you can mutate the same creature multiple times. Each time, you create a taller and taller stack of abilities.
11. Do mutated creatures count towards devotion?
The devotion a mutated permanent provides is based solely on the mana cost of the top card. Cards underneath contribute their abilities but not their mana symbols for devotion purposes.
12. Does haste remove summoning sickness?
Having haste allows a creature to bypass summoning sickness. However, the creature still has summoning sickness. It’s just that haste overrides it. If a creature loses haste later in the turn, it will then be affected by summoning sickness if it just entered the battlefield.
13. Can you mutate onto a token?
Yes, you can mutate onto a token. The token underneath becomes a nontoken creature. If the mutated creature is bounced, all the cards, including the original token, go back to their owner’s hand (or cease to exist if the token changes zones).
14. Is a mutated artifact creature still an artifact?
The resulting creature’s types are determined by the top card. If the top card is an artifact creature, the mutated permanent is an artifact creature. If the top card is just a creature, it will be a creature, regardless of what lies beneath.
15. Can you copy a mutated legendary creature?
Yes! If the mutated creature is legendary, and you copy it, the Legend Rule applies as normal. If you control two legendary permanents with the same name, you must choose one to keep and sacrifice the other.
Strategies and Considerations
Understanding how mutate and summoning sickness interact is crucial for building effective decks. Knowing when to mutate, which creatures to mutate onto, and how to use haste strategically can give you a significant advantage.
For example, if you have a creature with haste already on the battlefield, it becomes a prime target for mutation. You can immediately take advantage of the new abilities of the mutated creature. If you do not have a creature with haste on the battlefield, waiting until your next turn to mutate can be useful. This will allow your base creature to not have summoning sickness when you mutate onto it.
Another strategy involves using cards that grant haste. These spells and abilities can turn a summoning-sick creature into an immediate threat, especially when combined with the powerful abilities of mutated creatures.
As you delve deeper into MTG, you’ll discover more intricate interactions and strategic applications of the mutate mechanic. Don’t hesitate to experiment and explore the possibilities. Consider exploring resources like the Games Learning Society (GamesLearningSociety.org), which offers valuable insights into game mechanics and learning through play.
Conclusion
Summoning sickness and mutate are complex but rewarding mechanics in Magic: The Gathering. By understanding the core rules and interactions, you can master the art of merging creatures and unleash powerful strategies on your opponents. So, go forth, mutate responsibly, and conquer the battlefield!